Consortium Members

*All AEREO Members serve in their individual, not institutional, capacities.

Emily E. Anderson, PhD, MPH

 emanderson@luc.edu

Associate Professor
Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics
Loyola University Chicago

Angela Bain, CIP, CIM

 Bain.116@osu.edu

Research Protocol Analyst 2
Ohio State University

John R. Baumann, PhD

 baumannj@iu.edu

Associate Vice President for Research and Compliance
Office of Research Compliance
Office of Vice President for Research 
Indiana University

Jennifer Bell, MA, PhD

 Jennifer.bell2@uhn.ca

Senior Bioethicist - Department of Clinical and Organizational Ethics, Research Scientist - Department of Supportive Care
Research Division, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
Education Investigator 2
TIER (The Institute for Education Research), University Health Network

Barbara Bierer, MD

 bbierer@bwh.harvard.edu

Faculty Director
Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston

Jessica Blackburn, MPH, CIP

 jessica.blackburn@emory.edu

Senior Education and QA Research Protocol Analyst
Emory University IRB

Elizabeth Buchanan, PhD, CIP

 elizabeth.buchanan@gmail.com

Stephanie Cargill, PhD, MSPH

 stephanie.cargill@slu.edu

Associate Professor of Health Care Ethics
College of Arts & Sciences, Center for Health Care Ethics
Saint Louis University

Amy Carroll-Scott, PhD, MPH

 ac3343@drexel.edu

Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Community Health & Prevention
Drexel University, Dornsife School of Public Health

Angela Cartmell-McGlyn, PhD, CIP

 ac2200@research.rutgers.edu

Senior Research Project Manager
Rutgers Human Research Protection Program (HRPP)
Rutgers University Office for Research

Swapnali Chaudhari, MBBS, MS, CIP

 Swapnali.chaudhari@rutgers.edu

IRB Assistant Director
Rutgers Institutional Review Board
Rutgers University

Brooke Cholka, PhD, MA, CIP

 cbc4001@med.cornell.edu

Human Research QA & Education Manager
Weill Cornell Medicine

Justin Clapp, PhD, MPH

 Justin.Clapp@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Anne K. Clark, CIP

 akclark@utmb.edu

Director, HRPP
University of Texas Medical Branch

Michelle Daiss, CIP

 daiss.michelle@mayo.edu

Supervisor, IRB Research
Office for Human Research Protection, Mayo Clinic

Cheryl M. Danton MHS, CIP

 cdanton@uchicago.edu

IRB Managing Director
Social Behavioral Sciences (SBS)
University of Chicago

Maria Davila, MD, MA (Bioethics), CCRC, CIP

 maria.davila@emory.edu

Director - Office of Research Integrity and Compliance (ORIC)
Deputy Research Integrity Officer - Research Compliance and Regulatory Affairs (RCRA)
Emory University

Liza Dawson, PhD, MA

 Liza.Dawson.civ@mail.mil

Chief of Bioethics Institutional Review Board
Chair Research Integrity Officer
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Elizabeth Dayag, MLS-PA, CIP

 elizabeth.a.dayag.civ@health.mil

Institutional Review Board Manager
Research Subject Protection Division
Defense Health Agency, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth

Barbara DeCausey, MPH, MBA

 bdecausey@vt.edu

HRPP Director
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Malica T. Dock, CCRP

 malica.dock@rutgers.edu

Assistant Director
Institutional Review Board
Office for Research, Rutgers University

Julie Doherty, DM, MSN, RN,CIP, CCEP

 jdoherty@umaryland.edu

Director - Human Research Protections Program 
Office of Accountability & Compliance, Human Research Protections Office
University of Maryland Baltimore

Keren Dunn, CIP

 keren.dunn@cshs.org

Executive Director
Research Compliance & Quality Improvement
Cedars-Sinai Hospital System

