Personnel


Principal Investigator

Garret A. FitzGerald, MD, FRS

Garret A. FitzGerald, MD, FRS
 garret@upenn.edu
 215-898-1185

Dr. FitzGerald's research has been characterized by an integrative approach to elucidating the mechanisms of drug action, drawing on work in cells, model organisms and humans. His work contributed substantially to the development of low-dose aspirin for cardioprotection. FitzGerald's lab was the first to predict and then mechanistically explain the cardiovascular hazard from NSAIDs. He has also discovered many products of lipid peroxidation and established their utility as indices of oxidant stress in vivo. His laboratory was the first to discover a molecular clock in the cardiovascular system and has studied the importance of peripheral clocks in the regulation of cardiovascular and metabolic function.


Faculty

Tilo Grosser, MD

Tilo Grosser, MD
Research Associate Professor
 tilo@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 215-573-7600

Research Expertise: Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)

Emanuela Ricciotti, PharmD, PhD

Emanuela Ricciotti, PharmD, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
 emanuela@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 215-898-9391

Research Expertise: Genomic, proteomic and metabolomics analysis of inflammatory pathways in vascular cells.


Staff

LaVenia Banas

LaVenia Banas
Clinical Research Nurse
 banas@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Susanne Fries

Susanne Fries
Research Investigator, Senior
 fries@upenn.edu

Taylor Hollingsworth

Taylor Hollingsworth
Research Specialist A
 taylor.hollingsworth@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research interests: circadian biology, metabolism, and aging

Ryan McConnell

Ryan McConnell
Research Specialist A
 ryan.mcconnell@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research interests: The role of diet and NSAIDs in the modulation of cardiovascular inflammation

George Paschos, PhD

George Paschos, PhD
Research Investigator, Senior
 gpaschos@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 215-898-8360

Research Expertise: Circadian regulation of metabolism

Carsten C. Skarke, MD

Carsten C. Skarke, MD
Research Investigator, Senior
 cskarke@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 215-662-7186

Research Expertise: Human Clock Biology and Human Phenomics

Sarah Teegarden

Sarah Teegarden
Associate Director / Lab Manager
 sarahtee@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Circadian rhythms, fitness, and metabolism

Weili Yan

Weili Yan
Research Specialist C
 weiliyan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Small animal surgical models

Soon Yew Tang

Soon Yew Tang
Research Investigator, Senior
 tangsoon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: The role of prostaglandins in cardiometabolic function


Postdocs

Soumita Ghosh

Soumita Ghosh
Research Associate
 soumita@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Interindividual variability of NSAID pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics

Abbie Glascock

Abbie Glascock
Postdoc Researcher
 Abigail.Glascock@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Gut microbiome and drug metabolism

Liz Hennessy

Liz Hennessy
Research Associate
 ehenn@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Long non-coding RNAs as regulators of cardiovascular disease and inflammation

Ronan Lordan

Ronan Lordan
Postdoc Researcher
 ronan.lordan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Circadian dysfunction, aging, and metabolism

Luda Mazaleuskaya

Luda Mazaleuskaya
Research Associate
 mazali@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Lipidomics, pharmacology of NSAIDs, cyclooxygenase and mPGES-1 biology

Hu Meng

Hu Meng
Postdoc Researcher
 menghu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Proteomics in circadian biology, systems biology of prostaglandins, liquid chromatography - mass spectrometry

Katie Theken

Katie Theken
Research Associate
 ktheken@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: Interindividual variability in NSAID response, dose-dependent effects of COX-2 deletion


Students

Kayla Barekat

Kayla Barekat
PhD Student - Pharmacology
 kbarekat@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interests: NSAID-microbiome interactions and gastroenteropathy

© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | Privacy Policy | Site Design: DART Web Team.