Research Symposium

Funding the Transition: Making the Move from Individual Research to the Team Science Approach


Cross-disciplinary collaboration has become a necessity for those who wish to take their research program in new directions. Funding agencies solicit grants and contracts for team research projects with increasing frequency, but developing, preparing and overseeing these complex projects presents new challenges. This symposium was targeted to those faculty who are ready to make the transition from individual awards to these more high profile, multidisciplinary projects.

Faculty members who have successfully made this transition addressed the opportunities and challenges of obtaining funding for large-scale collaborative research projects, both grants and contracts.

Conference materials for the symposium included an agenda and an overview of services provided by Research Program Development.

Presentations from the symposium can be viewed below.


How We Can Help - Research Program Development

Kate Musselman, M.F.A.

Grant Writer & Scientific Editor

Office of Research Program Development


A Team Science Approach to Nicotine Addiction Treatment

Caryn Lerman, Ph.D.

Mary W. Calkins Professor,

Department of Psychiatry

Deputy Director, Abramson Cancer Center


Approaches to Submitting and Administering Program Project and Center Grants

Kevin Volpp, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine and Health Care Management

Director, Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics, Leonard Davis Institute



Coordination and Management of Federal Contracts

Stephen Kimmel, M.D., MSCE

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
Senior Scholar, Epidemiology



Perelman School of Medicine Research Core Facilities

Morris J. Birnbaum, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine,

Associate Dean for Biomedical Cores,

Co-Director of the Diabetes Research Center and Associate Director of IDOM


This symposium was sponsored by the Office of Research Program Development (RPD) and the Office of the Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer

© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania