Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH

 emanderson@luc.edu

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago

Angela Bain, CIP, CIM

 Bain.116@osu.edu

Research Protocol Analyst 2
Ohio State University

John R. Baumann, PhD

 baumannj@iu.edu

Associate Vice President for Research and Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University

Jennifer Bell, MA, PhD

 Jennifer.bell2@uhn.ca

Senior Bioethicist - Department of Clinical and Organizational Ethics, Research Scientist - Department of Supportive Care
Research Division, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Education Investigator 2
TIER (The Institute for Education Research), University Health Network

Barbara Bierer, MD

 bbierer@bwh.harvard.edu

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston

Jessica Blackburn, MPH, CIP

 jessica.blackburn@emory.edu

Senior Education and QA Research Protocol Analyst
Emory University IRB

Elizabeth Buchanan, PhD, CIP

 elizabeth.buchanan@gmail.com

Stephanie Cargill, PhD, MSPH

 stephanie.cargill@slu.edu

Associate Professor of Health Care Ethics
College of Arts & Sciences, Center for Health Care Ethics
Saint Louis University

Angela Cartmell-McGlyn, PhD, CIP

 ac2200@research.rutgers.edu

Senior Research Project Manager
Rutgers Human Research Protection Program (HRPP)
Rutgers University Office for Research

Swapnali Chaudhari, MBBS, MS, CIP

 Swapnali.chaudhari@rutgers.edu

IRB Assistant Director
Rutgers Institutional Review Board
Rutgers University

Brooke Cholka, PhD, MA, CIP

 cbc4001@med.cornell.edu

Human Research QA & Education Manager
Weill Cornell Medicine

Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH

 Justin.Clapp@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Anne K. Clark, CIP

 akclark@utmb.edu

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch

Michelle Daiss, CIP

 daiss.michelle@mayo.edu

Supervisor, IRB Research
Office for Human Research Protection, Mayo Clinic

Cheryl M. Danton MHS, CIP

 cdanton@uchicago.edu

IRB Managing Director
Social Behavioral Sciences (SBS)
University of Chicago

Maria Davila, MD, MA (Bioethics), CCRC, CIP

 maria.davila@emory.edu

Director - Office of Research Integrity and Compliance (ORIC)
Deputy Research Integrity Officer - Research Compliance and Regulatory Affairs (RCRA)
Emory University

Liza Dawson, PhD, MA

 Liza.Dawson.civ@mail.mil

Chief of Bioethics Institutional Review Board
Chair Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Elizabeth Dayag, MLS-PA, CIP

 elizabeth.a.dayag.civ@health.mil

Institutional Review Board Manager
Research Subject Protection Division
Defense Health Agency, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth

Barbara DeCausey, MPH, MBA

 bdecausey@vt.edu

HRPP Director
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Malica T. Dock, CCRP

 malica.dock@rutgers.edu

Assistant Director
Institutional Review Board
Office for Research, Rutgers University

Julie Doherty, DM, MSN, RN,CIP, CCEP

 jdoherty@umaryland.edu

Director - Human Research Protections Program 
Office of Accountability & Compliance, Human Research Protections Office
University of Maryland Baltimore

Keren Dunn, CIP

 keren.dunn@cshs.org

Executive Director
Research Compliance & Quality Improvement
Cedars-Sinai Hospital System

Jake Earl, PhD

 jacobcearl@gmail.com

Director, Research, Innovation and Data Ethics
National Center for Ethics in Healthcare
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Jake Eberts

 jake.eberts@1daysooner.org

Communications Director
1Day Sooner

Lisa Eckstein, MHL, SJD

 lisa.eckstein@utas.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Law and Medicine/Health Law
University of Tasmania

