Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

and the Graduate Group in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics


Poster Awards

Josh Wand First Place Award: Elizabeth Sweeny

Sweeny, Elizabeth A., Zhongyuan Kan, Matthew A. Sochor and James Shorter. X-ray footprinting as a probe of Hsp104 solvation.

Second Place: Charlie Mo

Mo, Charlie Y., Dillon L. Birdwell and Rahul M. Kohli. Understanding and targeting the repressor-protease LexA, a regulator of bacterial stress and evolution.

Third Place (tie): Samantha Falk and Peter Huwe

Falk, Samantha J., Lucie Y. Guo, Nikolina Sekulic, Tomoyasu Mani, Sergei A. Vinogradov and Ben E. Black. CENP-C locks the CENP-A nucleosome into a conventionally shaped octameric histone core.

Huwe, Peter J., Scott C. Bresler, Jin H. Park, Daniel A. Weiser, Yaël P. Mossé, Mark A. Lemmon and Ravi Radhakrishnan. Computational investigations of mutation-driven ALK kinase activation in neuroblastoma patients.


Prizes are made possible by the Dr. George W. Raiziss Education Fund
and the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics.

P. Leslie Dutton Award for Outstanding Publication

The P. Leslie Dutton Award for Outstanding Publication is awarded annually for an outstanding lead-author publication by a student in the Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics graduate program.  The prize is presented at the Retreat, with the winner asked to give a short presentation.

2013 Winners:

Ni-Ting Chiou (advisor: Dr. Kristen Lynch) for her paper on, “HnRNP L and HnRNP A1 induce extended U1 snRNA interactions with an exon to repress spliceosome assembly” (Mol. Cell 49:972–982, 2013)

Morgan DeSantis (advisor: Dr. Jim Shorter) for her paper on, “Operational plasticity enables Hsp104 to disaggregate diverse amyloid and nonamyloid clients”  (Cell 151:778–793, 2012).  Morgan will be presenting her work at the Retreat.

The P. Leslie Dutton Award for Outstanding Publication is made possible by the Benjamin Rush Professorship,
which is held by Dr. A. Joshua Wand.