PennPORT

Current Fellows


Cohort 11

Sara Roberson, PhD

Sara Roberson, PhD
Department of Cell Developmental Biology
 sarob@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: The mechanisms that underlie aging of a stem cell niche of the Drosophilia testis 

 

Lisa Bottalico, PhD

Lisa Bottalico, PhD
Department of Pharmacology
 bottlisa@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Investigating the effect of environmental exposures on circadian metabolism. 



Cohort 12

Kaitlin Laws, PhD

Kaitlin Laws, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
 klaws@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Defining the Molecular Determinants of Drosophila Motor Neuron maintenance.


Lyndsay Avery, PhD

Lyndsay Avery, PhD
Department of Pathology
  averyl@email.chop.edu

Research Topic: Understand the effects of mutual moesin protein on the function of the immune system.


Andrew Matamoros, PhD

Andrew Matamoros, PhD
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
 andrewjmatamoros@gmail.com

Research Topic: I am using a drosophila in vivo injury model to study nerve regeneration using a two-photon and confocal microscope.


John Drazan, PhD

John Drazan, PhD
Department of Orthopedic Research
 john.drazan2@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: The development of mobile, low-cost biomechanics equipment to study the development of musculoskeletal pathology in active youth and adult sport players within the community.


Kristian Saied-Santiago, PhD

Kristian Saied-Santiago, PhD
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
 kristian.saied@live.com

Research Topic: Identifying molecular pathways required for optic nerve regeneration in vivo.


Ray Saunders, Jr., PhD

Ray Saunders, Jr., PhD
Department of Pathobiology
 rks@vet.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Developing and characterizing methods for delivery of Trefoil factors 2 and 3 to the gastrointestinal tract.



Cohort 13

Joseph Zinski, PhD

Joseph Zinski, PhD
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
 jzinski@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to determine how the dynamics of transcriptional bursting are affected by histone post-translational modifications (eg. acetylation, methylation).

 


Kathryn Hacker, PhD

Kathryn Hacker, PhD
Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Informatics
 kathryn.hacker@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I am investigating the efficacy of public policy interventions and surveillance practices for controlling arthropod populations of public health significance in complex urban environments.


Dave Marzan, PhD

Dave Marzan, PhD
Department of Psychiatry
 dave.marzan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to better understand the functional consequences of HDLS mutations and to develop a microglia replacement system for the treatment of neurological disease.


Viridiana Herrera, PhD

Viridiana Herrera, PhD
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
 viridiana.herrera@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to understand the interactions between Aurora B, components of the chromosome passenger complex, and centromeric chromatin.


Angel Solis, PhD

Angel Solis, PhD
Department of Microbiology
 angel.solis@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: To identify novel regulators of immunity in the intestinal microbiome.


Jasmine Alexander-Floyd, PhD

Jasmine Alexander-Floyd, PhD
Department of Microbiology
 alexanja@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: To investigate how diverse lipopolysaccharide (LPS) structures are recognized by macrophages and activate the human non-canonical inflammasome pathway.


Patrick Cherubin, PhD

Patrick Cherubin, PhD
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
 CherubinP@email.chop.edu

Research Topic: To understand and elucidate the unfolded protein response (UPR), an evolutionary conserved endoplasmic reticulum (ER) signaling pathway that supports the expansion of the secretory apparatus.

 


Edward Waddell, PhD

Edward Waddell, PhD
Department of Neuroscience
 edward.waddell@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I will be using Drosiphila melanogaster to investigate the mechanisms regulating neuronal morphogenesis.

 

 

 

 


© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | Privacy Policy | Site Design: PMACS Web Team.