PennPORT

Current Fellows


Cohort 11

Sara Roberson, Ph.D.

Sara Roberson, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Developmental Biology
 sarob@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: The mechanisms that underlie aging of a stem cell niche of the Drosophilia testis 

 

Lisa Bottalico, Ph.D.

Lisa Bottalico, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology
 bottlisa@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Investigating the effect of environmental exposures on circadian metabolism. 



Cohort 12

Kaitlin Laws, Ph.D.

Kaitlin Laws, Ph.D.
Department of Neuroscience
 klaws@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Defining the Molecular Determinants of Drosophila Motor Neuron maintenance.


Lyndsay Avery, Ph.D.

Lyndsay Avery, Ph.D.
Department of Pathology
  averyl@email.chop.edu

Research Topic: Understand the effects of mutual moesin protein on the function of the immune system.


Andrew Matamoros, Ph.D.

Andrew Matamoros, Ph.D.
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
 matamorosa@email.chop.edu

Research Topic: I am using a drosophila in vivo injury model to study nerve regeneration using a two-photon and confocal microscope.


John Drazan, Ph.D.

John Drazan, Ph.D.
Department of Orthopedic Research
 john.drazan2@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: The development of mobile, low-cost biomechanics equipment to study the development of musculoskeletal pathology in active youth and adult sport players within the community.


Kristian Saied-Santiago, Ph.D.

Kristian Saied-Santiago, Ph.D.
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
 ksaied@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Identifying molecular pathways required for optic nerve regeneration in vivo.


Ray Saunders, Jr., Ph.D.

Ray Saunders, Jr., Ph.D.
Department of Pathobiology
 rks@vet.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Developing and characterizing methods for delivery of Trefoil factors 2 and 3 to the gastrointestinal tract.



Cohort 13

Joseph Zinski, Ph.D.

Joseph Zinski, Ph.D.
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
 jzinski@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to determine how the dynamics of transcriptional bursting are affected by histone post-translational modifications (eg. acetylation, methylation).

 


Kathryn Hacker, Ph.D.

Kathryn Hacker, Ph.D.
Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Informatics
 kathryn.hacker@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I am investigating the efficacy of public policy interventions and surveillance practices for controlling arthropod populations of public health significance in complex urban environments.


Dave Marzan, Ph.D.

Dave Marzan, Ph.D.
Department of Psychiatry
 dave.marzan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to better understand the functional consequences of HDLS mutations and to develop a microglia replacement system for the treatment of neurological disease.


Viridiana Herrera, Ph.D.

Viridiana Herrera, Ph.D.
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
 viridiana.herrera@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I aim to understand the interactions between Aurora B, components of the chromosome passenger complex, and centromeric chromatin.


Angel Solis, Ph.D.

Angel Solis, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology
 angel.solis@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: To identify novel regulators of immunity in the intestinal microbiome.


Jasmine Alexander-Floyd, Ph.D.

Jasmine Alexander-Floyd, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology
 alexanja@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: To investigate how diverse lipopolysaccharide (LPS) structures are recognized by macrophages and activate the human non-canonical inflammasome pathway.


Patrick Cherubin, Ph.D.

Patrick Cherubin, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology
 patrick.cherubin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: To understand and elucidate key interactions between viruses and their host cells as a basis for therapeutic and prophylactic strategies.

 


Edward Waddell, Ph.D.

Edward Waddell, Ph.D.
Department of Neuroscience
 edward.waddell@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: I will be using Drosiphila melanogaster to investigate the mechanisms regulating neuronal morphogenesis.

 

 

 

 



Cohort 14

Aimee Farria, Ph.D.

Aimee Farria, Ph.D.
Department of Cancer Biology
 Aimee.Farria@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Investigating the metabolism-epigenetics link in pancreatic cancer.


Steven Foltz, Ph.D.

Steven Foltz, Ph.D.
Department of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics
 steven.foltz@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Pediatric cancer genomics and metadata prediction from publicly-available gene expression compendia.


Erica Gorenberg, Ph.D.

Erica Gorenberg, Ph.D.
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
 erica.gorenberg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Identification of factors affecting yeast disaggregase and chaperone protein function.


Jasmine Peake, Ph.D.

Jasmine Peake, Ph.D.
Department of Cancer Biology
 peakej@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Utilizing methods of replication fork retrieval to understand responses to ATRi-PARPi treatment.


Alex Harris, Ph.D.

Alex Harris, Ph.D.
Department of Genetics
 alex.harris@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Topic: Understanding the microbiome is key to understanding the health of any population, and I am particularly interested in approaching this topic from a metabolic perspective.


© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | Privacy Policy | Site Design: PMACS Web Team.