PCMD » Affiliate Members

Affiliate Members

Member Title/Department Keywords Institution Email
Mary Barbe, PhD Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology repetitive strain injury, overuse injury, muscle fibrosis,
bone biology, carpal tunnel syndrome
Temple University mbarbe@temple.edu
Pedro K. Beredjiklian, MD Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery tendon injury, scar formation, regenerative healing
cytokines, collagen
Rothman Institute Pedro.Beredjiklian@rothmaninstitute.com

Nicole M. Cattano, MPH, ATC

Assistant Professor of Sports Medicine osteoarthritis, biomarker, knee injury, tissue trauma, meniscus,
ligament, pathophysiology, biochemical, disease modifying,
interventions
West Chester
University
ncattano@wcupa.edu
Terry Freeman, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

fracture healing, MicroCT and histology, image analysis
and processing, osteoarthritis, tissue regeneration,
plasma biology

Thomas Jefferson
University

Theresa.Freeman@jefferson.edu

Sharon L Kolasinski, MD, FACP,
FACR
Professor of Medicine osteoarthritis, education, curriculum development Cooper Medical School of
Rowan University
kolasinski-sharon@cooperhealth.edu

Javad Parvizi, MD

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery hip & knee arthroplasty, periprosthetic joint infection,
femoroacetabular impingment, developmental
dysplasia of the hip, primary & revision arthroplasty
Thomas Jefferson
University
parvj@aol.com
Nancy Pleshko, PhD Professor of Bioengineering

cartilage repair; tissue engineering, spectroscopy,
imaging, bone mineralization, collagen structure

Temple University npleshko@temple.edu

Makarand V. Risbud, PhD

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery &
Cell and Developmental Biology
intervertebral disc, nucleus pulposus, hypoxia,
HIF proteins, osmoregulation, TonEBP,
 degenerative disc disease, inflammatory cytokines 
Thomas Jefferson
University
Makarand.Risbud@jefferson.edu

James J. Sciote DDS, MS, PhD

Professor of Orthodontics

clinical orthodontics, dentofacial deformities, orthognathic surgery,
skeletal muscle biology, physiology, human genetics

Temple University jjs6@dental.temple.edu
Irving M. Shapiro BDS, PhD Anthony and Gertrude DePalma
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
cartilage, bone, intervertebral disc, osteoarthritis,
apoptosis, autophagy, chondrocyte, osteoblast, nucleus
pulposus, hypoxia
Thomas Jefferson
University
Irving.Shapiro@jefferson.edu

Marla J Steinbeck, MT(ASCP), PhD

Research Associate Professor
of of Biomedical Engineering, Science
& Health Systems

osteoarthritis, biomarker development, total joint replacement,
wear debris   characterization, periprosthetic tissue responses,
pathophysiology, osteolysis,non-thermal plasma induced
skeletal cell differentiation

Drexel University

mjs348@drexel.edu
Bin Wang, Ph.D Assistant Professor of Medicine parathyroid hormone, parathyroid hormone related protein, parathyroid
hormone receptor, bone, cartilage, osteoporosis and osteoarthritis
Thomas Jefferson
University
bin.wang@jefferson.edu