Carley Emerson, MS, CIP

 Carley_Emerson@unc.edu

Director
Office of Human Research Ethics (OHRE)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Marilyn Eshikena, MS, CIP

 marilyn.eshikena@mssm.edu

IRB Manager
Program for the Protection of Human Subjects (PPHS)
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Tamiko Eto, MS, CIP

 etohtamiko@gmail.com

HRPP/IRB Director
Mayo Clinic

Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP

 jofedewa@med.umich.edu

Director, IRBMED
University of Michigan

Michelle Feige, MSW, LCSW-C

 mfeige@aahrpp.org

Executive Vice-President 
AAHRPP 

Jody Ference, MS, CIP

 jody.l.ference.civ@mail.mil

Director
Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Kelly Fitzgerald, PhD

 KFitzGerald@wirb.com

IRB Executive Chair and VP IBC Affairs
WCG IRB

Phoebe Friesen, PhD

 phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca

Assistant Professor
McGill University  

Purna Garimella, MS, CIP, RAC

 purnag@med.umich.edu

Assistant Director, IRBMED
University of Michigan Medical School

George Gasparis

 george@peercg.com

President
The PEER Consulting Group

Luke Gelinas, PhD

 Luke.Gelinas@advarra.com

Senior IRB Chair Director
Advarra

Bruce Gordon, MD

 bgordon@unmc.edu

Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Regulatory Affairs
Executive Chairman - Institutional Review Boards
Professor - Pediatrics Hematology/Oncology
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Nicole Grant, RN, BSN, MPH

 grantn@mail.nih.gov

Associate Director
OHSRP / Executive Chair
National Institutes of Health

James Griffith, PhD, CIP

IRB Manager
 james.griffith2@cgu.edu

Claremont Graduate University

Sonya Hadrigan, APRN, CIP

Director
 smhadrigan@houstonmethodist.org

Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute 
Houston Methodist Hospital

Pamela Hall, EdD, PMP

Senior Research Award Administrator, IRB Officer
 phall@cau.edu

Research and Sponsored Programs
Clark Atlanta University

Lauren AJ Hartsmith, JD, CIP

Director
 lauren.hartsmith@advarra.com

Regulatory Affairs
Advarra

David A. Heagerty, CIP

Associate Director
 heagerty@upenn.edu

Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania

Elisa A. Hurley, PhD

 elisa.hurley@gmail.com

Richard F. Ittenbach, PhD

Professor - Pediatrics, Associate Director for Planning and Evaluation
 Richard.Ittenbach@cchmc.org

Division of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP

Director of Regulatory Affairs
 c.karen.jeans@va.gov

ORPP&E
VHA Office of Research and Development
Department of Veterans Affairs

Ann Johnson, PhD, MPH, CIP

Director
 Ann.Johnson@hsc.utah.edu

Institutional Review Board & Human Research Protection Program
University of Utah

Donna Kempf, PhD

 kempfd@uww.edu

Donna Kempf, PhD
Research Integrity and Compliance Officer
University of Wisconsin, Whitewater

Michele Kennett, JD, MSN, LLM, PhD(c)

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
 kennettmr@missouri.edu

Office of Research Compliance and Integrity, Office of Research
University of Missouri

Georgia Ann Keriazes, Pharm.D, BCPS, BCOP

Institutional Review Board Chair, Research and Quality Improvement Specialist
 georgia.keriazes@mylrh.org

Lakeland Regional Medical Center

Sana Khoury-Shakour, PhD

Director
 sanashak@umich.edu

Office of Research Compliance Review
University of Michigan

Jessica Kisenwether, PhD, CCC-SLP, CIP

 jessica.kisenwether@gmail.com

Associate Director, NASA Office of Research Assurance
Quality Assurance and Education Manager, Weill Cornell Medicine

Sarah H. Kiskaddon, JD, MA

Director
 SarahH_Kiskaddon@dfci.harvard.edu

Office of Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center 

Becca Klarin, MA, CIP

Senior Program Associate
 bklarin@wested.org

Office of Research Integrity
WestEd 

Susan Kornetsky, MPH

Director of Clinical Research Compliance
 susan.kornetsky@childrens.harvard.edu

Children's Hospital Boston

Stephanie A. Kraft, JD

 stephanie.kraft@seattlechildrens.org

Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics, Seattle Children’s Research Institute
Division of Bioethics and Palliative Care, University of Washington School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics

