Shadowing Opportunities


Faculty in an increasing number of specialties will allow students to shadow them. Click below for names and contact information.

Search:

Family Medicine

Faculty willing to let students shadow include:

Specialty Last Name First Name Email
  Teel Joseph joseph.teel@uphs.upenn.edu
  Ghazi Nasreen Nasreen.Ghazi@uphs.upenn.edu
  Betancourt Renee renee.betancourt@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑

Med/Pediatrics

Faculty willing to allow students to shadow include:

Specialty Last Name First Name Email
Adolescent/Primary Care Tomescu Oana Oana.Tomescu@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑

Orthopaedic Surgery

Faculty willing to allow students to shadow include:

Specialty Last Name First Name Email
Ortho Trauma Ahn Jaimo ahnj@upenn.edu
Ortho Trauma Donegan Derek donegand@upenn.edu
Hand Steinberg David david.steinberg@uphs.upenn.edu
Spine Milby Andrew andrew.milby@uphs.upenn.edu
Sports/Shoulder Kelly John D John.Kelly@uphs.upenn.edu
Sports Zgonis Miltiadis Miltiadis.Zgonis@uphs.upenn.edu
Shoulder & Elbow Huffman G Russell russell.huffman@uphs.upenn.edu
Pedi/Sports Wells Lawrence wellsl@email.chop.edu
Pedi, Non-op Deeney Vincent mmsmith@sas.upenn.edu
Pedi Spiegel David spiegeld@email.chop.edu
Pedi/Sports Lawrence J Todd lawrencej@email.chop.edu
Pedi/Neuromuscular Baldwin Keith Keith.Baldwin@uphs.upenn.edu
Arthroplasty Nelson Charles charles.nelson@uphs.upenn.edu
Arthroplasty Sheth Neil Neil.Sheth@uphs.upenn.edu
Foot & Ankle Farber Daniel Daniel.Farber@uphs.upenn.edu
Foot & Ankle O'Connor Kate Kathryn.O'connor@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑

Otorhinolaryngology

Faculty willing to allow students to shadow include:

Last Name First Name Email  
Mirza Natasha nmirza@mail.med.upenn.edu  
Abboud Soo Kim Soo.Kim-Abboud@uphs.upenn.edu  
Lee Jonathan jmlee2@mail.med.upenn.edu  
Newman Jason newmanj@uphs.upenn.edu  
Javia Luv javia@email.chop.edu  
Elden Lisa elden@email.chop.edu  
Dunham Brian dunhamb@email.chop.edu  
Chalian Ara chaliana@uphs.upenn.edu  
Eliades Steven seliades@mail.med.upenn.edu  
Adappa Nithin Nithin.Adappa@uphs.upenn.edu  

 

Close ↑

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Faculty willing to allow students to shadow include:

Specialty Last Name First Name Email
Womens health and sports medicine Casey Ellen ellcasey@mail.med.upenn.edu
Neurorehabilitation and traumatic brain injury care Swanson Randel Randel.Swanson@uphs.upenn.edu
Outpatient spinecare medicine Plastaras Chris Christopher.Plastaras@uphs.upenn.edu
Inpatient and outpatient rehabilitation experience Lenrow David DLENROW@MAIL.MED.UPENN.EDU
Inpatient and outpatient rehabilitation experience Caldera Frank Franklin.Caldera@uphs.upenn.edu
Spinal cord injury medicine inpatient/outpatient Berry Jessica Jessica.Berry@uphs.upenn.edu
Brain injury medicine and neurorehabilitation inpatient/outpatient Charles Jeremy jeremy.charles@uphs.upenn.edu
General rehabilitation McClure Matt Matthew.Mcclure@uphs.upenn.edu
Outpatient spine medicine Popescu Adrian Adrian.Popescu@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑

Surgery

Faculty willing to allow students to shadow include:

