Course Directors – Core 1


Biochemistry Mitchell Lewis, Dphil lewis@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-898-0949
Bioethics & Professionalism Joshua Kayser, MD, MPH, MBE joshua.kayser@va.gov 215-370-3111
Brain and Behavior Tina Chen, MD chent4@email.chop.edu  
Indira Gurubhagavatula, MD, MPH indira@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-4875
Grace Kimbaris, MD grace.kimbaris@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-829-6500
Minghong Ma, PhD minghong@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-746-2790
Andrew McKinstry-Wu, MD andrew.mckinstry-wu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 267-544-9481
Angela Viaene, MD viaenea@email.chop.edu  
Cancer Biology Brian Keith, PhD bkeith@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-746-5533
Cardiology Frank Silvestry, MD fsilvest@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 610-902-2273
Cell and Tissue Biology Kurt A. Engleka, PhD kengleka@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-898-0252
Phong Tran tranp@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-746-2755
Clinical Anatomy Neal Rubinstein, MD, PhD nrubinst@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-898-4162
Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics Joshua F. Baker, MD, MSCE jfbaker@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-2454
Dermatology James Treat, MD treat@email.chop.edu 215-870-0304
Differential Diagnosis Anita Lee, MD anita.lee@uphs.upenn.edu 215-662-9990
Sarah Longworth, MD sarah.longworth@uphs.upenn.edu 267-251-0009 
Doctoring IA Renée M. Betancourt, MD renee.betancourt@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 610-716-6952
Doctoring IB Joshua Kayser, MD, MPH, MBE joshua.kayser@va.gov 215-370-3111
Doctoring IC Sarah Lyon, MD, MSCE salyon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 617-851-3432
Embryology Daniel Kessler, PhD  kesslerd@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-898-1478
Endocrinology Zubair Baloch, MD, PhD baloch@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-3209
Carrie Burns, MD carrie.burns@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-2468
Jalal Jalaly, MD jalal.jalaly@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-5032
Christina Mitchell, MD christina.mitchell@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-2468
Gastrointestinal Danielle Fortuna, MD danielle.fortuna@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-1637
David Jaffe, MD david.jaffe@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-349-8222
Stuti Shroff, MD, PhD stuti.shroff@uphs.upenn.edu 215-615-1638
Kristen Stashek, MD kristen.stashek@uphs.upenn.edu 215-615-1637
Rashmi Tondon, MD rashmi.tondon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-3642
Genetics Arupa Ganguly, PhD  ganguly@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-898-3122
Health Care Systems Dr. Rani Nandiwada Deepa.Nandiwada@pennmedicine.upenn.edu  
Dr. Nadia Bennett Nadia.Bennett@pennmedicine.upenn.edu  
Introduction to Clinical Medicine (ICM):
First Semester
Wilma Chan, MD wilma.chan@uphs.upenn.edu 215-662-6698
Cindy Christian, MD christian@email.chop.edu 215-590-2058
Anita Lee, MD anita.lee@uphs.upenn.edu 215-662-9990
Bill Matthai, MD william.matthai@uphs.upenn.edu 215-662-9000
ICM: Adult Anita Lee, MD anita.lee@uphs.upenn.edu 215-662-9990
ICM: Patient Communication Claudia Baldassano, MD cfb@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-668-5913
Judy Chertok, MD Judy.Chertok@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-8777
ICM: Pediatric Pamela Fazzio, MD fazziop@chop.edu  
Amanda Van Pelt vanpeltal@email.chop.edu  
Immunology David Allman, PhD  dallman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-746-5547
Martha Jordan, PhD jordanm@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-746-5546
Introduction to Ultrasound Diagnostics Wilma Chan, MD wilma.chan@uphs.upenn.edu 215-662-6698
LEAPP Rachael Truchil, MD Rachael.Truchil@pennmedicine.upenn.edu  
Mechanisms of Disease & Therapeutic Intervention Carolyn Cambor, MD carolyn.cambor@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-614-1428
Lawrence Brass, MD, PhD brass@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-573-3540
Jonathan Dunham, MD jonathan.dunham@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-4661
Adam Cuker, MD Adam.Cuker@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-8012
Dale Frank, MD dale.frank@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-6503
Farzana Sayani, MD Farzana.Sayani@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-6599
Sony Tuteja, Pharm.D., MS, BCPS, FAHA sonyt@pennmedicine.upenn.edu  
Microbiology and Infectious Diseases I Michael Abboud michael.abboud@pennmedicine.upenn.edu        267-601-5193
Jianxin You, MD jianyou@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-573-6781
Microbiology and Infectious Diseases II Blair C. Weikert, MD blair.weikert@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 800-789-7366
Pulmonary Gregg Lipschik, MD lipschik@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-595-8253
Jennifer Pogoriler, MD pogorilerj@email.chop.edu  
Sarah Lyon, MD Sarah.Lyon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 617-851-3432
Renal Jehan Bahrainwala, MD jehan.bahrainwala@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-8730
Matthew Palmer, MD, PhD matthew.palmer@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-4829
Sanjeev R. Shah, MD sanjeev.shah@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-662-7934
Reproduction Christy Moore, MD christy.moore@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-663-3920
Maria Carolina Reyes, MD mariare@upenn.edu 215-662-4829
Divya K. Shah, MD divya.shah@pennmedicine.upenn.edu 215-615-0085