Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

AEREO: The Consortium to Advance Effective Research Ethics Oversight

Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH
 emanderson@luc.edu

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago
 


Angela Bain, CIP, CIM
 abain@uga.edu

Assistant Director, Human Subjects
Office of Research
University of Georgia
 


John R. Baumann, PhD 
 baumannj@iu.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University
 


Lydia Bazzano, MD, PhD, CIP
 lbazzano@ochsner.org

Vice Chair, IRB
Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine
Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine


Barbara Bierer, MD
 bbierer@bwh.harvard.edu

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Professor of Medicine 
Harvard Medical School 
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston
 


Laura Brosch, RN, PhD
 Laura.brosch@usuhs.edu

Assistant Vice President for Research Initiatives and Compliance
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences


Quincy J. Byrdsong, EdD, CIP, CCRP
 Quincy.Byrdsong@wellstar.org

Associate Vice President for Research Administration
WellStar Research Institute
WellStar Health System 


Mary K. Clancy, MSN, CCRC, CIP
 mkclancy@houstonmethodist.org

Director, Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute
 


Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH
 Justin.Clapp@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
 


Anne K. Clark, CIP
 akclark@utmb.edu

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch


Carl Coleman, JD
 carl.coleman@shu.edu

Professor of Law 
Seton Hall Law School
 


Liza Dawson, PhD, MA
 Liza.Dawson.civ@mail.mil

Chief of Bioethics
Institutional Review Board Chair
Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
 


Barbara DeCausey, MPH, MBA
 bdecausey@vt.edu

HRPP Director
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Julie Doherty, DM, MSN, RN,CIP, CCEP
 jdoherty@umaryland.edu

Director, Human Research Protections Program 
Office of Accountability & Compliance, Human Research Protections Office
University of Maryland Baltimore


Whitney Eriksen, PhD, RN
 Whitney.Eriksen@uphs.upenn.edu

Senior Research Coordinator
Mixed Methods Research Lab
University of Pennsylvania
 


Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP
 Joshua.fedewa@utsouthwestern.edu

Associate Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Michelle Feige, MSW, LCSW-C
 mfeige@aahrpp.org

Executive Vice-President 
AAHRPP 
 


Jody Ference, MS, CIP
 jody.l.ference.civ@mail.mil

Director, Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
 


Phoebe Friesen, PhD
 phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca

Assistant Professor
McGill University  
 


Eric Garcia, MS
 Eric.F.Garcia@kp.org

National Research Compliance Officer
Kaiser Permanente
Kaiser Foundation Research Institute
 


Luke Gelinas, PhD
 Luke.Gelinas@advarra.com

Board Chair
Advarra 

Senior Advisor 
MRCT Center  


Jonathan Green, MD
 jonathan.green3@nih.gov

Director
Office of Human Subjects Research Protections
National Institutes of Health


Sarah Greene, MPH
 Sarah.M.Greene@HealthPartners.com

Executive Director
Health Care Systems Research Network
 


Karen Hansen
 khansen@fredhutch.org

Director, Institutional Review Office
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center


David A. Heagerty, CIP
 heagerty@upenn.edu

Associate Director, Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania


Elisa A. Hurley, PhD
 ehurley@primr.org

Executive Director 
PRIM&R


Eriko Iwatate, MPH, MA
 eriko.iwatate@utsouthwestern.edu

Senior Regulatory Associate
UT Southwestern Medical Center
 


Richard James, MLIS
 rjame@pobox.upenn.edu

Nursing Liaison Librarian 
Biomedical Library 
University of Pennsylvania
PCORI Ambassador, Delaware
 


Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP
 c.karen.jeans@va.gov

Associate Director of Regulatory Affairs, Clinical Science Research and Development
Office of Research and Development
Veterans Health Administration 


Molly Klote, MD, CIP
 Mary.klote@va.gov

Director, Office of Research Protections, Policy, and Education
Office of Research Development 
Veterans Health Administration


Lisa M. Lee, PhD, MA, MS
 LMLee@vt.edu

Associate Vice President for Scholarly Integrity & Research Compliance
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP
 marshm@email.arizona.edu

Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona


Lindsay McNair, MD, MPH, MSB
 lmcnair@wcgclinical.com

Chief Medical Officer
WIRB-Copernicus Group


Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP
 melton1@email.arizona.edu

Associate Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona


Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD
 mmeyer@geisinger.edu

Assistant Professor 
Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System


Karen Moe, PhD
 kemoe@uw.edu

Director, Human Subjects Division
Assistant Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington
 


Tammy Neseth, MA, CCRP, CIP
 Neseth.Tammy@mayo.edu

Operations Manager - IRB
Mayo Clinic


Genevieve L. Nesom, MPH, MBE
 Genevieve.Nesom@taylorandfrancis.com

Ethics & Integrity Manager, US
Taylor & Francis Group


Jon Newlin, CIP
 jnewlin@northwell.edu

Assistant Director
Human Research Protection Program
Northwell Health
 


Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD
 snicholls@ohri.ca

Senior Clinical Research Associate
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute


Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC
 Rhonda.Oilepo@UTSouthwestern.edu

Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Linda Parreco, RN, MS
 parrecol@mail.nih.gov

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute


Cheri Pettey
 cpettey@uchicago.edu

Director, Social and Behavioral Sciences IRB
University of Chicago 


Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD
 vrahim@stanford.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow, Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University
 


Suzanne M. Rivera, PhD
 smr140@case.edu

Vice President for Research
Office of Research and Technology Management
Associate Professor
Department of Bioethics, School of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University


Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA
 srosenfeld@me.com

Independent


Erin Rothwell, PhD
 erin.rothwell@hsc.utah.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity & Compliance
Professor, Department of Ob/Gyn, School of Medicine
University of Utah
 


Jessica Rowe, MA, MS, CCRP
 jrowe4@wellspan.org

Human Research Protections Program Manager
Emig Research Center
WellSpan Health


Toby Schonfeld, PhD
 tschonfeld@primereviewboard.com

Director
Prime Review Board


Ada Sue Selwitz, MA
 ada.selwitz@uky.edu

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky


Andrea Seykora, JD
 Andrea.M.Seykora@kpchr.org

Research Compliance Manager
Kaiser Permanente
Center for Health Research


Carolyn E. Stevens, MBE
 stevensce@email.chop.edu

IRB Analyst
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia


David Strauss, MD
 dhs2@cumc.columbia.edu

Special Lecturer
Columbia University Department of Psychiatry

Senior Advisor
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University


Elyse I. Summers, JD
 esummers@aahrpp.org

President and CEO 
AAHRPP 


Emma Tumilty, PhD
 emma.tumilty@deakin.edu.au

Lecturer in Health Ethics and Professionalism
School of Medicine, Faculty of Health
Deakin University – Warun Ponds, Geelong, Australia


Dawn Underwood, PhD
 dawn.underwood@okstate.edu

Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance
Oklahoma State University


R. Scott Wright, MD
 wright.scott@mayo.edu

Director of HRPP Program
Chair of the Institutional Review Board
Mayo Clinic