Leadership

Welcome to Penn Neurology

“Neurologists at Penn Neurology are committed to advancing the treatment of basic and complex neurological disorders. We look forward to continually serving our patients as the expansion of our faculty and programs increases accessibility for neurological care in both the inpatient and outpatient settings”  -Frances E. Jensen, MD | Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology

Penn Neurology Specialty Highlights

Penn Neurology provides clinical care in close association with other Penn Medicine departments. Our specialists are backed by the most extensive neurodiagnostic and imaging facilities in the region as well as one of the nation’s foremost research programs in clinical and basic neuroscience. U.S. News & World Report has ranked the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania highest in the Philadelphia region for Neurology since ratings began in 1991.

Department of Neurology Leadership 2016 — 2017

Physician/Assistant Title Mailing Information
Frances E. Jensen,  MD, FACP
Sonja Ogden
Sonja.Ogden@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-3389
Professor and Chair Department of Neurology
Division: Epilepsy
Department of Neurology
3 Dulles
Office Phone: 215-662-3360
Fax: 215-662-3362
Frances.Jensen@uphs.upenn.edu
Geoffrey Aguirre, MD, PhD
Crystal Rich
Crystal.Rich@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-3390
Co-Director Residency Program
Division: Cognitive Neurology
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-3390
aguirreg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Brenda Banwell, MD
Michelle Kornegay
Kornegay@email.chop.edu
215-590-1710
Chief, Child Neurology, CHOP
Division: Pediatric Multiple Sclerosis

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
3501 Civic Center Blvd.
10th Floor, Colket Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Office Phone:  215-590-6848
Fax:  215-590-2950
banwellb@email.chop.edu

Amit Bar-Or, MD, FRCP
Amber Banayat
atabanayat@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
215-220-9384
Chief, Multiple Sclerosis
Division: Multiple Sclerosis
South Pavilion Expansion - 7763
Office Phone: 215-220-9384
AmitBar@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Shawn Bird, MD
Karen Conroy
Karen.Conroy@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-2625

Chief, Neuromuscular
Division: Neuromuscular
 
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-6551
Shawn.Bird@uphs.upenn.edu
Anjan Chatterjee, MD
Irene.Skirsky@uphs.upenn.edu
215-829-8407
Site Chief, Neurology, Pennsylvania Hospital
Division: Cognitive
Neurology, Pennsylvania Hospital
330 S. 9th Street, 2nd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Office Phone: 215-829-8407
anjan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
H. Branch Coslett, MD
Marilyn Ramos
Marilyn.Ramos@uphs.upenn.edu
215-615-3428
Site Chief, VAMC and Diversity Officer, Neurology 
Division: Cognitive
Department of Neurology 
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-615-3428
hbc@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 
John A. Detre, MD
Kim Sears
Kimberly.Sears@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-3339

Vice Chair of Research
Division: General Neurology

Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-349-8465
detre@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 
Murray Grossman, MD
Crystal Rich
Cyrstal.Rich@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-3361
Chief, Cognitive Neurology
Division: Cognitive Neurology

Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-3361
mgrossma@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Scott Kasner, MD
Kim Sears
Kimberly.Sears@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-3564
Chief, Stroke and Critical Care and Vice-Chair of Clinical Affairs
Division: Stroke
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-3564
Scott.Kasner@uphs.upenn.edu or Kasner@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sami L. Khella, MD
Samantha Robey
Samantha.Robey@uphs.upenn.edu
215-294-9459

Chief, Neurology, PPMC
Division: General Neurology
Presbyterian Medical Center
3951 N. 39th Street
Medical Office Building, Suite #305
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Office Phone: 215-662-8570
Sami.Khella@uphs.upenn.edu
Dennis Kolson, MD, PhD
Ivone Santos
Ivone.Santos@uphs.upenn.edu
215-349-8146
Vice Chair Faculty Development, Neurology Committee on Appointment and Promotions (COAP)
Division: Multiple Sclerosis
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-349-8146
Kolsond@pennmedicine.upenn.edu or Dennis.Kolson@uphs.upenn.edu
Joshua Levine, MD
Kimberly Sears
Kimberly.Sears@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-3368
Chief, Neurocritical Care
Division: Neurocritical Care
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-3368
jolevine@pennmedicine.upenn.edu or Joshua.Levine@uphs.upenn.edu
Brian Litt, MD
Tracey Sampson
Traceys@seas.upenn.edu
215-746-4850
Interim Chief, Epilepsy
Division: Epilepsy
Department of Neurology 
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-746-4850
littb@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 
Grant T. Liu, MD
Sherri Archer
Sherri.Archer@uphs.upenn.edu
215-349-8460
Chief, Neuro-ophthalmology
Division: Neuro-ophthalmology
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-349-8460
gliu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 
Jeanie Luciano, MSN, CRNP
 
Chief, Nursing
Division: Stroke
Department of Neurology
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-614-0175
Jeanie.Luciano@uphs.upenn.edu
Raymond Price, MD
Karen Conroy
Karen.Conroy@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-2625
Director, Residency
Division: General Neurology
Department of Neurology 
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-2625
Raymond.Price@uphs.upenn.edu
Amy Pruitt, MD
Marilyn Ramos
Marilyn.Ramos@uphs.upenn.edu
215-662-2796
Chief, General Neurology and Vice Chair of Education and Education Officer
Division: General Neurology
Department of Neurology 
3 W. Gates
Office Phone: 215-662-2796
pruitt@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
David Raizen, MD, PhD Chief, Sleep Medicine
Division: Sleep Medicine
462 Stemmler
Office Phone: 215-746-4809
Cell Phone: 610-716-5341
raizen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Andrew Siderowf, MD
Irene.Skirsky@uphs.upenn.edu
215-829-8407

Chief, Movement Disorders
Division: Movement Disorders 
 

Neurology, Pennsylvania Hospital
330 S. 9th Street, 2nd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Office Phone: 215-829-7915
Andrew.Siderowf@uphs.upenn.edu

 

© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Site Design: PMACS Web Team.