Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

CAVOQER
Cardiovascular Outcomes, Quality, and Evaluative Research Center

Header Image

People


Leadership

Peter Groeneveld, MD, MS

Peter Groeneveld, MD, MS
 petergro@mail.med.upenn.edu

Director, CAVOQER Center
Associate Professor of Medicine

Peter Groeneveld, MD, MS is the Director of the Cardiovascular Outcomes, Quality, and Evaluative Research (CAVOQER) Center.  Pete earned his S.B. in Computer, Electrical, and Systems Engineering at Harvard University in 1991, his M.D. at Tufts University in 1995, and his M.S. in Health Services Research from Stanford University in 2003.  He completed his medicine internship and residency at the University of California-San Francisco in 1998.  Pete joined the Penn faculty as an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine in 2003 and was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor of Medicine in 2012.  Pete is a nationally recognized outcomes investigator for his work on the health outcomes, comparative effectiveness, economics, and societal effects of implantable cardiovascular devices.  He is author of more than 60 manuscripts published in peer-reviewed journals including JAMA, Circulation, the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, American Heart Journal, Heart Rhythm, Health Affairs, and Medical Care.  Pete is a Fellow of both the American Heart Association and the American College of Physicians, he is Senior Guest Editor at Circulation: Cardiovascular Quality and Outcomes, he is Director of Research at Penn’s Leonard Davis Institute for Health Economics, and he is Vice-Chair of the Research and Development Committee at the Michael J. Crescenz (Philadelphia) Veterans Affairs’ Medical Center.


Nimesh Desai, MD, PhD

Nimesh Desai, MD, PhD
 nimesh.desai@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Director, CAVOQER Center
Assistant Professor of Surgery

Nimesh Desai is Associate Director of CAVOQER.  Nimesh received his medical degree from the Schulich School of Medicine at the University of Western Ontario and his PhD in clinical epidemiology from the University of Toronto. He completed an integrated cardiac surgery residency at the University of Toronto and an advanced surgical fellowship at Penn Medicine with an emphasis on aortic and endovascular surgery.  He. Nimesh's clinical focus is on advanced aortic surgery, both endovascular and open, percutaneous aortic valve replacement, complex valve surgery, multiple arterial grafting and hybrid surgical approaches to atrial fibrillation. Nimesh's research interests include conducting large multi-center clinical trials to assess new cardiovascular technologies and health process and outcomes evaluations to improve quality of care for cardiac patients.  He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada.


Jay Giri, MD, MPH

Jay Giri, MD, MPH
 jay.giri@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Director, CAVOQER Center
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

Jay Giri is Assoicate Director of CAVOQER.  Jay received his M.D. from Northwestern University and subsequently completed training in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, a cardiology fellowship at Penn, and an interventional cardiology fellowship at MGH.  He is director of Cardiovascular Catheterization at the Corporal Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center and the Director of Peripheral Intervention in the Cardiovascular Medicine Division at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.  His clinical interests include complex coronary artery intervention, peripheral artery disease, venous thromboembolism, and transcatheter aortic valve replacement. His clinical outcomes research is focused on emerging endovascular technologies and interventional pharmacotherapies.



Core Faculty

Ben Abella, MD, MPhil

Ben Abella, MD, MPhil
 benjamin.abella@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Associate Scholar, Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Vice Chair of Research, Department of Emergency Medicine
Director, Center for Resuscitation Science


Joseph Bavaria. MD

Joseph Bavaria. MD
 joseph.bavaria@uphs.upenn.edu

Brooke Roberts/William Maul Measey Professor of Surgery
Co-Director, Transcatheter Valve Program
Director, Thoracic Aortic Surgery Program
Vice Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Surgery


Scott Damrauer, MD

Scott Damrauer, MD
 scott.damrauer@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Surgery
Division of Vascular Surgery


Rajat Deo, MD, MTR

Rajat Deo, MD, MTR
 rajat.deo@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
 


Sanjay Dixit, MD

Sanjay Dixit, MD
 Sanjay.Dixit@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine


Andrew Epstein PhD, MPP

Andrew Epstein PhD, MPP
 eandrew@upenn.edu

Research Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Co-Director of Research, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics


David Frankel, MD

David Frankel, MD
 David.Frankel@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine


Melanie Freas, MSN, CRNP

Melanie Freas, MSN, CRNP
 Melanie.Freas@uphs.upenn.edu

Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery

 


Lee Goldberg, MD, MPH

Lee Goldberg, MD, MPH
 lee.goldberg@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Medical Director, Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplant Program
Vice Chair for Informatics, Department of Medicine


