Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Case Studies in Translational Research

Header Image

Schedule | Fall 2017

UPENN SOM | Case Studies in Translational Research  BIOM 510
 

Class Date Room Class Time Faculty Preceptor Topic
Wed., Aug. 23 BRB 801 3:00 — 5:00 pm Bob Heuckeroth, MD, PhD Intro/guidance session

Wed., Aug. 30

BRB lobby 2:40 — 5:00 pm Class field trip to SPARK We will meet in the BRB lobby at 2:40PM and walk to 3737 Market Street together.
Session 1

Wed., Sept. 6 & Wed., Sept. 13 

BRB 801 3:00 — 5:00 pm Ali Naji, MD, PhD Immunomodulation and cell therapy for diabetes mellitus
Session 2

Wed., Sept. 20

 & Mon., Oct. 2

BRB 1101

BRB 801

3:00 — 5:00 pm

William Fox, MD

 
Session 3

Wed., Oct. 4 & Wed., Oct. 11

BRB 801

 
3:00 — 5:00 pm John Maris, MD Rational drug development for cancer: It is even harder when the patients are kids.
Mon., Oct. 16 BRB 801 3:00-5:00PM Combo Information Session Ed Weinstein & David Lindsay
Session 4

Wed., Oct. 18 & Mon., Nov. 13

BRB 801 3:00 — 5:00 pm

Tal Zaks, MD

Don Bergstrom, MD, PhD 

Clinical evidence required for the approval of therapies for cancer as seen by FDA and its advisory committee.
Session 5

Wed., Nov. 15 

& Wed., Nov. 21

BRB 1101

BRB 801

3:00 — 5:00 pm Alan Flake, MD Extending gestation with an “Artificial Womb": Extracorporeal physiologic support of the extreme premature infant.


Presentation Schedule
 

Class Date Room Preceptor Student 1 Student 2 Student 3 Student 4 Student 5

Wed., Sept. 6 &

Wed., Sept. 13 

BRB 801 Ali Naji

Naveen Jain

Karun Kiani Daniel Park Selen Uman Nik Evitt

Wed., Sept. 20

 & Mon., Oct. 2

BRB 1101

BRB 801

William Fox

Lanair Lett Fola Sofela Kevin Zhang Daniel Xu  

Wed., Oct. 4 &

Wed., Oct. 11

BRB 801 John Maris Iulia Tapescu Juan Serrano Stacy Thomas Joyce Liu Andy Revell

Wed., Oct. 18 &

Mon., Nov. 13

BRB 801

Tal Zaks

Don Bergstrom

Daniel Akuma Sarshan Pather Jamal Green Ivan Kuznetsov John Bernabei

Wed., Nov. 15 &

Wed., Nov. 21

BRB 1101

BRB 801

Alan Flake Saisai Chen Hoang Bui Nguyen Omar Abdoun Greg Chen