CAMRIS

  • Students sitting in front of the LOVE sign
  • University of Pennsylvania Communications
  • Students on campus

Center for Magnetic Resonance Imaging & Spectroscopy


Introduction

Established in 2002, CAMRIS enters its 12th year of service to the University of Pennsylvania community. We continue to respond to a rapidly growing MR Research environment. Internal Radiology Groups, outside researchers, and pharmaceutical companies have need to access Magnetic Resonance scanners and expertise of the MR department. The demand has become so great that a systematic, monitored, service oriented approach is appropriate.

Mission

The overall mission of CAMRIS is to provide oversight in the responsible use and application of Magnetic Resonance in research through leadership, education, and guidance. These principles are manifest in the development of new research and collaborations inside and outside the Radiology Department which can translate into advanced clinical techniques; training in safe and efficient use of this investigative tool and dissemination of current, accurate and evolving MR Technology; scheduling upgrades of MR Systems and facilities; scheduling systems operations and personnel within the MR department; and receiving and acting on recommendations pertaining to the administration of CAMRIS Facilities.

Leadership

Administrative

 

David Mankoff, MD, PhD
CAMRIS Medical Director
Gerd Muehllehner Professor of Radiology
Vice-Chair for Research, Department of Radiology
Phone: 215-615-3687
Email: david.mankoff@uphs.upenn.edu
 

Shannon Long, BA
Associate Director CAMRIS
Phone: 215-573-9765
Email: Shannon.Long@uphs.upenn.edu

Technical

Larry Dougherty, PhD
Research Associate Professor of Radiology/ CAMRIS Lead Physicist
Phone: 215-349-5274
Email: Larry.Dougherty@uphs.upenn.edu

Norman Butler, BSEE, RT,R,MR
CAMRIS Technical Director
Phone: 215-615-8053
Email: norman.butler@uphs.upenn.edu

Hari Hariharan, PhD
CAMRIS High-Field Technical Consult (7T)
Phone: 215-898-9357
Email: harih@mail.med.upenn.edu

Mark Elliott, PhD
CAMRIS High-Field Technical Consult (7T)
Phone: 215-898-9357
Email: melliott@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Site Design: PMACS Web Team.