medical scientist training program

Directory of Program Advisors

All MD-PhD students are assigned to one of the MD-PhD Program Advisors.  These are a select group of Penn physician scientists.  You are expected to meet with your mentor at least once a year, and are strongly encouraged to be in touch with him/her more often -either through additional meetings or by e-mail or phone.   Our vision is that the MD-PhD program advisor will help provide mentoring and guidance on many issues, particularly those unique to MD-PhD training and careers.

Skip Brass, MD, PhD
Associate Dean and Director, Combined Degree and Physician Scholar Programs
Professor, Medicine, Pharmacology and Pathology
815 Biomedical Research Building
215-573-3540
brass@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/mstp/steering.shtml
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p15732

Lewis Chodosh, MD, PhD
Professor, Cancer Biology
612 Biomedical Research Building
215-898-1321
chodosh@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p20564

Carolyn Felix, MD
Professor, Pediatrics
Colket Translational Research Bldg, Room 4006
215-590-2831
felix@email.chop.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p16648

Roger Greenberg, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Cancer Biology
513 Biomedical Research Building
215-746-2738
rogergr@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20001500/p8145566

Mark Kahn, MD

Associate Director, MD-PhD Program
Professor, Medicine
11-123 Smilow Center for Translational Research
215-898-9007
markkahn@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000220/p16184

Max Kelz, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology and Critical Care
334 John Morgan Building
215-662-3713
kelzma@uphs.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p4317661

Peter Klein, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine
9-103 Smilow Center for Translational Research
pklein@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p4546

Rahul Kohli, MD, PhD
Associate Director, MD-PhD Program
Assistant Professor, Medicine
502B Johnson Pavilion
rkohli@upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p6341532

Dennis Kolson, MD, PhD
Professor, Neurology
280C Clinical Research Building
215-573-3505
KOLSOND@MAIL.MED.UPENN.EDU
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p18670

Edward Lee, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
605B Stellar Chance Laboratories
215-898-0908
edward.lee@uphs.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000220/p13094

Nina Luning Prak, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
405B Stellar Chance Labs
215-746-5768
luning@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p13338

Jonathan Maltzman, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
754 Biomedical Research Building
215-573-1833
maltz@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p12032

Aimee Payne, MD, PhD
Associate Director, MD-PhD Program
Albert M. Kligman Assistant Professor, Dermatology
1009 Biomedical Research Building
215-746-4488
paynea@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/mstp/steering.shtml
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p4430217

Ben Stanger, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine
512 Biomedical Research Building
215-746-5560
bstanger@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p8139400

Doris Stoffers, MD, PhD
Professor, Medicine
12-124 Smilow Center for Translational Research
215-573-5413
stoffers@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g20000320/p3556

Kate Sullivan, MD, PhD
Professor, Pediatrics
1208 Abramson Research Center
215-590-1697
sullivak@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p10036

Becky Wells, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine
905 Biomedical Research Building
215- 573-1860
rgwells@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p26645