Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

AEREO: The Consortium to Advance Effective Research Ethics Oversight

Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago

Angela Bain, CIP, CIM

Assistant Director, Human Subjects
Office of Research
University of Georgia

John R. Baumann, PhD

Associate Vice President for Research Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University

Lydia Bazzano, MD, PhD, CIP

Vice Chair, IRB
Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine
Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine

Barbara Bierer, MD

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Professor of Medicine 
Harvard Medical School 
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston

Laura Brosch, RN, PhD

Assistant Vice President for Research Initiatives and Compliance
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Quincy J. Byrdsong, EdD, CIP, CCRP

Associate Vice President for Research Administration
WellStar Research Institute
WellStar Health System 

Brooke Cholka, PhD, MA, CIP

IRB Specialist
University of Nevada, Reno

Mary K. Clancy, MSN, CCRC, CIP

Director, Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute

Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Anne K. Clark, CIP

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch

Carl Coleman, JD

Professor of Law 
Seton Hall Law School

Liza Dawson, PhD, MA

Chief of Bioethics
Institutional Review Board Chair
Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Barbara DeCausey, MPH, MBA

HRPP Director
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Julie Doherty, DM, MSN, RN,CIP, CCEP

Director, Human Research Protections Program 
Office of Accountability & Compliance, Human Research Protections Office
University of Maryland Baltimore

Whitney Eriksen, PhD, RN

Senior Research Coordinator
Mixed Methods Research Lab
University of Pennsylvania

Laverne Estanol, M.S., CIP, CIM

Director, Office of Research Compliance Administration
University of California, Santa Cruz

Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP

Associate Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Michelle Feige, MSW, LCSW-C

Executive Vice-President 

Jody Ference, MS, CIP

Director, Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Phoebe Friesen, PhD

Assistant Professor
McGill University  

Eric Garcia, MS

National Research Compliance Officer
Kaiser Permanente
Kaiser Foundation Research Institute

George Gasparis

The PEER Consulting Group

Luke Gelinas, PhD

Board Chair

Senior Advisor 
MRCT Center  

Jonathan Green, MD

Office of Human Subjects Research Protections
National Institutes of Health

Sarah Greene, MPH

Executive Director
Health Care Systems Research Network

Karen Hansen

Director, Institutional Review Office
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

David A. Heagerty, CIP

Associate Director, Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania

Elisa A. Hurley, PhD

Executive Director 

Eriko Iwatate, MPH, MA

Senior Regulatory Associate
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Richard James, MLIS

Nursing Liaison Librarian 
Biomedical Library 
University of Pennsylvania
PCORI Ambassador, Delaware

Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP

Associate Director of Regulatory Affairs, Clinical Science Research and Development
Office of Research and Development
Veterans Health Administration 

Sana Khoury-Shakour, PhD

Director, Office of Research Compliance Review
University of Michigan

Molly Klote, MD, CIP

Director, Office of Research Protections, Policy, and Education
Office of Research Development 
Veterans Health Administration

Lisa M. Lee, PhD, MA, MS

Associate Vice President for Scholarly Integrity & Research Compliance
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP

Senior Director, Research Ethics & Quality 
University of Arizona

Lindsay McNair, MD, MPH, MSB

Chief Medical Officer
WIRB-Copernicus Group

Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP

Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona

Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD

Assistant Professor 
Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System

Karen Moe, PhD

Director, Human Subjects Division
Assistant Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington

Tammy Neseth, MA, CCRP, CIP

Operations Manager - IRB
Mayo Clinic

Genevieve L. Nesom, MPH, MBE

Ethics & Integrity Manager, US
Taylor & Francis Group

Jon Newlin, CIP

Assistant Director
Human Research Protection Program
Northwell Health

Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD

Senior Clinical Research Associate
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

Parker Nolen, MBA, DPS(c)

Prime Review Board

Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC

Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Courtney Olson, MS

Manager, Process Improvement 
Human Subjects Protection Program
University of Arizona

Linda Parreco, RN, MS

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute

Cheri Pettey

Director, Social and Behavioral Sciences IRB
University of Chicago 

Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University

Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA


Erin Rothwell, PhD

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity & Compliance
Professor, Department of Ob/Gyn, School of Medicine
University of Utah

Rebecca Rousselle, CIP

Director, Institutional Review Board
Emory University

Jessica Rowe, MA, MS, CCRP

Human Research Protections Program Manager
Emig Research Center
WellSpan Health

Toby Schonfeld, PhD

Executive Director 
National Center for Excellence in Health Care
Veterans Administration

Ada Sue Selwitz, MA

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky

Kimberley Serpico, MEd, CIP

Associate Director of IRB Operations
Office of Regulatory Affairs and Research Compliance
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Andrea Seykora, JD

Research Compliance Manager
Kaiser Permanente
Center for Health Research

Ryan Spellecy, PhD

Ursula von der Ruhr Professor of Bioethics and Assistant Provost for Research
Director, Human Research Protection Program
Medical College of Wisconsin

Carolyn E. Stevens, MBE

IRB Analyst
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

David Strauss, MD

Special Lecturer
Columbia University Department of Psychiatry

Senior Advisor
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Elyse I. Summers, JD

President and CEO 

Emma Tumilty, PhD

Lecturer in Health Ethics and Professionalism
School of Medicine, Faculty of Health
Deakin University – Warun Ponds, Geelong, Australia

Dawn Underwood, PhD

Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance
Oklahoma State University

R. Scott Wright, MD

Director of HRPP Program
Chair of the Institutional Review Board
Mayo Clinic