Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

AEREO: The Consortium to Advance Effective Research Ethics Oversight

Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Melissa Abraham, PhD
 mabraham2@mgh.harvard.edu

Assistant Professor of of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital


Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH
 emanderson@luc.edu

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago


Angela Bain, CIP, CIM
 Bain.116@osu.edu

Research Protocol Analyst 2
Ohio State University


John R. Baumann, PhD 
 baumannj@iu.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University


Lydia Bazzano, MD, PhD, CIP
 lbazzano@ochsner.org

Vice Chair, IRB
Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine
Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine


Jennifer Bell, MA, PhD
 Jennifer.bell2@uhn.ca

Senior Bioethicist, Department of Clinical and Organizational Ethics
Research Scientist, Department of Supportive Care
Research Division, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Education Investigator 2
TIER (The Institute for Education Research), University Health Network


Barbara Bierer, MD
 bbierer@bwh.harvard.edu

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Professor of Medicine 
Harvard Medical School 
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston


Jessica Blackburn, MPH, CIP
 jessica.blackburn@emory.edu

Senior Education and QA Research Protocol Analyst
Emory University IRB


Margie Brackeen, CIP
 Margie.Brackeen@nationwidechildrens.org

Human Research Protection Program Director
Abigail Wexner Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital 


Quincy J. Byrdsong, EdD, CIP, CCRP
 Quincy.Byrdsong@lipscomb.edu

Vice Provost for Health Affairs 
Lipscomb University


Stephanie Cargill, PhD, MSPH
 stephanie.cargill@slu.edu

Associate Professor of Health Care Ethics 
College of Arts & Sciences, Center for Health Care Ethics
Saint Louis University


Angela Cartmell-McGlyn, PhD, CIP
 ac2200@research.rutgers.edu

Sr. Research Project Manager
Rutgers Human Research Protection Program  (HRPP)
Rutgers University Office for Research


Swapnali Chaudhari, MBBS, MS, CIP
 Swapnali.chaudhari@rutgers.edu

IRB Assistant Director
Rutgers Institutional Review Board
Rutgers University


Brooke Cholka, PhD, MA, CIP
 cbc4001@med.cornell.edu

Human Research QA & Education Manager
Weill Cornell Medicine


Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH
 Justin.Clapp@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania


Anne K. Clark, CIP
 akclark@utmb.edu

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch


Kindra L. Cooper, JD, MPA, MA, CIP
 KindraCooper@creighton.edu

IRB Director
Creighton University


Michelle Daiss, CIP
 daiss.michelle@mayo.edu

Supervisor, IRB Research
Office for Human Research Protection, Mayo Clinic


Cheryl M. Danton MHS, CIP
 cdanton@uchicago.edu

IRB Managing Director
Social Behavioral Sciences (SBS)
University of Chicago


Maria Davila, MD, MA (Bioethics), CCRC, CIP
 maria.davila@emory.edu

Director, Office of Research Integrity and Compliance (ORIC)
Deputy Research Integrity Officer
Research Compliance and Regulatory Affairs (RCRA)
Emory University


Liza Dawson, PhD, MA
 Liza.Dawson.civ@mail.mil

Chief of Bioethics
Institutional Review Board Chair
Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research


Barbara DeCausey, MPH, MBA
 bdecausey@vt.edu

HRPP Director
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Malica T. Dock, CCRP
 malica.dock@rutgers.edu

Assistant Director
Institutional Review Board
Office for Research, Rutgers University


Julie Doherty, DM, MSN, RN,CIP, CCEP
 jdoherty@umaryland.edu

Director, Human Research Protections Program 
Office of Accountability & Compliance, Human Research Protections Office
University of Maryland Baltimore


Keren Dunn, CIP
 keren.dunn@cshs.org

Executive Director
Research Compliance & Quality Improvement
Cedars-Sinai Hospital System


Jake Earl, PhD
 jacob.c.earl.ctr@health.mil

Bioethicist
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research


Lisa Eckstein, MHL, SJD
 lisa.eckstein@utas.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Law and Medicine/Health Law
University of Tasmania


Marilyn Eshikena, MS, CIP
 marilyn.eshikena@mssm.edu

IRB Manager, Program for the Protection of Human Subjects (PPHS)
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


Laverne Estanol, M.S., CIP, CIM
 Lestanol@ucsc.edu

Director, Office of Research Compliance Administration
University of California, Santa Cruz


Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP
 jofedewa@umich.edu

Director, IRBMed
University of Michigan


Michelle Feige, MSW, LCSW-C
 mfeige@aahrpp.org

Executive Vice-President 
AAHRPP 


Jody Ference, MS, CIP
 jody.l.ference.civ@mail.mil

Director, Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research


Phoebe Friesen, PhD
 phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca

Assistant Professor
McGill University  


George Gasparis
 george@peercg.com

President
The PEER Consulting Group


Luke Gelinas, PhD
 Luke.Gelinas@advarra.com

Board Chair
Advarra 

Senior Advisor 
MRCT Center  


Tiffany Gommel, MS, CIM, CIP
 tiffany.gommel@nih.gov

Director, Office of IRB Operations
National Institutes of Health


Bruce Gordon, MD
 bgordon@unmc.edu

Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Regulatory Affairs
Executive Chairman, Institutional Review Boards
Professor, Pediatrics Hematology/Oncology
University of Nebraska Medical Center


