Neuroscience Graduate Group News & Events



In the News:

View more news items in the NGG News Archive


NGG student awards:

Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students - 2018
Congrats to Julia Kahn!

Mid-Atlantic Pharmacology Society - 2016
Congrats to Nicole Hernandez for taking home Second Place in the Graduate Division at the annual meeting!

William F. Jeffers Research Paper Prize
Awarded for meritorious laboratory research in the field of neurology. Congratulations to this year's winners:
2016: Jeffrey Nirschl, Eva Klinman

President Gutmann's Leadership Award
The purpose of this award is for graduate and professional student travel. It is given to students who are presenting their work at conferences located internationally or within the United States. These conferences tend to be out of their budget despite other aid from travel grants through the Research or Professional Students Councils. Congratulations to this year's winner:
2015: Ceren Ozek

The Ethan Sims Young Investigator Award at the Obesity Society
This society promotes research and advancements in the field of obesity. Awards given acknowledge significant contributions and achievements made toward the study and prevention of this disease. The Ethan Young Investigator Award recognizes the work of young investigators and is based on presentation of their work at the Annual Scientific Meeting. The winner is chosen from five finalists and is awarded a $1,000 cash prize. Congratulations to the winner of this year's award.
2014: Ceren Ozek

Fine Science Tools "USA," Inc. Travel Awards
The Fine Science Travel Award is a reward of $1,000 to help fund conference travel of NGG students. The award is given to the student with the best abstract. Congratulations to the following students:
2013: Amy Price
Collin Challis

Dorothea Jameson and Leo M. Hurvich Travel Awards 
The Jameson / Hurvich family has generously donated funds used to help support travel of NGG students working in the area of behavioral neuroscience, or having a behavioral neuroscience component to their work, to attend scientific meetings.Congratulations to the following NGG students:
Amy Price, David Reiner, Anna Stern
2014:Ali Buch, David Tischfield, Khaing Win, Amy Price, Judy Wang, Will Olson, David Reiner
Kamesh Krishnamurthy, Anna Stern, Yin Li, Ceren Ozek, Ashwin Ramayya; Samantha White, Khaing Win, Ryan Tsou, Nicole Yohn, Kamesh Krishnamurthy
Ashwin Ramayya, Melissa Wang, Ankit Jain, Toni Prince, Amy Price, Marino Pagan, Alexis Gerber, and Laura Felgendreger

Winegrad Award Winner
The Saul Winegrad Award for Outstanding Thesis in the Neurosciences is awarded annually at the spring BGS Commencement Ceremony. Congratulations to the following students:
2015: Yvette Wong (mentor: Dr. Erika Holzbaur)
2014: Meng-meng Fu (mentor: Dr. Erika Holzbaur)
Matt Nassar (mentor: Dr. Joshua Gold)
: Stephanie Cross (mentor: Dr. Dennis Kolson)

NSF Graduate Research Fellowships
Congratulations to the following students:
2013:Brianne Jeffrey, Morgan Taylor
Khaing Win; four other NGG students who received Honorable Mentions for their proposals: Leonardo Guercio, Shivon Robinson, Anna Stern, and Morgan Taylor.

NIH NRSA Recipients
Congratulations to the following students on receiving NRSAs from the NIH:
2014: Alex Gill (Dennis Kolson's lab)
Collin Challis (Olivier Berton's lab), Chris Dengler (Doug Coulter's lab), Brigid Jensen (Kelly Jordan-Sciutto's lab), Colin Smith (Akiva Cohen's lab), Vanessa Troiani (Robert Schultz's lab), Judy Wang (Zhaola Zhou's lab), Nicole Yohn (Judy Blendy's lab)
2012: Morgan Bridi (Ted Abel's lab), Angela Jablonski (Robert Kalb's lab), and Lauren Stutzbach (Gerard Schellenberg's lab)

Flexner Award
The Flexner Award is given for Outstanding Thesis Work in the Neurosciences. Students in any graduate group who did their Ph.D. on a neuroscience related topic in any lab across the University are eligible for the Flexner Award, sponsored by the Mahoney Institute for Neurosciences.The student receives a monetary award and his/her name engraved on a plaque that hangs in the Barchi Library. Recipients are selected by the NGG Awards Committee. Congratulations to the following students:
2013:Jing Guo (mentor: Dr. Virginia M-Y Lee)
Mike Hart (mentor: Aaron Gitler)

The Hearst Foundation Fellowship Appointees:
Meghan Healey, Blake Kimmey, Sneha Narasimhan, Sheng Tang
2014: Greg Artiushin, Yunshu Fan, Drew Jaegle, Jeffrey Nirschl
Eva Klinman, Laura Bryant, Morgan Taylor, David Tischfield
Michael Fleming, Ceren Ozek, Colin Smith, Yvette Wong

Center for Teaching and Learning

Teaching Certificate provides Penn doctoral students with support to hone and reflect upon their teaching, and with recognition of their commitment to developing as teachers. The program encourages graduate students to become self-reflective teachers and to enhance their awareness of additional teaching practices by engaging in discussions about teaching.
2013 Laura Felgendreger Grafe, Angela Jablonski
2012 Lindsay Morgan Vass
2011 Katie Kopil, Kristen Malkus

Graduate Fellowship for Teaching Excellence program honors graduate students who are dedicated to excellent teaching and is designed to foster conversations about teaching in order to help graduate students develop as teachers. Graduate Fellows organize and facilitate teaching workshops in their departments and across the university, observe graduate students teaching and offer feedback, and meet regularly as a fellows group to discuss teaching practices.
2013 Tanya Weerakkody

Teaching Assistant Trainer
Every year the Center for Teaching and Learning asks experienced TAs to apply to help train new TAs. The Center needs students in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities to lead new TAs in workshops.
2014 Erin Coffey
2011 Laura Felgendreger Grafe

Soros Scholars Fellowship Award Winner
Congratulations to Yin Li, MD/PhD NGG student in Dr. Josh Gold's lab who has been named as one of 2011's Soros Scholars ( The Fellowship provides up to $90,000 towards graduate education over two years for 30 Scholars. The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans provide opportunities for continuing generations of able and accomplished New Americans to achieve leadership in their chosen fields. The Program is established in recognition of the contributions New Americans have made to American life and in gratitude for the opportunities the United States has afforded the donors and their family.

HHMI International Fellowship Award Winner
Congratulations to Ankit Jain, MD/PhD NGG student in Dr. Rita Balice-Gordon's lab who has been named as one of 2011's 48 Fellows. This program supports outstanding international predoctoral students studying in the United States with a 3-year fellowship.

Cognitive Science Society Robert J. Glusko Dissertation Prize Recipient
Congratulations to Jeff Chih-tat Law, in Dr. Josh Gold's lab, who received his Ph.D. in 2009, on receiving the 2010 Glusko Dissertation Prize from the Cognitive Science Society.