Society for Clinical Research Coordination and Management

Congratulations to Our 2021 Recipients and Nominees!

All nominees for CARE Award 2021 are listed on the event program
  • Rising Star — Abby Dolan, Department of Emergency Medicine 
  • Leading Edge — Rachel Feuerstein-Simon, MPA, MPH, Family Medicine (Center for Public Health Initiatives)
  • Lifetime Achievement — Debbra A. Grier BSN, RN, MBA, CCRP, Nephrology


Categories for the C.A.R.E. Awards

Rising Star Award

Clinical research support staff members who have at least 2 years of clinical research experience are eligible to be nominated for this award. The award recognizes individuals who have who have demonstrated initiative, motivation, maturity, professionalism and attention to detail in the pursuit of their responsibilities.  Additionally this person should have excellent communication, organizational and interpersonal skills that are likely to lead to a successful career within the Penn clinical research community.

Leading Edge in Clinical Research Award 

The Leading Edge in Clinical Research Award recognizes an individual who exemplifies the spirit of ingenuity and inventiveness within clinical research through adaptation, enhancement, and development of new processes /approaches that result in improvement to the clinical research execution. This person has demonstrated the ability to consistently approach research with creativity and zeal, shown a willingness to assume additional responsibilities/roles and has demonstrated an impressive body of clinical and regulatory research skills. 

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a clinical research professional who during their lifetime at Penn has made consistently superior contributions of outstanding significance to the field of clinical research at the University of Pennsylvania.  This award recognizes that the scope of clinical research is diverse and requires the input and effort of a wide variety of individuals.  The awardee will have demonstrated tremendous experience in the clinical, regulatory and/or financial aspects of the clinical research profession and has contributed to training the next generation of clinical research professionals.


Past Recipients





Sage L Rush Psychiatry Rising Star 2019
Radhakrishna Kallem Renal — Research Investigator Leading Edge 2019
Lisa Nessel MSS, MLSP Department of Medicine Lifetime 2019
Danielle D. Weinberg, M.P.H Neonatology Rising Star 2018
Jaqueline Boccanfuso Neuroengineering & Therapeutics Leading Edge 2018
Denise Cifelli, M.S. CR Computing Unit  Life Time Achievement 2018
Daniela Sacchetti Neurology  Rising Star 2017
Arden McAllister OBGyn and Family Planning Leading Edge 2017
Frances M. Pack, RN, CCRC Circadian Neurobiology Life Time Achievement 2017
Maria Martin Neurology/ Multiple Sclerosis Rising Star 2016
Angela Sheridan Renal, Electrolyte and Hypertension Leading Edge 2016
Eileen M. Maloney-Wilensky Neurosurgery  Life Time Achievement 2016
Brian Rice Rheumatology Rising Star 2015
Asma Chudhary Pediatrics HUP Leading Edge 2015
Kelly Timbers  Womens Health Research Center Life Time Achievement 2015
Erin Gilroy Epidemiology Rising Star 2014
Katherine E. Lamond Emergency Medicine Leading Edge 2014
Joe H. Quinn Infectious Diseases  Life Time Achievement 2014
Lisa Desiderio Radiology Life Time Achievement 2013
Suzanne Frangos Neurosurgery Life Time Achievement 2012
Lisa Gardo Pulmonary Life Time Achievement 2011
Jennifer Goldfarb Dermatology Life Time Achievement 2010
Joyce Okawa Dermatology Life Time Achievement 2009
Annamarie Horan Orthopaedic Surgery Life Time Achievement 2008
Joan DuPont Ophthalmology Life Time Achievement 2007