Benjamin J. Krohmal, JD, HEC-C

Director
 Benjamin.J.Krohmal@medstar.net

John J. Lynch, MD Center for Ethics
MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Jessica Kroll

VA Central IRB Administrator
 jessica.kroll@va.gov

Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development

Abigail Lowe, MA

Assistant Professor
 abigail.lowe@unmc.edu

Department of Allied Health Professions Education, Research, and Practice
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Eric Mah, EdD, MHS

 emah@health.ucsd.edu

Associate Dean, University of California San Diego

Regulatory Program Director, UC BRAID

Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP

Senior Director
 marshm@email.arizona.edu

Research Ethics & Quality 
University of Arizona

Jan Martinez, MS, CIP, CLSSGB

IRB Manager
 jan.martinez@umaryland.edu

HRPO/IRB, University of Maryland

Tanya Matthews, PhD

HRPP Director/IRB Administrator
 Tanya.L.Matthews@kp.org

Kaiser Permanente

Adam McClintock

Director
 amcclint@uab.edu

Office of the Institutional Review Board
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Suzanne McMurphy, PhD, MSS, MSLP, MHSc

Associate Professor
 mcmurphy@uwindsor.ca

Dept. of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology
Fellow, Centre for Research in Reasoning, Argumentation & Rhetoric
University of Windsor

Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP

Director
 melton1@email.arizona.edu

Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona

Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD

Assistant Professor
 mmeyer@geisinger.edu

Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System

James Mischler, PhD

Director and Chair
 irb@nsula.edu

Institutional Review Board
Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Chris Moore, JD

Director
 cmoore10@umc.edu

Institutional Review Board 
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Arin Neely, CIP

 arin.neely@wellstar.org

Manager QA & Regulatory Affairs
Wellstar Research Institute

Kevin Nellis, MS

 kevin.nellis@downstate.edu

Executive Director
Human Research Protections and Quality Assurance
Research Foundation for SUNY
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

Oskar Neyra, MS, CIP

 oskar.neyra@stanford.edu

Manager, Research Compliance Office
Stanford University

Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD

 snicholls@ohri.ca

Senior Clinical Research Associate & Strategy for Patient Oriented Research (SPOR) Facilitator
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute 

Christie O'Brien

VA Central IRB Manager
 christie.o'brien@va.gov

Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development

Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC, CHPC

 Rhonda.Oilepo@UTSouthwestern.edu

Assistant Vice President for Human Research Administration
Human Research Protection Program
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Rachel Olech

Senior Regulatory Specialist
 rolech@uic.edu

Center for Clinical and Translational Science
University of Illinois at Chicago

Courtney Olson, MS

Manager
 courtneyolson@email.arizona.edu

Process Improvement 
Human Subjects Protection Program
University of Arizona

Edith Paal, MSJourn, MPH, CIP, CHRC

IRB Director
 PaalEdithS@uams.edu

University of Arkansas Medical Sciences

Stacey Page, PhD

 sapage@ucalgary.ca

Chair, Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board 
Associate Professor, Dept. of Community Health Sciences 
Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary 

Sangy Panicker, PhD

Director of Public Policy & Education Programs
 spanicker@primr.org

Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R)

Gretchen Parker, PhD, RAC, CIP

IRB Chair, Senior Advisor
 gparker@pearlpathways.com

Pearl IRB & Pearl Pathways

Linda Parreco, RN, MS

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
 parrecol@mail.nih.gov

Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute

Stephanie Peña, MS, CIP

Director of Institutional Ethics & Compliance
 spena4@umassd.edu

Office of Research & Innovation
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Cheri Pettey