Specialty Last Name First Name Email
Colon & Rectal Surgery Aarons Cary Cary.Aarons@uphs.upenn.edu
Transplant Surgery Abt Peter peter.l.abt@uphs.upenn.edu
Gastrointestinal Surgery Bar Allen albar@pahosp.com
Cardiothoracic Surgery Bermudez Christian albar@pahosp.com
Trauma/ESS Surgery Braslow Benjamin benjamin.braslow@uphs.upenn.edu
Surgical Oncology Brooks Ari Ari.Brooks@uphs.upenn.edu
Hand Surgery Chang Benjamin changb@uphs.upenn.edu
Plastic Surgery Fischer John changb@uphs.upenn.edu
Vascular Surgery Foley Paul foleyp@uphs.upenn.edu
Gastrointestinal Surgery Harbison Sean Sean.Harbison@uphs.upenn.edu
Plastic Surgery Kovach Stephen stephen.kovach@uphs.upenn.edu
Trauma/ESS Surgery Martin Niels Niels.Martin@uphs.upenn.edu
Gastrointestinal Surgery Morris Jon morrisjo@uphs.upenn.edu
Thoracic Surgery Pechet Taine taine.pechet@uphs.upenn.edu
Breast Surgery Sataloff Dahlia Dahlia.Sataloff@uphs.upenn.edu
Colon & Rectal Surgery Saur Nicole Nicole.Saur@uphs.upenn.edu
Gastrointestinal Surgery Soriano Ian Ian.Soriano@uphs.upenn.edu
Breast Surgery Tchou Julia julia.tchou@uphs.upenn.edu
Plastic Surgery Wahrman Aron Aron.Wahrman@uphs.upenn.edu
Gastrointestinal Surgery Wernsing David David.Wernsing@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑

Master Clinicians Shadowing

As you may know, Penn Medicine’s Academy of Master Clinicians, established in 2013, was designed to honor those Penn Medicine physicians who are recognized as consistently outstanding clinicians. Election to the Academy of Master Clinicians is the highest honor to be bestowed on a Penn physician. A Master Clinician is distinguished by a superior depth of knowledge in the field and a willingness to pursue new knowledge; recognized for excellent judgment, integrity, and exemplary interpersonal and communication skills with patients and colleagues at all levels; a committed and supportive team player; treats all patients equally, acts as a patient advocate, and demonstrates compassion and empathy toward patients; an outstanding educator and serves as a role model and mentor who exemplifies the highest levels of professionalism; and positively influences the culture of Penn Medicine.
The members of the Academy have stated that interacting with med students on a one-on-one basis is a priority. In addition to acting as mentors to the members of the student houses, the Master Clinicians have established what we call the Open Access Program and have offered to work with students individually in the clinical environment. The goal of this program is to instill the type of service and dedication to clinical excellence in new physicians that has been recognized in these experienced clinicians. Below is a list of those participating and contact information. The list is long – please take advantage of access to these distinguished physicians. If you wish to spend time with any of these Master Clinicians, please contact them directly to set up a time.
With the understanding that primarily first-year students have the flexibility to take advantage of this program, all students are welcome to participate; in whatever form they find helpful, even setting up a “get to know you” meeting. We hope you take advantage of the opportunity to work with these outstanding physicians.

 

