Department of Psychiatry
Penn Behavioral Health

Residency Training Program

subpage feature

Awards and Announcements

The Center for Couples and Adult Families' didactic curriculum for training residents in family skills has been chosen as a Model Curriculum by the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training. Click here to learn more

The Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania has been ranked #2 among the nation's research-oriented medical schools by U.S.News & World Report, rising from #3 last year. In addition, Penn Medicine was ranked 7th among top primary care schools. Penn was also ranked #4 in the country for its programs in drug/alcohol abuse. Click for article

Matt Prowler, MD received a scholarship from the Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome Information Service (NMSIS) Promising New Investigators competition, for a paper entitled "Treatment of catatonia with methylphenidate in an elderly patient with depression", to be published in Psychosomatics.

Rebecca Aspden, MD was the 2009 recipient of the Medical Student Teaching Award. This award is given to a resident who has been a consistently outstanding teacher of medical students.

The Special Recognition for Service to Psychiatric Education Award was given to Michele Cepparulo, who has tirelessly contributed organization, energy, and affection to the Office of Education, in honor of her 10 years of service as Education Administrator of the Psychiatry Residency, and in honor of her formal certification this year as a Program Administrator by the Training Administrators for Graduate Medical Education (TAGME).

Melissa DeJesus Quinn, MD & Benjamin Pumphrey, MD received the 2009 Dr. Henry P. and M. Page Durkee Laughlin Foundation Award. This award is given to a resident upon recommendation of the program in recognition of his/her outstanding professional achievement, dedication and scholarship during the residency.

The Psychodynamic Psychotherapy Award is given by the Psychoanalytic Cluster Steering Committee to a graduating resident in recognition of his/her excellence in providing psychodynamic psychotherapy. Ben Pumphrey, MD and Sarah Mathews, MD were the 2009 recipients.

Donovan Maust, MD has been selected as a NIMH Outstanding Resident Awardee 2009. This award is intended to honor psychiatric residents with outstanding academic potential that have entered their PGY-III level by December 2009.

Chris Tjoa, MD, a resident in the Department of Psychiatry, was awarded an APA/SAMHSA Minority Fellowship. The Minority Fellowships Program (MFP) endeavors to eliminate racial and ethnic disparities in mental health and substance abuse care by providing specialized training to psychiatry residents and medical students interested in serving minority communities.

Congratulations to Michele Cepparulo, Education Administrator for the Department of Psychiatry, who passed the examination for the National Board of Certification for Training Administrators of Graduate Medical Education. Michele is only the second Residency Administrator at UPHS to receive certification.

Mind GamesThe Department Of Psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania is proud to announce that the PENN Psychiatry residents recently competed in MindGames; a jeopardy like competition that pits residency programs against each other for the coveted title of national champions and the bragging rights that comes with it.

The residents representing PENN this year include Josh Blume, MD, Regina Szucs, MD and Ryan Connolly, MD. The preliminary qualifying phase is an online contest where general psychiatry residency programs take a timed examination. The team answered 150 questions in 60 minutes loosely based on the ABPN Part 1 content outline with additional neurology and psychiatry history questions.

They were selected among the final 3 programs to compete at the annual APA meeting in San Francisco this year. They received a $5,000 grant from the APA to attend the national MindGames competition.

All roads lead to San Francisco!

Congratulations to these top teams who will compete in the final Mind Games: Albert Einstein Healthcare Network University of Pennsylvania University of Texas at Houston

Don't forget: Mind Games Final Competition Tuesday, May 19, 2009 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Moscone Convention Center San Francisco, CA

Joshua A. Blume, MD has been selected by the American Psychiatric Institute for Research and Education (APIRE) to participate in the APIRE/Janssen Resident Psychiatric Research Scholars program. This one-year fellowship will provide special mentoring and career enrichment programs, along with a $2,500 grant to assist in research career development.

Michelle Goldsmith, MD and Glenda Wrenn, MD were recipients of the Dr. Henry P. and M. Page Durkee Laughlin Foundation Award. The award is given to a resident upon recommendation of the program as recognition of his/her professional achievement, dedication, and scholarship throughout residency training. Founded in 1964 through the generosity of Hank and Page Laughlin, the Dr. Henry P. and M. Page Durkee Laughlin Foundation is based in Frederick, Maryland. For more than thirty years, the Laughlin Foundation has honored outstanding residents in psychiatric training programs throughout the United States and the United Kingdom. Award recipients are selected by the senior faculty at their university.

Congratulations to Laurel Weaver, MD, PhD, a resident in the Department of Psychiatry, who was awarded the Best Poster honor at the annual meeting of the Association for Convulsive Therapy. Dr. Weaver will receive the award for her submission, "Safety & Efficacy of TMS for the Treatment of ADHD in Adolescents & Young Persons," at the 2008 meeting of the American Psychiatric Association in May.

Mario Cristancho, MD and Pilar Cristancho, MD, residents in the Department of Psychiatry, received second place honors at the 2008 Philadelphia Psychiatric Society Colloquium of Scholars for their poster, "Electroconvulsive Therapy for the Treatment of Severe Major Depression During Pregnancy." This marks the second year in a row the pair has won an award for their poster submission.