Nicole Grant, RN, BSN, MPH
 grantn@mail.nih.gov

Associate Director, OHSRP / Executive Chair
National Institutes of Health


James Griffith, PhD, CIP
 james.griffith2@cgu.edu

IRB Manager
Claremont Graduate University


Sonya Hadrigan, APRN, CIP
 smhadrigan@houstonmethodist.org

Director, Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute 
Houston Methodist Hospital


Pamela Hall, EdD, PMP
 phall@cau.edu

Senior Research Award Administrator, IRB Officer
Research and Sponsored Programs
Clark Atlanta University


Estela Hamblen
 estela.hamblen@va.gov

VA Central IRB Administrator
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Karen Hansen
 khansen@fredhutch.org

Director, Institutional Review Office
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center


Lauren AJ Hartsmith, JD, CIP
 lauren.hartsmith@advarra.com

Director, Regulatory Affairs
Advarra


David A. Heagerty, CIP
 heagerty@upenn.edu

Associate Director, Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania


Elisa A. Hurley, PhD
 ehurley@primr.org

Executive Director 
PRIM&R


Richard F. Ittenbach, PhD
 Richard.Ittenbach@cchmc.org

Professor, Pediatrics
Associate Director for Planning and Evaluation
Division of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine


Richard James, MLIS, MBE
 Richard.James@nemours.org

Academic Support Librarian
Nemours Children's Health
PCORI Ambassador, Delaware


Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP
 c.karen.jeans@va.gov

Director of Regulatory Affairs, ORPP&E
VHA Office of Research and Development
Department of Veterans Affairs


Ann Johnson, PhD, MPH, CIP
 Ann.Johnson@hsc.utah.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board & Human Research Protection Program
University of Utah


Michele Kennett, JD, MSN, LLM, PhD(c)
 kennettmr@missouri.edu

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Office of Research Compliance and Integrity, Office of Research
University of Missouri


Sana Khoury-Shakour, PhD
 sanashak@umich.edu

Director, Office of Research Compliance Review
University of Michigan


Sarah H. Kiskaddon, JD, MA
 SarahH_Kiskaddon@dfci.harvard.edu

Director, Office of Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center 


Georgia Ann Keriazes, Pharm.D, BCPS, BCOP
 georgia.keriazes@mylrh.org

Institutional Review Board Chair
Research and Quality Improvement Specialist
Lakeland Regional Medical Center


Becca Klarin, MA, CIP
 bklarin@wested.org

Senior Program Associate 
Office of Research Integrity
WestEd 


Molly Klote, MD, CIP
 Mary.klote@va.gov

Director, Office of Research Protections, Policy, and Education
Office of Research Development 
Veterans Health Administration


Susan Kornetsky, MPH
 susan.kornetsky@childrens.harvard.edu

Director of Clinical Research Compliance
Children's Hospital Boston


Stephanie A. Kraft, JD
 stephanie.kraft@seattlechildrens.org

Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics, Seattle Children’s Research Institute
Division of Bioethics and Palliative Care, University of Washington School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics


Jessica Kroll
 jessica.kroll@va.gov

VA Central IRB Administrator
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Abigail Lowe, MA
 abigail.lowe@unmc.edu

Assistant Professor
Department of Allied Health Professions Education, Research, and Practice
University of Nebraska Medical Center


Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP
 marshm@email.arizona.edu

Senior Director, Research Ethics & Quality 
University of Arizona


Jan Martinez, MS, CIP, CLSSGB
 jan.martinez@umaryland.edu

IRB Manager
HRPO/IRB, University of Maryland


Tanya Matthews, PhD
 Tanya.L.Matthews@kp.org

HRPP Director/IRB Administrator
Kaiser Permanente


Adam McClintock
 amcclint@uab.edu

Director, Office of the Institutional Review Board
University of Alabama at Birmingham


Lindsay McNair, MD, MPH, MSB
 lmcnair@wcgclinical.com

Chief Medical Officer
WIRB-Copernicus Group


Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP
 melton1@email.arizona.edu

Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona


Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD
 mmeyer@geisinger.edu

Assistant Professor 
Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System


Deborah Mittman, MPS
 deborah.mittman@cshs.org

Program Manager, HRPP Education & Quality Improvement
Office of Research Compliance & Quality Improvement
Cedars-Sinai Hospital System


Chris Moore, JD
 cmoore10@umc.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board 
University of Mississippi Medical Center


Kevin Nellis, MS
 kevin.nellis@downstate.edu

Executive Director, Human Research Protections and Quality Assurance
Research Foundation for SUNY
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University


Tammy Neseth, MA, CCRP, CIP
 Neseth.Tammy@mayo.edu

Operations Manager - IRB
Mayo Clinic


Oskar Neyra, CIP
 on2170@cumc.columbia.edu

Manager, IRB 2
Human Research Protection Office & IRBs
Columbia University

 


Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD
 snicholls@ohri.ca

Senior Clinical Research Associate & Strategy for Patient Oriented Research (SPOR) Facilitator
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute 

 


Christie O'Brien
 christie.o'brien@va.gov

VA Central IRB Manager
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC
 Rhonda.Oilepo@UTSouthwestern.edu

Director, HRPP
UT Southwestern Medical Center


Rachel Olech
 rolech@uic.edu

Senior Regulatory Specialist
Center for Clinical and Translational Science
University of Illinois at Chicago


Courtney Olson, MS
 courtneyolson@email.arizona.edu

Manager, Process Improvement 
Human Subjects Protection Program
University of Arizona


Edith Paal, MSJourn, MPH, CIP, CHRC
 PaalEdithS@uams.edu

IRB Director
University of Arkansas Medical Sciences


Linda Parreco, RN, MS
 parrecol@mail.nih.gov

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute


Stephanie Peña, MS, CIP
 spena4@umassd.edu

Director of Institutional Ethics & Compliance
Office of Research & Innovation
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth


Cheri Pettey

Chairperson
Advarra


Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD
 Vasiliki.Rahimzadeh@bcm.edu

Assistant Professor
Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Baylor College of Medicine


Margaret Rankovic
 mrankovic@citiprogram.org

Director, Content and Education
CITI Program


Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA
 srosenfeld@me.com

President, Freeport Research Systems
Board Chair, AAHRPP


Erin Rothwell, PhD
 erin.rothwell@hsc.utah.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity & Compliance
Professor, Department of Ob/Gyn, School of Medicine
University of Utah


Amy Rouselle, MPH, CIP
 rouselle-amy@cooperhealth.edu

Director, Human Research Protections Program (HRPP)
Cooper University Health Care


Rebecca Rousselle, CIP
 rebecca.rousselle@emory.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board
Emory University


Jessica Rowe, MA, MS, CCRP
 jessica.rowe@yale.edu

Associate Director,  HRPP and YCCI  
Regulatory Compliance & Quality
Yale Human Research Protection Program
Office of Research Administration  


Daniel Roysden, PhD, ThM
 daniel.roysden@va.gov

Atlanta VA liaison to the Emory University Institutional Review Board
Atlanta VA Health Care System


Katherine Sahan, DPhil
 kate.sahan@ethox.ox.ac.uk

Research Fellow, Ethical and Social Implications of the Clinical Use of Genomic Risk in Cancer Care
ETHOX Centre


Amy Schwarzhoff, MS, MBA, CIP
 schwarzhoffa@email.chop.edu

Director, Human Subjects Research
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia


Toby Schonfeld, PhD
 tlschonfeld@gmail.com

Executive Director 
National Center for Excellence in Health Care
Veterans Administration


Ada Sue Selwitz, MA
 ada.selwitz@uky.edu

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky


Kimberley Serpico, MEd, CIP
 kserpico@hsph.harvard.edu

Associate Director of IRB Operations
Office of Regulatory Affairs and Research Compliance
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health


Megan Singleton, JD, MBE, CIP
 msingl16@jhmi.edu

Associate Dean for Human Research Protection and HRPP Director
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 


Caroline L. Slymon, CIP
 slymonc@email.chop.edu

IRB Analyst III
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia


Elika Somani
 elika.somani@nih.gov

Bioethics Fellow
NIH Clinical Center Department of Bioethics


Ryan Spellecy, PhD
 rspellecy@mcw.edu

Ursula von der Ruhr Professor of Bioethics and Assistant Provost for Research
Director, Human Research Protection Program
Medical College of Wisconsin


David Strauss, MD
 dhs2@cumc.columbia.edu

Special Lecturer
Columbia University Department of Psychiatry

Senior Advisor
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University


Elyse I. Summers, JD
 esummers@aahrpp.org

President and CEO 
AAHRPP 


Monique E. Tadeo, MS, CIP
 tadeo.monique@epa.gov

Director, Program in Human Research Ethics and Oversight
EPA Human Subject Research Review Official
Office of Research and Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)


Ivy R. Tillman, MS, CCRC, CIP
 tillman.ivy@mayo.edu

Director of Research Operations
Mayo Clinic


Emma Tumilty, PhD
 emtumilt@utmb.edu

Assistant Professor & Associate Director of Graduate Studies
Institute for Bioethics and Health Humanities
University of Texas Medical Branch


Dawn Underwood, PhD
 dawn.underwood@okstate.edu

Assistant Vice President for Research Compliance
Oklahoma State University


Carol Weil, JD
 carol.weil.consulting@gmail.com

Consultant
Human Research Protections and Bioethics


Don E. Workman, PhD
 don.workman@va.gov

VA IRB Network Director
Office of Research Protections, Policy, & Education
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development


Muhammad Zahid, MD, MPH, CIP
 Muhammad_Zahid@DFCI.HARVARD.EDU

Associate Director, OHRS
Member, Institutional Review Board
Member, Scientific Review Committee
Office for Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center