Michael Ashburn

Anesthesiology & Critical Care Penn Medicine at Rittenhouse

Michael.Ashburn@uphs.upenn.edu

Louis Bell

Pediatrics

BELLL@email.chop.edu

Emily Blumberg

Infectious Diseases

blumbere@mail.med.upenn.edu

Steven Brem

Neurosurgery

Steven.Brem@uphs.upenn.edu

Cabrina Campbell

VA – Inpatient Psychiatry

cabrina.campbell@va.gov

Stanley Caroff

VA - Psychiatry

Stanley.Caroff@va.gov

Joe Carver

Oncology

Joseph.Carver2@uphs.upenn.edu

Ara Chalian

Otorhinolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery

ChalianA@uphs.upenn.edu

Edward Dickinson

Emergency Medicine

Edward.Dickinson@uphs.upenn.edu

Jack Ende

Internal Medicine

Jack.ende@uphs.upenn.edu

Gary Freedman

Rad Onc

Gary.Freedman@uphs.upenn.edu

John Glick

Medical Oncology

glickjh@mail.med.upenn.edu

Stephen Gluckman

General Internal Medicine & Infectious Disease

Stephen.Gluckman@uphs.upenn.edu

Janice Hillman

Adolescent Medicine, Radnor

Janice.HillmanMD@uphs.upenn.edu

Craig Israelite

Orthopedic Surgery

craig.israelite@uphs.upenn.edu

Ellen Kim

Dermatology

Ellen.Kim@uphs.upenn.edu

Joshua Levine

Neurology – Neurocritical Care

jolevine@mail.med.upenn.edu

Jack Ludmir

Ob/Gyn

jaludm@uphs.upenn.edu

Stephen Ludwig

Pediatrics

LUDWIG@email.chop.edu

Natasha Mirza

Otorhinolaryngology

Natasha.Mirza@uphs.upenn.edu

Kathleen Montone

Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

Kathleen.Montone@uphs.upenn.edu

Amy Pruitt

Neurology

amy.pruitt@uphs.upenn.edu

Anne Reilly

Pediatrics

reillya@email.chop.edu

Richard Rutstein

Pediatrics

RUTSTEIN@email.chop.edu

Dahlia Sataloff

Endocrine and Oncologic Surgery Pennsylvania Hospital

Dahlia.Sataloff@uphs.upenn.edu

Joe Savino

Anesthesiology and Critical Care (Heart & Vascular ICU)

savinoj@uphs.upenn.edu

Brian Sennett

Orthopaedic Surgery

Brian.Sennett@uphs.upenn.edu

Don Siegel

Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

siegeld@mail.med.upenn.edu

John Stern Infectious Disease

Pennsylvania Hospital

John.Stern@uphs.upenn.edu

Ursina Teitelbaum

Hem-Onc

Ursina.Teitelbaum@uphs.upenn.edu

Gregory Tino

PPMC – Pulmonary (Chief of Medicine)

Gregory.Tino@uphs.upenn.edu

David Vaughn Oncology

David.Vaughn@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑

Radiation Oncology

Faculty willing to allow students to shadow include:

 

Specialty 

First Name 

Last Name 

Email 

CNS Michelle  Alonso-Basanta michelle.alonso-basanta@uphs.upenn.edu
Glioblastoma Robert Lustig robert.lustig@uphs.upenn.edu
Breast Gary Freedman gary.freedman@uphs.upenn.edu
Head and Neck Alex Lin alexander.lin2@uphs.upenn.edu
Head and Neck Nick  Lukens john.lukens@uphs.upenn.edu
Head and Neck Alireza  Fotouhi-Ghiam alireza.fotouhighiam@uphs.upenn.edu
GI Edgar  Ben-Josef edgar.ben-josef@uphs.upenn.edu
GU Neha Vapiwala neha.vapiwala@uphs.upenn.edu
GU John  Christodouleas john.christodouleas@uphs.upenn.edu
Proton Therapy John  Plastaras John.Plastaras2@uphs.upenn.edu
Pediatric Robert Lustig robert.lustig@uphs.upenn.edu
Pediatric Goldie  Kurtz goldie.kurtz@uphs.upenn.edu
Pediatric Chrissie Hill-Kayser hill@uphs.upenn.edu
Palliative Care Joshua Jones joshua.jones@uphs.upenn.edu
Pulmonary Keith  Cengel keith.cengel@uphs.upenn.edu
Pulmonary Abigail  Berman abigail.berman@uphs.upenn.edu
Pulmonary Steven  Feigenberg Steven.Feigenberg@uphs.upenn.edu
Big Data/NCDB/SEER/Health Policy Sam  Swisher-McClure samuel.swisher-mcclure2@uphs.upenn.edu
Big Data/NCDB/SEER/Health Policy Justin  Bekelman justin.bekelman@uphs.upenn.edu

 

Close ↑

Ophthalmology

 

 

Specialty Last Name First Name Email
Ophthalmology Sankar Prithvi Prithvi.Sankar@uphs.upenn.edu

Close ↑