TB/HIV Coinfection Working Group
TB/HIV Coinfection Home / Working Groups / Einstein-Montefiore

Einstein-Montefiore CFAR

Primary contacts

Harris Goldstein:            Harris.goldstein@einstein.yu.edu
Michelle Larsen:            Michelle.larsen@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/cfar/page.aspx?id=466

PI: Harris Goldstein
Email:harris.goldstein@einstein.yu.edu 

 TB-equipped BSL3 lab, training opportunities.

INVESTIGATOR

EMAIL

PROJECTS

 

William R. Jacobs, Jr.

Jacobsw@hhmi.org

  1. Genetic Basis of Drug Resistance and Drug Tolerance
  2. Genetic Basis of Tuberculosis Virulence
  3. Development of a Rapid Reporter Phages for Assessing Drugs Rapidly Assessing Drug Susceptibilities [Collaboration with Graham Hatfull @ University of Pittsburgh and Dr. Wim Sturm @ K-RITH]
  4. Development of Improved TB Vaccines

Michelle Larsen

Michelle.larsen@einstein.yu.edu

Genetic and Phenotypic Characterization of XDR-TB Strains [Collaborative Effort with Drs. Sturm (K-RITH) Dr. Jacobs, Dr. Lee and Haynes (Duke University)

John Chan

John.chan@einstein.yu.edu

Genetic Basis of Tuberculosis Persistence
Development of TB Vaccines

Harris Goldstein

Harris.goldstein@einstein.yu.edu

TB/HIV Interactions. 

Steve Porcelli

Steve.porcelli@einstein.yu.edu

Molecular Basis of Immunity to Tuberculosis

John Blanchard

John.blanchard@einstein.yu.edu

Development of Penicillin Analogs to kill XDR-TB

Jacqueline Achkar

Jacqueline.achkar@einstein.yu.edu

Development of Diagnostic Test to detect Latent TB

Arturo Casadevall

Arturo.casadevall@einstein.yu.edu

Development of TB Capsule Vaccines

Sarita Shah

Sarita.shah@einstein.yu.edu

Epidemiology of XDR-TB Infections in Kwa-Zulu Natal (Collaborative Effort with Dr. Gerry Freidland, Yale Univ. and K-RITH)

Neel Gandhi

Neel.gandhi@einstein.yu.edu

Epidemiology of XDR-TB Infections in Kwa-Zulu Natal (Collaborative Effort with Dr. Gerry Freidland, Yale Univ. and K-RITH)

Mark Girvin

Mark.girvin@einstein.yu.edu

Biochemistry of ATP Synthases

Brian Currie

bcurrie@montefiore.org

Clinical Treatment of XDR-TB with Clavulanate and Meropenem (Collaborative Effort with Dr. Gerry Freidland, Yale Univ. and K-RITH)

Julia Arnsten

jarnsten@montefiore.org

Epidemiology of XDR-TB Infections in Kwa-Zulu Natal (Collaborative Effort with Dr. Gerry Freidland, Yale Univ. and K-RITH)

Andrew R. Berman

aberman@montefiore.org

Pathological Analyses of Latent TB

3.            Other Resources:

K-RITH [http://www.hhmi.org/research/k-rith] The Kwa-Zulu Natal Institute for Research on TB and HIV is an Institute funded by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute that supports our collaborative effort by Dr. Bruce Walker (Harvard) and Dr. Salim Karim (University of KwaZulu-Natal), Dr. Wim Sturm (UKZN) and Dr. William R. Jacobs, Jr. (AECOM) to develop novel interventions for TB and HIV.

The NIH AIDS Training Program For Pre- and Post-doctoral Fellows funds the training of Pre- and Post-doctoral candidates who wish to pursue independent careers in HIV/AIDS-related topics.

The AIDS International Training and Research Program, is an International program that funds training in AIDS/TB prevention research at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Indian, Bangladeshi and Rwandan scientists in critical biomedical research, behavioral and epidemiological studies, as well as clinical research training of researchers from India and Rwanda.