PennPORT

Current Fellows


Cohort 12

Kristian Saied-Santiago, Ph.D.

Kristian Saied-Santiago, Ph.D.
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
 ksaied@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Identifying molecular pathways required for optic nerve regeneration in vivo.



Cohort 13

Joseph Zinski, Ph.D.

Joseph Zinski, Ph.D.
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
 jzinski@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to determine how the dynamics of transcriptional bursting are affected by histone post-translational modifications (eg. acetylation, methylation).

 


Patrick Cherubin, Ph.D.

Patrick Cherubin, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology
 patrick.cherubin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: To understand and elucidate key interactions between viruses and their host cells as a basis for therapeutic and prophylactic strategies.

 



Cohort 14

Aimee Farria, Ph.D.

Aimee Farria, Ph.D.
Department of Cancer Biology
 Aimee.Farria@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Investigating the metabolism-epigenetics link in pancreatic cancer.


Steven Foltz, Ph.D.

Steven Foltz, Ph.D.
Department of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics
 steven.foltz@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Pediatric cancer genomics and metadata prediction from publicly-available gene expression compendia.


Alex Harris, Ph.D.

Alex Harris, Ph.D.
Department of Genetics
 alex.harris@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Understanding the microbiome is key to understanding the health of any population, and I am particularly interested in approaching this topic from a metabolic perspective.



Cohort 15

Rebecca Clements, Ph.D.

Rebecca Clements, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology
 rebecca.clements@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: My research focuses on understanding complex immune responses to pathogens at the maternal-fetal interface.


Linamarie Miller, Ph.D.

Linamarie Miller, Ph.D.
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
 Linamarie.Miller@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Molecular mechanisms of RNA binding for the prion-like domain containing protein TDP-43.


Ashley Woolfork, Ph.D.

Ashley Woolfork, Ph.D.
Deptartment of Pharmacology
 ashley.woolfork@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I use desorption electrospray ionization mass spectrometry imaging (DESI-MSI) as a tool to predict COVID specific genes from pre and post infection serum samples of asymptomatic and symptomatic patients.


Camila Barrios-Camacho, Ph.D.

Camila Barrios-Camacho, Ph.D.
Department of Neuroscience
 camila.barrioscamacho@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: My project explores how the intracellular domain (ICD) of the Frazzled/DCC receptor functions as a non-canonical transcription factor to shape gene regulatory networks underlying midline axonal crossing in Drosophila melanogaster.


Joshua Eggold, Ph.D.

Joshua Eggold, Ph.D.
Department of Pathology
 joshua.eggold@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: My research focuses on developing new therapies for ovarian cancer using chimeric antigen receptor T cells, specifically looking at ways to target macrophages and other immune components of the tumor microenvironment. 



Cohort 16

Helen Schmidt, Ph.D.

Helen Schmidt, Ph.D.
Department of Genetics
 schmidth@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I am using the C. elegans vulva as a model dissect mechanisms controlling cell type specific apical extracellular matrix assembly during epithelial tube formation.


© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | Privacy Policy | Site Design: DART Web Team.