Betsy Goldmuntz, BA, MD

Betsy Goldmuntz, BA, MD
 goldmuntz@email.chop.edu

Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Cardiology
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
 

Howard Julien, MD, MPH

Howard Julien, MD, MPH
 Howard.Julien@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor Of Clinical Medicine

Division of Cardiovascular Medicine


Steve Kimmel, MD, MSCE

Steve Kimmel, MD, MSCE
 stevek@mail.med.upenn.edu

Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Director, Center for Therapeutic Effectiveness Research


Taisei Kobayashi, MD

Taisei Kobayashi, MD
 Taisei.Kobayashi@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine


Bonnie Ky, MD, MSCE

Bonnie Ky, MD, MSCE
 bonnie.ky@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology in Biostatistics and Epidemiology


Jennifer Lewey, MD, MPH

Jennifer Lewey, MD, MPH
 jennifer.lewey@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
 

Raina Merchant, MD, MSHP, FAHA

Raina Merchant, MD, MSHP, FAHA
 Raina.Merchant@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Director, Social Media and Health Innovation Lab, Perelman School of Medicine
Director, Social Media and Policy, Center for Emergency Care and Policy
Co-Director, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Program
 


Mark Neuman, MD, MSc

Mark Neuman, MD, MSc
 Mark.Neuman@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Director, Penn Center for Perioperative Outcomes Research and Transformation (CPORT)
Investigator, Penn Center for Pharmacoepidemiology Research and Training


Michael L. O'Byrne, MD, MSCE

Michael L. O'Byrne, MD, MSCE
 OBYRNEM@email.chop.edu

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Perelman School of Medicine

Interventional Cardiologist, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Faculty, Center for Pediatric Clinical Effectiveness, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Associate Director, CHOP's Cardiac Center Research Core


Prakash Patel, MD

Prakash Patel, MD
 Prakash.Patel@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
 


Barbara Riegel, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN

Barbara Riegel, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
 briegel@nursing.upenn.edu

Professor at School of Nursing
Director, Biobehavioral Interest Group
Edith Clemmer Steinbright Professor of Gerontology


Joseph Rossano, MD, MS, FAAP, FACC

Joseph Rossano, MD, MS, FAAP, FACC
 rossanoj@email.chop.edu

Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Cardiology
Medical Director, Pediatric Heart Failure and Transplant Program
Executive Director, Cardiac Center
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia


Joseph Savino, MD

Joseph Savino, MD
 savinoj@uphs.upenn.edu

Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Director and Section Chief, Cardiovascular Thoracic Anesthesia and Intensive Care
Department of Anesthesia
 


Sandy Schwartz, MD

Sandy Schwartz, MD
 schwartz@wharton.upenn.edu

Leon Hess Professor in Internal Medicine
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Health Care Management
Professor of Economics


Grace Wang, MD

Grace Wang, MD
 wanggr@mail.med.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Surgery
Assistant Professor of Radiology
 


Rob Wilensky, MD

Rob Wilensky, MD
 robert.wilensky@uphs.upenn.edu

Professor of Medicine
Director, Interventional Cardiology Research
Director, Interventional Cardiology Training Program
 



Fellows

Sri Adusumalli, MD

Sri Adusumalli, MD
 sri.adu@uphs.upenn.edu

Chief Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
 


Audrey Blewer, MPH

Audrey Blewer, MPH
 audrey.blewer@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Director for Educational Programs at the Center for Resuscitation Science

LDI Associate Fellow


Paul Fiorilli

Paul Fiorilli
 Paul.Fiorilli@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Interventional Cardiology


Bram Geller, MD

Bram Geller, MD
 Bram.Geller@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Matthew Hyman, MD

Matthew Hyman, MD
 Matthew.Hyman@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Cardiac Electrophysiology

Sameed Khatana, MD

Sameed Khatana, MD
 Sameed.Khatana@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Emily Mackay

Emily Mackay
 Emily.Mackay@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Cardiac Anesthesia

Fenton McCarthy

Fenton McCarthy
 fenton.mccarthy@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Cardiac Surgery

Ashwin Nathan

Ashwin Nathan
 Ashwin.Nathan@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine


Staff

Andrea Segal, MS, MPH

Andrea Segal, MS, MPH
Project Manager


Abby Kearns

Abby Kearns
Administrative Coordinator


Janell Olah

Janell Olah
Coordinator


Lin Yang, MSE

Lin Yang, MSE
Biostatistician