Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

AEREO: The Consortium to Advance Effective Research Ethics Oversight

Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH
 emanderson@luc.edu

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago


Angela Bain, CIP, CIM
 abain5@kennesaw.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board Office
Office of Research, Kennesaw State University


John R. Baumann, PhD 
 baumannj@iu.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University


Lydia Bazzano, MD, PhD, CIP
 lbazzano@ochsner.org

Vice Chair, IRB
Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine
Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine


Barbara Bierer, MD
 bbierer@bwh.harvard.edu

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Professor of Medicine 
Harvard Medical School 
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston


Jessica Blackburn, MPH, CIP
 jessica.blackburn@emory.edu

Senior Education and QA Research Protocol Analyst
Emory University IRB


Margie Brackeen, CIP
 Margie.Brackeen@nationwidechildrens.org

Human Research Protection Program Director
Abigail Wexner Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital 


Quincy J. Byrdsong, EdD, CIP, CCRP
 Quincy.Byrdsong@lipscomb.edu

Vice Provost for Health Affairs 
Lipscomb University


Swapnali Chaudhari, MBBS, MS, CIP
 Swapnali.chaudhari@rutgers.edu

IRB Assistant Director
Rutgers Institutional Review Board
Rutgers University


Brooke Cholka, PhD, MA, CIP
 cbcholka@unr.edu

IRB Specialist
University of Nevada, Reno


Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH
 Justin.Clapp@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania


Anne K. Clark, CIP
 akclark@utmb.edu

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch


Michelle Daiss, CIP
 daiss.michelle@mayo.edu

Supervisor, IRB Research
Office for Human Research Protection, Mayo Clinic


Cheryl M. Danton MHS, CIP
 cdanton@uchicago.edu

IRB Managing Director
Social Behavioral Sciences (SBS)
University of Chicago


Maria Davila, MD, MA, CCRC, CIP
 maria.davila@emory.edu

Associate Director
Emory University IRB


Liza Dawson, PhD, MA
 Liza.Dawson.civ@mail.mil

Chief of Bioethics
Institutional Review Board Chair
Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research


Barbara DeCausey, MPH, MBA
 bdecausey@vt.edu

HRPP Director
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Malica T. Dock, CCRP
 malica.dock@rutgers.edu

Assistant Director
Institutional Review Board
Office for Research, Rutgers University


Julie Doherty, DM, MSN, RN,CIP, CCEP
 jdoherty@umaryland.edu

Director, Human Research Protections Program 
Office of Accountability & Compliance, Human Research Protections Office
University of Maryland Baltimore


Laverne Estanol, M.S., CIP, CIM
 Lestanol@ucsc.edu

Director, Office of Research Compliance Administration
University of California, Santa Cruz


Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP
 Joshua.fedewa@utsouthwestern.edu

Associate Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Michelle Feige, MSW, LCSW-C
 mfeige@aahrpp.org

Executive Vice-President 
AAHRPP 


Jody Ference, MS, CIP
 jody.l.ference.civ@mail.mil

Director, Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research


Phoebe Friesen, PhD
 phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca

Assistant Professor
McGill University  


George Gasparis
 george@peercg.com

President
The PEER Consulting Group


Luke Gelinas, PhD
 Luke.Gelinas@advarra.com

Board Chair
Advarra 

Senior Advisor 
MRCT Center  


Tiffany Gommel, MS, CIM, CIP
 tiffany.gommel@nih.gov

Director, Office of IRB Operations
National Institutes of Health


Nicole Grant, RN, BSN, MPH
 grantn@mail.nih.gov

Associate Director, OHSRP / Executive Chair
National Institutes of Health


Sonya Hadrigan, APRN, CIP
 smhadrigan@houstonmethodist.org

Director, Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute 
Houston Methodist Hospital


Estela Hamblen
 estela.hamblen@va.gov

VA Central IRB Administrator
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Karen Hansen
 khansen@fredhutch.org

Director, Institutional Review Office
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center


Lauren AJ Hartsmith, JD, CIP
 lauren.hartsmith@advarra.com

Director, Regulatory Affairs
Advarra


David A. Heagerty, CIP
 heagerty@upenn.edu

Associate Director, Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania


Elisa A. Hurley, PhD
 ehurley@primr.org

Executive Director 
PRIM&R


Richard F. Ittenbach, PhD
 Richard.Ittenbach@cchmc.org

Professor, Pediatrics
Associate Director for Planning and Evaluation
Division of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine


Richard James, MLIS
 rjame@pobox.upenn.edu

Nursing Liaison Librarian 
Biomedical Library 
University of Pennsylvania
PCORI Ambassador, Delaware


Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP
 c.karen.jeans@va.gov

Director of Regulatory Affairs, ORPP&E
VHA Office of Research and Development
Department of Veterans Affairs


