Orphan Disease Center

Committees & Staff

Steering Committee Members

Jonathan A. Epstein, MD
Executive Vice Dean, Chief Scientific Officer,
PSOM; Professor of Cell and Development Biology

Glen Gaulton, PhD
Vice Dean and Director of Global Health, PSOM;
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Kevin B. Mahoney
Senior Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer for the University of Pennsylvania Health System, Vice Dean for Integrative Services for PSOM

Michael S. Parmacek, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine and Director of the Cardiovascular Institute at Penn Medicine, Francis C. Wood Professor

Daniel J. Rader, MD (Chair)
Chair, Department of Genetics and Seymour Gray Professor of Molecular Medicine

Joseph W. St. Geme, III, MD
Chairman, Department of Pediatrics and Leonard and Madlyn Professor

External Advisory Committee Members

John Crowley, JD, MBA
Amicus Therapeutics, President and CEO

Emil Kakkis, MD, PhD
Ultragenyx Pharmaceutical Inc., CEO and President

Tadataka (Tachi) Yamada, MD (Chair)
Takeda Pharmaceuticals, Executive Vice President, CMO, CSO, and a board member
Former President of Global Health, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Center Staff

James M. Wilson, M.D., PhD
Director, Orphan Disease Center
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

To schedule a phone call or meeting with Dr. Wilson, contact:
Monique R. Molloy
Administrative Director, Orphan Disease Center
Phone: 215-898-6111

Samantha Charleston
Assistant Director, Orphan Disease Center
Phone: 215-573-6822