BGS Home » Current Students » Academics » Course Information » Spring 2009 Course List » INSC 596/PHRM 510 Neuropharm/Neurochem

INSC 596/PHRM 510 Neuropharm/Neurochem

TIME: MWF 1-2 PM

LOCATION: John Morgan Bldg, M100 (Mezzanine level)

TEXT: Basic Neurochemistry, 7th Edition, c. 2005. Ed: G. J. Siegel et al.; Lippincott
Available at Penn Book Store, 36th & Walnut. $99

For another perspective, the library has copies of:
Molecular Neuropharmacology, c. 2001. Ed: E. J. Nestler et al.; McGraw-Hill

WEB: Blackboard – for lecture notes, non-text readings & old exams

REQUIREMENTS: 4 written, short answer, in-class examinations – each 25% of grade

COURSE DIRECTORS:
Steve Thomas 573-4950 sathomas@mail.med.upenn.edu
Randy Pittman 898-9736 pittman@mail.med.upenn.edu
Ben Giasson 573-6012 giassonb@mail.med.upenn.edu
Teresa Reyes 573-2991 reyestm@mail.med.upenn.edu

TA: Jackie Morris 573-4951 jacquefm@mail.med.upenn.edu

GOALS:
A) To provide a general overview of the signaling properties of the nervous system.
B) To provide in-depth information on neurotransmitter and associated signaling systems. Emphasis will be placed on the wealth of new molecular information that is being gathered to examine how cells of the nervous system function and communicate.

SCHEDULE
Day Date Subject Instructor

A. Intracellular Signaling Steven Thomas
Wed 1/14 1. Introduction to Neuropharmacology Steven Thomas
Fri 1/16 2. Cytoskeleton and axonal transport (Ch 1, 8, 28) Randy Pittman
Mon 1/19 (MLK Day, No Class)
Wed 1/21 3. Neurotransmitter release (Ch 9 & 10) Tom Parsons
Fri 1/23 4. Neurotransmitter transporters (Ch 5 & Rev. by Torres) Mike Robinson
Mon 1/26 5. G proteins and receptors (Ch 19) Steve Thomas
Wed 1/28 6. Cyclic nucleotides (Ch 21) Ted Abel
Fri 1/30 7. Calcium (Ch 22) Claire Mitchell
Mon 2/2 8. Phospholipids (Ch 20) Mark Lemmon
Wed 2/4 9. Protein kinases (Ch 23 & 24) Jeff Field
Fri 2/6 10. Transcription (Ch 26) Jim Eberwine
Mon 2/9 Exam 1: 12 – 2 PM
B. Neurotransmitter Systems Ben Giasson
Wed 2/11 11. Excitatory amino acids I (Ch 15) Dave Lynch
Fri 2/13 12. Excitatory amino acids II (Ch 10 & 15) Mike Robinson
Mon 2/16 13. Inhibitory amino acids I (Ch 16) Tom Ferraro
Wed 2/18 14. Inhibitory amino acids II (Ch 16) Tom Ferraro
Fri 2/20 15. Purines (Ch 17) Perry Molinoff
Mon 2/23 16. Acetylcholine (Ch 11) Jon Lindstrom
Wed 2/25 17. Dopamine (Ch 12) Chris Pierce
Fri 2/27 18. Norepinephrine (Ch 12) Steve Thomas
Mon 3/2 19. Serotonin I (Ch 13) Irwin Lucki
Wed 3/4 20. Serotonin II (Ch 13) Irwin Lucki
Fri 3/6 Exam 2: 12 – 2 PM
Mon 3/9 (Spring Break)
Wed 3/11 (Spring Break)
Fri 3/13 (Spring Break)
C. Peptide Signaling (and related topics) Randy Pittman
Mon 3/16 21. Histamine & Orexins (Ch 14 & 18; Rev. by Sakurai) Steve Thomas
Wed 3/18 22. Peripheral nervous system & Neuropeptide Y (Ch 18) Steve Thomas
Fri 3/20 23. Neuroendocrine responses to stress (Ch 52) Seema Bhatnagar
Mon 3/23 24. Corticotropin releasing factor (Rev. by Bale/Vale) Tracy Bale
Wed 3/25 25. Opiates (Revs. by Evans; Robinson/Kolb) Wade Berrettini
Fri 3/27 26. Growth factors (Ch 27) Bob Kalb
Mon 3/30 27. Neuronal cell death (Revs. by Benn/Woolf; Bao/Shi) Randy Pittman
Wed 4/1 28. Signaling by proteases (Rev. by Selkoe/Wolfe) Bob Siman
Fri 4/3 29. Neural development (Ch 25; Revs. by Dijke; Ho/Scott) Bryan Crenshaw
Mon 4/6 Exam 3: 12 – 2
D. Techniques in Neuropharmacology Teresa Reyes
Wed 4/8 30. Neuroimaging Tim Roberts
Fri 4/10 31. Immunohistochemistry Teresa Reyes
Mon 4/13 32. Neurochemistry Mike Robinson
Wed 4/15 33. Electrophysiology Sheryl Beck
Fri 4/17 34. Genetics I Ben Giasson
Mon 4/20 35. Genetics II Ben Giasson
Wed 4/22 36. Molecular Biology Klaus Kaestner
Fri 4/24 37. Behavior Chris Pierce
Mon 4/27 38. Quantitative Receptor Analysis Perry Molinoff
Wed 4/29 (MINS Neuroscience Retreat)
Fri 5/1 39. Drug Discovery Mene Pangalos
Mon 5/4 Exam 4: 12 – 2