Ann Johnson, PhD, MPH, CIP
 Ann.Johnson@hsc.utah.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board & Human Research Protection Program
University of Utah


Michele Kennett, JD, MSN, LLM, PhD(c)
 kennettmr@missouri.edu

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Office of Research Compliance and Integrity, Office of Research
University of Missouri


Sana Khoury-Shakour, PhD
 sanashak@umich.edu

Director, Office of Research Compliance Review
University of Michigan


Sarah H. Kiskaddon, JD, MA
 SarahH_Kiskaddon@dfci.harvard.edu

Director, Office of Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center 


Molly Klote, MD, CIP
 Mary.klote@va.gov

Director, Office of Research Protections, Policy, and Education
Office of Research Development 
Veterans Health Administration


Jessica Kroll
 jessica.kroll@va.gov

VA Central IRB Administrator
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP
 marshm@email.arizona.edu

Senior Director, Research Ethics & Quality 
University of Arizona


Tanya Matthews, PhD
 Tanya.L.Matthews@kp.org

HRPP Director/IRB Administrator
Kaiser Permanente


Lindsay McNair, MD, MPH, MSB
 lmcnair@wcgclinical.com

Chief Medical Officer
WIRB-Copernicus Group


Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP
 melton1@email.arizona.edu

Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona


Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD
 mmeyer@geisinger.edu

Assistant Professor 
Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System


Deborah Mittman, MPS
 deborah.mittman@cshs.org

Program Manager, HRPP Education & Quality Improvement
Office of Research Compliance & Quality Improvement
Cedars-Sinai Hospital System


Karen Moe, PhD
 kemoe@uw.edu

Director, Human Subjects Division
Assistant Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington


Tammy Neseth, MA, CCRP, CIP
 Neseth.Tammy@mayo.edu

Operations Manager - IRB
Mayo Clinic


Oskar Neyra, CIP
 on2170@cumc.columbia.edu

Manager, IRB 2
Human Research Protection Office & IRBs
Columbia University

 


Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD
 snicholls@ohri.ca

Senior Clinical Research Associate & Strategy for Patient Oriented Research (SPOR) Facilitator
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute 

 


Christie O'Brien
 christie.o'brien@va.gov

VA Central IRB Manager
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC
 Rhonda.Oilepo@UTSouthwestern.edu

Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Courtney Olson, MS
 courtneyolson@email.arizona.edu

Manager, Process Improvement 
Human Subjects Protection Program
University of Arizona


Linda Parreco, RN, MS
 parrecol@mail.nih.gov

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute


Cheri Pettey
 cpettey@uchicago.edu

Director, Social and Behavioral Sciences IRB
University of Chicago 


Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD
 vrahim@stanford.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University


Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA
 srosenfeld@me.com

President    
Freeport Research Systems


Erin Rothwell, PhD
 erin.rothwell@hsc.utah.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity & Compliance
Professor, Department of Ob/Gyn, School of Medicine
University of Utah


Rebecca Rousselle, CIP
 rebecca.rousselle@emory.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board
Emory University


Jessica Rowe, MA, MS, CCRP
 jrowe4@wellspan.org

Human Research Protections Program Manager
Emig Research Center
WellSpan Health


Amy Schwarzhoff, MS, MBA, CIP
 schwarzhoffa@email.chop.edu

Director, Human Subjects Research
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia


Toby Schonfeld, PhD
 tlschonfeld@gmail.com

Executive Director 
National Center for Excellence in Health Care
Veterans Administration


Ada Sue Selwitz, MA
 ada.selwitz@uky.edu

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky


Kimberley Serpico, MEd, CIP
 kserpico@hsph.harvard.edu

Associate Director of IRB Operations
Office of Regulatory Affairs and Research Compliance
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health


Caroline L. Slymon, CIP
 slymonc@email.chop.edu

IRB Analyst II
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia


Ryan Spellecy, PhD
 rspellecy@mcw.edu

Ursula von der Ruhr Professor of Bioethics and Assistant Provost for Research
Director, Human Research Protection Program
Medical College of Wisconsin


David Strauss, MD
 dhs2@cumc.columbia.edu

Special Lecturer
Columbia University Department of Psychiatry

Senior Advisor
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University


Elyse I. Summers, JD
 esummers@aahrpp.org

President and CEO 
AAHRPP 


Emma Tumilty, PhD
 emma.tumilty@deakin.edu.au

Lecturer in Health Ethics and Professionalism
School of Medicine, Faculty of Health
Deakin University – Warun Ponds, Geelong, Australia


Dawn Underwood, PhD
 dawn.underwood@okstate.edu

Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance
Oklahoma State University


Don E. Workman, PhD
 don.workman@va.gov

VA IRB Network Director
Office of Research Protections, Policy, & Education
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development