Donald M. O'Rourke

faculty photo
Associate Professor of Neurosurgery
Faculty, Department of Neurosurgery, Penn Neurological Institute, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Faculty , Abramson Family Cancer Center, Cell and Development Biology Program, Translational Studies Program, University of Pennsylvania
Faculty, Department of Neurosurgery, Pennsylvania Hospital, UPHS
Founding Member, Center for Cancer Pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania
Director, Human Brain Tissue Bank, University of Pennsylvania
Associate Professor, Abramson Cancer Center, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Department: Neurosurgery

Contact information
HUP - 3 Silverstein
3400 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Office: 215-662-3490
Fax: 215-349-5534
A.B. (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
Harvard University (Magna Cum Laude), 1983.
M.D. (Medicine)
University of Pennsylvania, 1987.
M.A. (Arts)
University of Pennsylvania, 2002.
Permanent link

Description of Itmat Expertise

EGFR signaling and novel therapeutics and imaging in glioblastoma

Selected Publications

Chawla S, Krejza J, Vossough A, Zhang Y, Kapoor G S, Wang S, O'Rourke D M, Melhem E R, Poptani H: Differentiation between oligodendroglioma genotypes using dynamic susceptibility contrast perfusion-weighted imaging and proton MR spectroscopy. AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology 34(8): 1542-9, Aug 2013.

Zacharaki E I, Morita N, Bhatt P, O'Rourke D M, Melhem E R, Davatzikos C: Survival analysis of patients with high-grade gliomas based on data mining of imaging variables. AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology 33(6): 1065-71, Jun 2012.

Tykocinski Elana S, Grant Ryan A, Kapoor Gurpreet S, Krejza Jaroslaw, Bohman Leif-Erik, Gocke Timothy A, Chawla Sanjeev, Halpern Casey H, Lopinto Joanna, Melhem Elias R, O'Rourke Donald M: Use of magnetic perfusion-weighted imaging to determine epidermal growth factor receptor variant III expression in glioblastoma. Neuro-oncology 14(5): 613-23, May 2012.

Lu Chao, Ward Patrick S, Kapoor Gurpreet S, Rohle Dan, Turcan Sevin, Abdel-Wahab Omar, Edwards Christopher R, Khanin Raya, Figueroa Maria E, Melnick Ari, Wellen Kathryn E, O'Rourke Donald M, Berger Shelley L, Chan Timothy A, Levine Ross L, Mellinghoff Ingo K, Thompson Craig B: IDH mutation impairs histone demethylation and results in a block to cell differentiation. Nature 483(7390): 474-8, Mar 2012.

Wade Alisha N, Baccon Jennifer, Grady M Sean, Judy Kevin D, O'Rourke Donald M, Snyder Peter J: Clinically silent somatotroph adenomas are common. European journal of endocrinology / European Federation of Endocrine Societies 165(1): 39-44, Jul 2011.

Wang S, Kim S, Chawla S, Wolf R L, Knipp D E, Vossough A, O'Rourke D M, Judy K D, Poptani H, Melhem E R: Differentiation between glioblastomas, solitary brain metastases, and primary cerebral lymphomas using diffusion tensor and dynamic susceptibility contrast-enhanced MR imaging. AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology 32(3): 507-14, Mar 2011.

Chawla Sanjeev, Zhang Yu, Wang Sumei, Chaudhary Sangeeta, Chou Chou, O'Rourke Donald M, Vossough Arastoo, Melhem Elias R, Poptani Harish: Proton magnetic resonance spectroscopy in differentiating glioblastomas from primary cerebral lymphomas and brain metastases. Journal of computer assisted tomography 34(6): 836-41, Nov-Dec 2010.

Kapoor G S, O'Rourke D M: SIRPalpha1 receptors interfere with the EGFRvIII signalosome to inhibit glioblastoma cell transformation and migration. Oncogene 29(29): 4130-44, Jul 2010.

Chawla S, Oleaga L, Wang SM, Krejza J, Wolf RL, Woo JH, O'Rourke DM, Judy KD, Grady MS, Melhem ER, Poptani H: Role of Proton Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy in Differentiating Oligodendrogliomas from Astrocytomas. J Neuroimaging 20(1): 3-8, Jan 2010.

Ayuso-Sacido A, Moliterno JA, Kratovac S, Kapoor GS, O'Rourke DM, Holland EC, GarcĂ­a-Verdugo JM, Roy NS, Boockvar JA: Activated EGFR signaling increases proliferation, survival, and migration and blocks neuronal differentiation in post-natal neural stem cells. J Neurooncol Page: In press, 2010.

back to top
Last updated: 09/19/2012
The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania