The Christian J. Lambertsen Honorary Lecture

The Lambertsen Lecture recognizes the long and illustrious career of Christian J. Lambertsen, M.D. Dr. Lambertsen joined the faculty in the Department of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics in 1946 and became Professor of Pharmacology in 1953. In 1968, Dr. Lambertsen founded the Institute for Environmental Medicine and served as its Director until 1985. His research has focused on human atmospheric, undersea and aerospace environmental physiology and toxicology, and he is considered the "father of U.S. combat swimming". Dr. Lambertsen is the recipient of scores of prestigious awards and honors from the University, in addition to national, industrial and military organizations.

Previous Lecturers:

2016 Richard O. Hynes
2015 Brian Kobilka
2014 Hal C. Dietz
2013 Rudolf Jaenisch
2012 Guido Kroemer
2011 Salvador Moncada
2010 Richard P. Lifton
2009 Sir Paul Nurse
2008 Stephen O'Rahilly
2007  Marc Feldmann
2006  Bert W. O'Malley
2005  Carlo Patrono
2004  Jeffrey Friedman
2003  Susan S. Taylor
2002  Piero Anversa
2001  Judah Folkman
2000  Richard D. Palmiter
1999  Eva J. Neer
1998  Peter Goodfellow
1997  Christopher J. Marshall
1996  Tom Blundell
1995  Jan Ake Gustafsson
1994  Michel Hamon
1993  Joel Bockaert
1992  Josee E. Leysen
1991  Phillippe Ascher
1990  Salomon Z. Langer
1988  Eric A. Barnard
1987  Jacques Glowinski
1986  Hans Thoenen