BGS Home » Current Students » Academics » Course Information » Spring 2009 Course List » BIOM 555 Control of Gene Expression

BIOM 555 Control of Gene Expression

Lectures: Austrian Auditorium CRB: Tues/Thurs: 9:00-10:30 a.m.

Course Organizers: Paul Lieberman email: lieberman@wistar.org

Thomas Jongens email: jongens@mail.med.upenn.edu

Teaching Assistants:

Samantha Eberle:
eberle@mail.med.upenn.edu
Dustin Hancks: hancks@mail.med.upenn.edu Hestia Mellert:
hestia@mail.med.upenn.edu
Mike O’Donnell:
odonnel2@mail.med.upenn.edu

BGS Course Administrator:

Colleen Dunn (898-2792; dunncoll@mail.med.upenn.edu; 160 BRB II/III)

Syllabus:

Lecture 1: Thursday January 15th: Regulation of Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic DNA

Replication (Paul Lieberman)

Lecture 2: Tuesday January 20th: Replication II (Paul Lieberman)

Lecture 3: Thursday January 22nd: Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic DNA Repair/Cell Cycle

Checkpoints I (Eric Brown)

Lecture 4: Tuesday January 27th: Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic DNA Repair/Cell Cycle

Checkpoints II (Eric Brown)

Lecture 5: Thursday January 29st: Prokaryotic Transcriptional Regulation I (Mark Goulian)

Lecture 6: Tuesday February 3rd: Prokaryotic Transcriptional Regulation II (Mark Goulian)

Lecture 7: Thursday February 5th: Eukaryotic Transcriptional Regulation I: General Principles (Thomas Kadesch)

Lecture 8: Tuesday February 10th: Eukaryotic Transcriptional Regulation II: Control of Transcription Factor Activity (Thomas Kadesch)

Lecture 9: Thursday February 12th: Eukaryotic Transcriptional Regulation III: CoActivator and CoRepressors (Thomas Kadesch)

Lecture 10: Tuesday February 17th: Chromatin and Gene Regulation (Shelley Berger)

Lecture 11: Thursday February 19th: Histone modification language (Shelley Berger)

Lecture 12: Tuesday February 24th: Chromatin modification and human disease (Shelley Berger)

Lecture 13: Thursday February 26th: long range chromatin interactions and nuclear organization (Gerd Blobel)

Lecture 14: Tuesday March 3rd: (In Class Review)

MIDTERM: Thursday March 5th (In class Examination)

Springbreak: Tuesday March 6th and Thursday March 16th

Lecture 15: Tuesday March 17th: DNA Modification I (Marisa Bartolomei)

Lecture 16: Thursday March 19th: DNA Modification II (Marisa Bartolomei)

Lecture 17: Tuesday March 24th: RNA Splicing (Russ Carstens)

Lecture 18: Thursday March 26th: Nuclear Import/Export (Russ Carstens)

Lecture 19: Tuesday March 31: Nuclear Polyadenylation Assembly of RNP particles (Thomas Jongens)

Lecture 20: Thursday April 2rd: Translational Control and RNA Localization I (Peter Klein)

Lecture 21: Tuesday April 7th: Translational Control and RNA Localization II (Peter Klein)

Lecture 22: Thursday April 9th: RNA Editing (Thomas Jongens)

Lecture 23: Tuesday April 14th: miRNAs/siRNAs (Zissimos Mourelatos)

Lecture 24: Thursday April 16th: Nuclear Organization of Gene Expression (Susan Janicki)

Lecture 25: Tuesday April 21st: High-Throughput Analysis of Gene Expression (Klaus Kaestner)

Lecture 26: Thursday April 23rd: DNA Delivery, Transfection and Viral Vectors (David Weiner)

Lecture 27: Tuesday April 28th: Review

Final: April 30 th

GENERAL REFERENCES FOR REVIEW (LIBRARY/WEB)

Molecular Biology of the Cell (Alberts et al.)

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=mboc4.TOC&depth=10

Molecular Cell Biology Lodish et al. (older editions are by Darnell et al.)

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov:80/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=mcb.TOC

Genes VIII Benjamin Lewin

Lecturers:

MB: Marisa Bartolomei (898-9063 363 CRB: bartolom@mail.med.upenn.edu)

SB: Shelley Berger (898-3922 Wistar Institute: berger@wistar.org)

GB: Gerd Blobel (590-3988 316A Abramson: blobel@email.chop.edu)

EB: Eric Brown (746-2805 510 BRB II/III: brownej@mail.med.upenn.edu)

RC: Russ Carstens (573-1838 700 CRB: russcars@mail.med.upenn.edu)

TJ: Thomas Jongens (573-9332 538A CRB: jongens@mail.med.upenn.edu)

TK: Thomas Kadesch (898-1047 409 CRB: kadesch@mail.med.upenn.edu)

KK: Klaus Kaestner ((215) 898-8759 753 CRB: kaestner@mail.med.upenn.edu)

MG: Mark Goulian (573-6991 204F Lynch Bio Labs: goulian@sas.upenn.edu)

PL: Paul Lieberman (898-9491 Wistar: lieberman@wistar.org)

PK: Peter Klein (898-2179 364 CRB: pklein@mail.med.upenn.edu)

SJ: Susan Janicki (215-495-6850, Wistar Institute, ?sjanicki@wistar.org)

ZM: Zissimos Mourelatos (215-746-0014, 613B SCL: mourelaz@uphs.upenn.edu