Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Leo Leung Orthopaedic Surgery Society

Notable Alumni

Notable Alumni

  • William H. Harris, MD (1951): Salter-Harris fracture and Harris Hip Score
  • Victor Frankel, MD, PhD (1951): Former Chair of the Hospital for Joint Diseases Department of Orthopaedic Surgery (NYU), “Father” of Orthopaedic Biomechanics
  • Liebe Sokol Diamond, MD (1955): Co-Founder, Pediatric Orthopedic Society of North America; first female Orthopedic Surgery resident at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Carl T. Brighton, MD (1957): Former Chair of Penn Orthopaedic Surgery and Editor-in-Chief of CORR
  • Marvin E. Steinberg, MD (1958): Steinberg classification of AVN
  • Henry R. Cowell, MD, PhD (1958): Former Editor-In-Chief of The Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery
  • David C. Cottrell, MD (1959): Cottrell sling
  • David S. Bradford, MD (1962): Professor and Chair Emeritus at University of California, San Francisco
  • Robert Booth, Jr, MD (1971): World’s most experienced Total Knee Arthroplasty surgeon
  • Richard D. Lackman, MD (1977): Former Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at University of Pennsylvania
  • James H. Lubowitz, MD (1988): Editor-in-chief of Arthroscopy: The Journal of Arthroscopic and Related Surgery & Arthroscopy Techniques
  • Alexander Y. Shin (1990): Former Director of Mayo Clinic Hand and Microvascular Fellowship
  • Richard H. Rothman, MD, PhD: Founder of Rothman Orthopaedic Institute, Developed Stryker Accolade Total Hip Replacement System
  • Charles S. Neer, MD: Neer Classification for Proximal Humerus Fractures, Founding President of the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons, Founding Chairman of the Board of Trustees of The Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery

Department or Educational Chairs

  • Scott Boden, MD (1986): Emory University School of Medicine
  • Howard Chansky, MD (1987): University of Washington School of Medicine
  • Sam W. Wiesel, MD (1971): Georgetown University School of Medicine, Dean Clinical Affairs at Georgetown, Wiesel’s Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Jaimo Ahn, MD, PhD (2003): University of Michigan School of Medicine, Associate Chair for Education, Chief of Orthopaedic Trauma, and Gehring Professor (

Residency Program Directors

  • Gene Shaffer, MD (1994): Albert Einstein Healthcare Network
  • David Fuller, MD (1991): Cooper Medical School of Rowan University