BGS Home » Current Students » Academics » Course Information » Fall 2007 Course List » PHRM 590 Molecular Toxicology

PHRM 590 Molecular Toxicology

PHRM 590: Molecular Toxicology: Chemical and Biological Mechanisms

Mondays and Thursdays: M, Th : 1:00 – 2:00 P.M.

M100 John Morgan Bldg.

Week

Date

Topic

Lecturer

General Principles

F, Sept. 7

1:00 – 2:00

Introduction /Orientation

Penning

1

M, Sept. 10

General Principles: Dose Response & Exposures

Penning

Th, Sept. 13

General Principles: Toxicology Testing & Data-Bases

Emmett

2

M, Sept. 17

Metabolism-Phase I

Penning

Th:  Sept 20

Metabolism-Phase II

Penning

3

M, Sept. 24

Chemical Carcinogenesis by DNA Reactive Agents

Penning

Th, Sept. 27

Reactive Oxygen Species- Chemistry and Metabolism

Ischiropoulos

4

M,  Oct. 1

Heavy Metal Toxicity

Byrns

Th, Oct. 4

Chemical Carcinogenesis by Non-Genotoxic Agents

Penning

5

M, Oct. 8

DNA Adducts and their Repair

Penning

Organ-Based Toxicology

Th, Oct. 11

Mechanisms of Neurotoxicity-Oxidative

Ischiropoulos

6

M, Oct. 15

Toxic Responses of the Nervous System-I

Giasson

Th, Oct.18

Toxic Responses of the Nervous System-II

Giasson

7

M, Oct. 22

Mid-Term Examination

Th, Oct. 25

Risk Assessment Assignments

Mechanisms of Lung Injury- Respiratory Tract Physiology

Haczku

8

M, Oct. 29

Mechanisms of Lung Injury- Inhalation Toxicology

Haczku

Th, Nov. 1

Pharmacology Graduate Group Retreat

9

Mon, Nov. 5

Mechanism of Lung Injury-Respiratory Tract Responses

Christofidou-Solomidou

Th, Nov. 8

Mechanisms of Reproductive Disruption-Male

Manson

10

M, Nov. 12

Mechanisms of Reproductive Disruption-Female

Parry

Th, Nov. 15

Mechanisms of Cardiovascular Injury

Muzykantov

11

M, Nov. 19

CEET Symposium: Genes and Environmental Health

Thanksgiving Break

12

M,  Nov. 26

Mechanisms of Cardiovascular Injury

Muzykantov

Predictive Molecular Toxicology

Th, Nov. 29

Toxicogenomics-Analysis of DNA Sequence Variants

Burczynski

13

M, Dec. 3

Toxicogenomics-Global Gene Expression Analysis

Burczynski

Th, Dec. 6

Bioinformatics-Integration of Data Sets

Brunk

14

M, Dec. 10

Toxicoproteomics-Analysis of sub-proteome

Blair

Th, Dec. 13

Biomarkers-Development and Validation

Blair

15

M, Dec. 17

Final Examination

W, Dec. 19

1:00 – 4:00

Risk Assessment Papers Due (Reviewers: Ted Emmett, Linda McCauley, Richard Pepino)

Evaluation:

Mid-Term: 30%

Final Exam: 40%

Risk Assessment Paper: 30%

Text:   Cassarett & Doull’s: Toxiocology: The Basic Science of Poisons

Lecturers:

Email Address

Ian Blair

ian@gcrc.upenn.edu

Brian Brunk

brunkb@pcbi.upenn.edu

Ted Burczynski

MBurczynski@wyeth.com

Michael Byrns

mbyrns@mail.med.upenn.edu

Ted Emmett

emmetted@mail.med.upenn.edu

Benoit Giasson

giassonb@mail.med.upenn.edu

Angela Haczku

haczku@mail.med.upenn.edu

Harry Ischiropoulos

ischirop@mail.med.upenn.edu

Jeanne Manson

MANSONJ@email.chop.edu

Vladimir Muzykantov

muzykant@mail.med.upenn.edu

Trevor Penning

penning@pharm.med.upenn.edu

Melpo Christofidou-Solomidou

melpo@mail.med.upenn.edu

Steve Whitehead

aswhitehead@pharm.med.upenn.edu