In-class Written Exams - 4
There will be one exam following each major topic section. Exams are NOT cumulative. Students will be given up to 2 hours to complete each exam. Exams will be short answer, with typically one question coming from each lecture within that course section. Grades will be based on the score from only 7 (usually out of 8 or 9) exam questions. The student is to indicate which question(s) they would like to skip by writing “Do Not Grade” next to that question. Questions will be based on the material covered in the lecture, with the text and reading handouts as reference and background.

Directory of Lecturers

Abel Biology
204G Lynch Labs 898-5614 abele@sas.upenn.edu

Bale Neuro/Vet School
201 E Vet School Bldg 898-1369 tbale@vet.upenn.edu

Beck Gastroenterology/Pharmacol.
402A Abramson Res. Center 590-0651 becks@email.chop.edu

Berrettini Psychiatry
2206 Translational Res. Labs 898-0092 wadeb@mail.med.upenn.edu

Bhatnagar Anesthesiology
402B Abramson Res. Center 267-426-0951 bhatnagars@email.chop.edu

Blendy Pharmacology
2211 Translational Res. Labs 898-0730 blendy@mail.med.upenn.edu

Crenshaw Otorhinolaryngology
712 Abramson Res. Center 267-426-5240 crenshaw@email.chop.edu

Eberwine Pharmacology
37 John Morgan 898-0420 eberwine@mail.med.upenn.edu

Field Pharmacology
153 John Morgan 898-1912 jfield@mail.med.upenn.edu

Ferraro Psychiatry/Pharmacology
2209 Translational Res. Labs 898-0092 tnf@mail.med.upenn.edu

Giasson Pharmacology
89A John Morgan 573-6012 giassonb@mail.med.upenn.edu

Kaestner Genetics
560A Clinical Research Bldg 898-8759 kaestner@mail.med.upenn.edu

Kalb Neurology
814 Abramson Res. Center 590-0691 kalb@email.chop.edu

Lemmon Biochemistry/Biophysics
809 Stellar Chance 898-3072 mlemmon@mail.med.upenn.edu

Lindstrom Neuroscience/Pharmacology
217 Stemmler 573-2859 jslkk@mail.med.upenn.edu

Lucki Psychiatry/Pharmacology
2204 Translational Res. Labs 573-3305 lucki@mail.med.upenn.edu

Lynch Neurology/Pharmacology
502 Abramson Res. Center 590-2242 lynchd@mail.med.upenn.edu

Mitchell Physiology
606 Goddard 573-2176 chm@mail.med.upenn.edu

Molinoff Pharmacology
204 Anatomy Chemistry Bldg. 898-2832 molinoff@pobox.upenn.edu

Pangalos Wyeth Research
Princeton, NJ 732-274-4125 pangalm@wyeth.com

Parsons Veterinary Sciences
New Bolton Center 610-444-5800x2554 thd@vet.upenn.edu

Pierce Psychiatry
2223 Translational Res. Labs 746-8915 rcpierce@mail.med.upenn.edu

Pittman Pharmacology
154 John Morgan 898-9736 pittman@mail.med.upenn.edu

Reyes Pharmacology
805 Biomedical Res. Bldg 573-2991 reyestm@mail.med.upenn.edu

Roberts Radiology
2115 Wood Bldg 267-426-0384 robertstim@email.chop.edu

Robinson Pediatrics/Pharmacology
502 Abramson 590-2205 robinson@mail.med.upenn.edu

Siman Pharmacology
105 Hayden Hall 573-6245 siman@mail.med.upenn.edu

Thomas Pharmacology
103 John Morgan 573-4950 sathomas@mail.med.upenn.edu