Our Faculty


The Physiology Department is comprised of faculty whose research ranges from studies of single molecule behaviors to integrative physiology. The multi-disciplinary approaches employed by our faculty encourage scientific collaborations with scientists in other departments throughout the Perelman School of Medicine and beyond. In addition, many of our faculty have formal ties to other entities at Penn, including The Pennsylvania Muscle Institute, The Center for Orphan Disease Research and Therapy, The Institute for Environmental Medicine, the Abramson Cancer Center, the Institute for Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism and the Center for Nanotechnology, among others. Our faculty are also strongly committed to medical and graduate student education, with leadership roles in courses, seminars and journal clubs in Physiology, Biochemistry, Molecular Biophysics, Cell Biology, and many more.


Clay M. Armstrong, MD

Emeritus Professor

B701 Richards Building

215-898-7816

carmstro@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Joseph Baur, PhD

Associate Professor

12-114 Smilow Center

215-746-4585

baur@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Stephen Baylor, MD

Professor

A303 Richards Building

215-898-5559

baylor@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Shampa Chatterjee, PhD

Research Associate Professor

1 John Morgan

215-898-9101

shampac@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile


Mortimer Civan, MD

Emeritus Professor

A303 Richards Building

215-898-8773

civan@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Ronald Coburn, MD

Emeritus Professor

B203 Richards Building

215-898-8069

rfcoburn@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Carol Deutsch, PhD

Professor

650A Clinical Research Building

215-898-8014

cjd@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Roberto Dominguez, PhD

Professor

728 Clinical Research Building

215-573-4559

droberto@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile


Aron Fisher, MD

Professor

Director of the Institute for Environmental Medicine

1 John Morgan

215-898-9108

abf@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Robert Forster, MD

Emeritus Professor

A300 Richards Building

215-898-9125

forster@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

J. Kevin Foskett, PhD

Isaac Ott Professor

Chair of Physiology

700D Clinical Research Building

215-898-1354

foskett@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Yale E. Goldman, MD, PhD

Professor

615B Clinical Research Building

215-898-4017

goldmany@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile


Ekaterina Grishchuk, PhD

Associate Professor

675 Clinical Research Building

215-746-8178

gekate@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Erika Holzbaur, PhD

William Maul Measey Professor

638A Clinical Research Building

215-573-3257

holzbaur@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Toshinori Hoshi, PhD

Professor

605B Clinical Research Building

215-573-7305

hoshi@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Paul Janmey, PhD

Professor

1010 Vagelos Labs

215-573-7380

janmey@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile


Anna Kashina, PhD

Professor

Room 143 Rosenthal

215-746-0895

akashina@vet.upenn.edu

View Profile

Tejvir Khurana, MD, PhD

Professor

752B Clinical Research Building

215-898-4116

tsk@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Melike Lakadamyali, PhD

Assistant Professor

764 Clinical Research Building

215-573-9700

melikel@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Robert Lee, PhD

Assistant Professor

1209 BRB II/III

215-573-9766

rjl@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile


Zhe Lu, MD, PhD

Professor

664 Clinical Research Building

215-573-7711

zhelu@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Kenneth B. Margulies, MD

Professor

11-101 Translational Research Center

215-573-298

ken.margulies@uphs.upenn.edu

View Profile

Michael S. Marks, PhD

Professor

816G Abramson Research Center

215-590-3664

marksm@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Claire Mitchell, PhD

Associate Professor

440 Levy Labs

215-573-2176

chm@dental.upenn.edu

View Profile


Michael Ostap, PhD

Professor

Director of the Pennsylvania Muscle Institute

700A Clinical Research Building

215-573-9758

ostap@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Martin Pring, DPhil

Emeritus Professor

C200 Richards Building

215-898-6870

pringm@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Benjamin Prosser, PhD

Assistant Professor

726 Clinical Research Building

215-746-1488

bpros@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Brian Salzberg, PhD

Professor

B41b Anatomy Chemistry

215-898-2441

bmsalzbe@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile


Henry Shuman, PhD

Research Associate Professor (Retired)

740 Clinical Research Building

215-898-3408

shuman@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

H. Lee Sweeney, PhD

Emeritus Professor

215-898-8725

lsweeney@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile

Saul Winegrad, MD

Emeritus Professor

B307 Richards Building

215-898-7017

bsg@mail.med.upenn.edu

View Profile