Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

AEREO: The Consortium to Advance Effective Research Ethics Oversight

Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH
 emanderson@luc.edu

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago
 


Angela Bain, CIP, CIM
 abain@uga.edu

Assistant Director, Human Subjects
Office of Research
University of Georgia
 


John R. Baumann, PhD 
 baumannj@iu.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University
 


Lydia Bazzano, MD, PhD, CIP
 lbazzano@ochsner.org

Vice Chair, IRB
Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine
Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine


Barbara Bierer, MD
 bbierer@bwh.harvard.edu

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Professor of Medicine 
Harvard Medical School 
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston
 


Mary K. Clancy, MSN, CCRC, CIP
 mkclancy@houstonmethodist.org

Director, Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute
 


Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH
 Justin.Clapp@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
 


Anne K. Clark, CIP
 akclark@utmb.edu

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch


Carl Coleman, JD
 carl.coleman@shu.edu

Professor of Law 
Seton Hall Law School
 


Liza Dawson, PhD, MA
 Liza.Dawson.civ@mail.mil

Chief of Bioethics
Institutional Review Board Chair
Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
 


Whitney Eriksen, PhD, RN
 Whitney.Eriksen@uphs.upenn.edu

Senior Research Coordinator
Mixed Methods Research Lab
University of Pennsylvania
 


Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP
 Joshua.fedewa@utsouthwestern.edu

Associate Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Jody Ference, MS, CIP
 jody.l.ference.civ@mail.mil

Director, Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
 


Phoebe Friesen, PhD
 phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca

Assistant Professor
McGill University  
 


Eric Garcia, MS
 Eric.F.Garcia@kp.org

National Research Compliance Officer
Kaiser Permanente
Kaiser Foundation Research Institute
 


Richard L. Gorman, MD
 Rgorman137@aol.com

Former Interim Director of IRB Operations
Intramural Research Program
National Institutes of Health 
[Retired]


Jonathan Green, MD
 jonathan.green3@nih.gov

Director
Office of Human Subjects Research Protections
National Institutes of Health


Sarah Greene, MPH
 Sarah.M.Greene@HealthPartners.com

Executive Director
Health Care Systems Research Network
 


David A. Heagerty, CIP
 heagerty@upenn.edu

Associate Director, Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania


Karen Hansen
 khansen@fredhutch.org

Director, Institutional Review Office
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center


Elisa A. Hurley, PhD
 ehurley@primr.org

Executive Director 
PRIM&R


Eriko Iwatate, MPH, MA
 eriko.iwatate@utsouthwestern.edu

Senior Regulatory Associate
UT Southwestern Medical Center
 


Richard James, MLIS
 rjame@pobox.upenn.edu

Nursing Liaison Librarian 
Biomedical Library 
University of Pennsylvania
PCORI Ambassador, Delaware
 


Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP
 c.karen.jeans@va.gov

Associate Director of Regulatory Affairs, Clinical Science Research and Development
Office of Research and Development
Veterans Health Administration 


Lisa M. Lee, PhD, MA, MS
 LMLee@vt.edu

Associate Vice President for Scholarly Integrity & Research Compliance
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP
 marshm@email.arizona.edu

Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona


Lindsay McNair, MD, MPH, MSB
 lmcnair@wcgclinical.com

Chief Medical Officer
WIRB-Copernicus Group


Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP
 melton1@email.arizona.edu

Associate Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona


Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD
 mmeyer@geisinger.edu

Assistant Professor 
Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System


Karen Moe, PhD
 kemoe@uw.edu

Director, Human Subjects Division
Assistant Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington
 


Tammy Neseth, MA, CCRP, CIP
 Neseth.Tammy@mayo.edu

Operations Manager - IRB
Mayo Clinic


Jon Newlin, CIP
 jnewlin@northwell.edu

Assistant Director
Human Research Protection Program
Northwell Health
 


Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD
 snicholls@ohri.ca

Senior Clinical Research Associate
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute


Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC
 Rhonda.Oilepo@UTSouthwestern.edu

Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Linda Parreco, RN, MS
 parrecol@mail.nih.gov

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute


Cheri Pettey
 cpettey@uchicago.edu

Director, Social and Behavioral Sciences IRB
University of Chicago 


Mitchell Parrish, JD, RAC, CIP
 mitchell.parrish@advarra.com

Vice President, Regulatory
Advarra 
 


Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD
 vrahim@stanford.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University
 


Suzanne M. Rivera, PhD
 smr140@case.edu

Vice President for Research
Office of Research and Technology Management
Associate Professor
Department of Bioethics, School of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University


Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA
 srosenfeld@me.com

Independent


Erin Rothwell, PhD
 erin.rothwell@hsc.utah.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity & Compliance
Professor, Department of Ob/Gyn, School of Medicine
University of Utah
 


Laura Samuell, MS
 Samuell.Laura@mayo.edu

Research Administrator
Institutional Review Board
Mayo Clinic


Ada Sue Selwitz, MA
 ada.selwitz@uky.edu

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky


Andrea Seykora, JD
 Andrea.M.Seykora@kpchr.org

Research Compliance Manager
Kaiser Permanente
Center for Health Research


David Strauss, MD
 dhs2@cumc.columbia.edu

Special Lecturer
Columbia University Department of Psychiatry

Director of Research
Austen Riggs Center


Emma Tumilty, PhD

Lecturer in Health Ethics and Professionalism
School of Medicine, Faculty of Health
Deakin University – Warun Ponds, Geelong, Australia


Dawn Underwood, PhD
 dawn.underwood@okstate.edu

Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance
Oklahoma State University


R. Scott Wright, MD
 wright.scott@mayo.edu

Director of HRPP Program
Chair of the Institutional Review Board
Mayo Clinic