Department of Psychiatry
Penn Behavioral Health

Residency Training Program

subpage feature

Residency Program Leadership

Program Directors

Anthony L. Rostain, Director
Anthony L. Rostain, MD is a Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. He is Director of Education for the Department of Psychiatry where he is responsible for overseeing medical student education and resident training. Click here for more information about Dr. Rostain

Richard F. Summers, Co-Director

Richard F. Summers, MD is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania. He is responsible for directing psychotherapy training, the didactic curriculum, and aspects of the outpatient training in the Penn Psychiatry Residency. Click here for more information about Dr. Summers

Chief Residents

Chief residents are appointed each year to provide leadership and advocacy for the entire group of residency house officers. Weekly meetings with the chief residents, and monthly meetings with the directors for all residents, assure that everyone has an opportunity to be heard in the program. Chief residents also participate in the Residency Steering Committee, a governance structure designed to promote resident and faculty dialogue on policies and curriculum that affect the program.

Program Staff

Michele Cepparulo, Education and Business Administrator
Michele Cepparulo is the education and business administrator for the Office of Education. She studied accounting at the Wharton School and was a financial accountant for the Department of Psychiatry prior to her career in residency education. She is a member of the AADPRT organization and is a certified training administrator for Graduate Medical Education and is responsible for the management of the residency training program. Email Michele Cepparulo

Cassie Sacco
, Curriculum Coordinator
As Curriculum Coordinator for the Department of Psychiatry, Cassie Sacco manages the course schedules for medical students and residents in psychiatry. Cassie is a member of ADMSEP. Email Cassie Sacco

Linda Ramos, Fellowship Coordinator
As Fellowship Coordinator for the Department of Psychiatry, Linda Ramos manages the ACGME accredited fellowship programs which include Psychosomatic Medicine, Geriatric Psychiatry & Forensics Fellowships.  She also coordinates the Clinical Neuroscience Training Program for medical students.  Email Linda Ramos at

Simone Jackson, Addictions Fellowship Coordinator
The Department of Psychiatry Addictions Fellowship is coordinated by Simone Jackson of the PVMAC.  This a an ACGME accredited fellowship program under the leadership of Kyle Kampman, MD.  Email Simone Jackson at