Chairperson

Advarra

Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD

Assistant Professor
 Vasiliki.Rahimzadeh@bcm.edu

Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Baylor College of Medicine

Margaret Rankovic

Director
 mrankovic@citiprogram.org

Content and Education
CITI Program

Elisa C. Reverman

 ecr73@georgetown.edu

Georgetown University

Carlotta M. Rodriguez, MS, CIP, CHRC

 CRODRI12@virtua.org

Director, Human Research Protection
Virtua Health

Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA

President
 srosenfeld@me.com

Freeport Research Systems
Board Chair, AAHRPP

Amy Rouselle, MPH, CIP

Director
 rouselle-amy@cooperhealth.edu

Human Research Protections Program (HRPP)
Cooper University Health Care

Jessica Rowe, MA, MS, CCRP

Associate Director
 jessica.rowe@yale.edu

HRPP and YCCI  
Regulatory Compliance & Quality
Yale Human Research Protection Program
Office of Research Administration  

Daniel Roysden, PhD, ThM

Atlanta VA liaison to the Emory University Institutional Review Board
 daniel.roysden@va.gov

Atlanta VA Health Care System

Katherine Sahan, DPhil

Research Fellow
 kate.sahan@ethox.ox.ac.uk

Ethical and Social Implications of the Clinical Use of Genomic Risk in Cancer Care
ETHOX Centre

Alison Santiago, MSW, MJ

 aljjones@uic.edu

Senior Regulatory Specialist
University of Illinois Chicago

Cheryl Savini

President
 csavini@saviniconsultingllc.com

Savini Consulting, LLC

Toby Schonfeld, PhD

Executive Director
 tlschonfeld@gmail.com

National Center for Excellence in Health Care
Veterans Administration

Amy Schwarzhoff, MS, MBA, CIP

Director
 schwarzhoffa@email.chop.edu

Human Subjects Research
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Joel Seah, BSc

 joel.seah@u.nus.edu

PhD Candidate
Centre for Biomedical Ethics, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine
National University of Singapore

Ada Sue Selwitz, MA

 ada.selwitz@uky.edu

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky

Kimberley Serpico, MEd, CIP

 kserpico@hsph.harvard.edu

Associate Director of IRB Operations
Office of Regulatory Affairs and Research Compliance
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Megan Singleton, JD, MBE, CIP

Associate Dean for Human Research Protection and HRPP Director
 msingl16@jhmi.edu

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 

Caroline L. Slymon, CIP

IRB Analyst III
 slymonc@email.chop.edu

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Elika Somani

Bioethics Fellow
 elika.somani@nih.gov

NIH Clinical Center Department of Bioethics

Ryan Spellecy, PhD

Ursula von der Ruhr Professor of Bioethics and Assistant Provost for Research
 rspellecy@mcw.edu

Director, Human Research Protection Program
Medical College of Wisconsin

David Strauss, MD

Special Lecturer - Columbia University Department of Psychiatry, Senior Advisor - Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University
 dhs2@cumc.columbia.edu

Elyse I. Summers, JD

President and CEO
 esummers@aahrpp.org

AAHRPP 

Monique E. Tadeo, MS, CIP

 tadeo.monique@epa.gov

Director, Program in Human Research Ethics and Oversight
EPA Human Subject Research Review Official
Office of Research and Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Ivy R. Tillman, EdD, CCRC, CIP

 itillman@primr.org

Executive Director
Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R)

Emma Tumilty, PhD

Assistant Professor & Associate Director of Graduate Studies
 emtumilt@utmb.edu

Institute for Bioethics and Health Humanities
University of Texas Medical Branch

Satish Veerla, MS, PharmD

 veerlasatish25@gmail.com

Sr. Regulatory Analyst
Human Research Protection Program Office 
UT Southwestern Medical Center  

Carol Weil, JD

Consultant
 carol.weil.consulting@gmail.com

Human Research Protections and Bioethics

Muhammad Zahid, MD, MPH, CIP

Associate Director, OHRS
 Muhammad_Zahid@DFCI.HARVARD.EDU

Member, Institutional Review Board
Member, Scientific Review Committee
Office for Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center