BGS Home » Current Students » Academics » Course Information » Fall 2007 Course List » BIOM 600 Cell Biology and Biochemistry

BIOM 600 Cell Biology and Biochemistry

Director:
Michael Ostap; 573-9758; ostap@mail.med.upenn.edu
Office: B40 Anatomy Chemistry

Co-directors
:
Theme I: Mark Lemmon; 898-3072;mlemmon@mail.med.upenn.edu
Mickey Marks; 898-3204; marksm@mail.med.upenn.edu
Theme II: Kevin Foskett; 898-1354; foskett@mail.med.upenn.edu
Theme III: John Weisel; 898-3573; weisel@mail.med.upenn.edu
Theme IV: Morrie Birnbaum; 898-5001; birnbaum@mail.med.upenn.edu

BGS Coordinator: Colleen Dunn; 8-2792; dunncoll@mail.med.upenn.edu
160 BRB II/III

Lectures: MWF 10:30-12:00 Austrian Auditorium, except where noted otherwise.

Textbook: “Molecular Biology of the Cell” Eds. Alberts, et al. 4th ed. (2002)

Date Topic Lecturer
Fri, Sep 7 Intro to Class/Protein Purification M. Ostap
Mon, Sep 10 Basics of Protein Structure K. Ferguson
Wed, Sep 12 Immunological Techniques M. Marks
Fri, Sep 14 Themes in Compartmentation/Membrane Structure M. Marks
Mon, Sep 17 Protein Biogenisis M. Lemmon
Wed, Sep 19 Cellular Quality Control A. Diehl
Fri, Sep 21 Protein Folding M. Marks
Mon, Sep 24 Microscopy Techniques
(Biochemistry Quiz before class -- anytime between 8 am - 10 am)
J. Murray
Wed, Sep 26 Mitochondria A. Dancis
Fri, Sep 28 Basics of Vesicular Traffic M. Marks
Mon, Oct 1 No Class - CAMB retreat  
Wed, Oct 3 Protein Sorting in Vacuolar System C. Burd
Fri, Oct 5 Exocytosis and Secretion M. Birnbaum
Mon, Oct 8 Protein Internalization and Degredation M. Marks
Wed, Oct 10 Nucleus B. Black
Wed, Oct 10 TA Help Session ~ 3:30 - 5:00 TAs
Fri, Oct 12 Introduction to Statistics P. Gimotty
Mon, Oct 15 Review Session for Exam TAs
Mon, Oct 15 Exam #1 ~ 6:00 - 9:00 pm in Dunlop Auditorium  
Wed, Oct 17 Introduction to Kinetics R. Kallen
Fri, Oct 19 Biostatastics Review ~ 9:30 - 10:30 am and again from 2:00 - 3:00 pm (you need to attend only 1 session) P. Gimotty
Fri, Oct 19 Protein-Protein Interactions K. Ferguson
Mon, Oct 22 Principles of Ion Transport K. Foskett
Wed, Oct 24 Ion Channels #1 T. Hoshi
Fri, Oct 26 Ion Channels #2 T. Hoshi
Mon, Oct 29 Protein Interactions in Ion Channels C. Deutsch
Tue, Oct 30 Membrane Problem Set Help Session ~ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm K. Foskett
Wed, Oct 31 Integrated Functions of Ion Channels K. Foskett
Fri, Nov 2 Adhesion J. Weisel
Mon, Nov 5 Cell-Extracellular Interactions J. Weisel
Wed, Nov 7 Actin-Cytoskeleton M. Ostap
Fri, Nov 9 Actin-Based Motility M. Ostap
Mon, Nov 12 Microtubules E. Holzbaur
Wed, Nov 14 Microtubule-Based Motility E. Holzbaur
Wed, Nov 14 TA Help Session ~ 3:30 - 5:00 pm TAs
Fri, Nov 16 Mitosis and Kinesis E. Bi
Mon, Nov 19 Review Session for Exam TAs
Mon, Nov 19 Exam #2 ~ 6:00 - 9:00 pm in Dunlop Auditorioum  
Wed, Nov 21 Intro to Signal Transduction/Metabolism M. Birnbaum/M. Lemmon
Fri, Nov 23 No class ~ Thanksgiving  
Mon, Nov 26 Phosphoinositide/Phosphiolipases C. Abrams/B. Wolf
Wed, Nov 28 Small G-proteins M. Chou
Fri, Nov 30 Nuclear Receptor Signaling M. Lazar
Mon, Dec 3 Serine and Threonine Phosphorylation F. Lee
Wed, Dec 5 Activation by Tyrosine Phosphorylation M. Birnbaum
Fri, Dec 7 G. Proteins D. Manning
Mon, Dec 10 Calcium Signaling K. Foskett
Mon, Dec 10 TA Help Session ~ 3:30 - 5:00 pm TAs
Wed, Dec 12 Cell Cycle F. Luca
Fri, Dec 14 Apoptosis X. Yang
Mon, Dec 17 Exam #3 ~ 1:00 - 4:00 pm in Dunlop Auditorium