Jake Earl, PhD

 jacobcearl@gmail.com

Director, Research, Innovation and Data Ethics
National Center for Ethics in Healthcare
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Jake Eberts

 jake.eberts@1daysooner.org

Communications Director
1Day Sooner

Lisa Eckstein, MHL, SJD

 lisa.eckstein@utas.edu.au

Senior Lecturer
Law and Medicine/Health Law
University of Tasmania

Carley Emerson, MS, CIP

 Carley_Emerson@unc.edu

Director
Office of Human Research Ethics (OHRE)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Marilyn Eshikena, MS, CIP

 marilyn.eshikena@mssm.edu

IRB Manager
Program for the Protection of Human Subjects (PPHS)
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Tamiko Eto, MS, CIP

 etohtamiko@gmail.com

HRPP/IRB Director
Mayo Clinic

Joshua Fedewa, MS, CIP

 jofedewa@med.umich.edu

Director, IRBMED
University of Michigan

Michelle Feige, MSW, LCSW-C

 mfeige@aahrpp.org

Executive Vice-President 
AAHRPP 

Jody Ference, MS, CIP

 jody.l.ference.civ@mail.mil

Director
Human Subjects Protection
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research

Kelly Fitzgerald, PhD

 KFitzGerald@wirb.com

IRB Executive Chair and VP IBC Affairs
WCG IRB

Phoebe Friesen, PhD

 phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca

Assistant Professor
McGill University  

Purna Garimella, MS, CIP, RAC

 purnag@med.umich.edu

Assistant Director, IRBMED
University of Michigan Medical School

George Gasparis

 george@peercg.com

President
The PEER Consulting Group

Luke Gelinas, PhD

 Luke.Gelinas@advarra.com

Senior IRB Chair Director
Advarra

Bruce Gordon, MD

 bgordon@unmc.edu

Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Regulatory Affairs
Executive Chairman - Institutional Review Boards
Professor - Pediatrics Hematology/Oncology
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Nicole Grant, RN, BSN, MPH

 grantn@mail.nih.gov

Associate Director
OHSRP / Executive Chair
National Institutes of Health

James Griffith, PhD, CIP

 james.griffith2@cgu.edu

IRB Manager
Claremont Graduate University

Sonya Hadrigan, APRN, CIP

 smhadrigan@houstonmethodist.org

Director, Office of Research Protections
Houston Methodist Research Institute 
Houston Methodist Hospital

Pamela Hall, EdD, PMP

 phall@cau.edu

Senior Research Award Administrator, IRB Officer
Research and Sponsored Programs
Clark Atlanta University

Lauren AJ Hartsmith, JD, CIP

 lauren.hartsmith@advarra.com

Director, Regulatory Affairs
Advarra

David A. Heagerty, CIP

 heagerty@upenn.edu

Associate Director
Human Research Protections
University of Pennsylvania

Elisa A. Hurley, PhD

 elisa.hurley@gmail.com

Richard F. Ittenbach, PhD

 Richard.Ittenbach@cchmc.org

Professor - Pediatrics, Associate Director for Planning and Evaluation
Division of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

Patricia Ivery, RN, MSN, CHRC

 patricia.ivery@mclaren.org

Corporate Research Manager
McLaren Health Care
Research Integrity/Office of Research Protections

Karen Jeans, PhD, CCRN, CIP

 c.karen.jeans@va.gov

Director of Regulatory Affairs
ORPP&E
VHA Office of Research and Development
Department of Veterans Affairs

Ann Johnson, PhD, MPH, CIP

 Ann.Johnson@hsc.utah.edu

Director
Institutional Review Board & Human Research Protection Program
University of Utah

Donna Kempf, PhD

 kempfd@uww.edu

Donna Kempf, PhD
Research Integrity and Compliance Officer
University of Wisconsin, Whitewater

Michele Kennett, JD, MSN, LLM, PhD(c)

 kennettmr@missouri.edu

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Office of Research Compliance and Integrity, Office of Research
University of Missouri

Georgia Ann Keriazes, Pharm.D, BCPS, BCOP

 georgia.keriazes@mylrh.org

Institutional Review Board Chair, Research and Quality Improvement Specialist
Lakeland Regional Medical Center

Sana Khoury-Shakour, PhD

 sanashak@umich.edu

Director, Office of Research Compliance Review
University of Michigan

Jessica Kisenwether, PhD, CCC-SLP, CIP

 jessica.kisenwether@gmail.com

Associate Director, NASA Office of Research Assurance
Quality Assurance and Education Manager, Weill Cornell Medicine

Sarah H. Kiskaddon, JD, MA

 SarahH_Kiskaddon@dfci.harvard.edu

Director, Office of Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center 

Becca Klarin, MA, CIP

 bklarin@wested.org

Senior Program Associate
Office of Research Integrity
WestEd 

Susan Kornetsky, MPH

 susan.kornetsky@childrens.harvard.edu

Director of Clinical Research Compliance
Children's Hospital Boston

Stephanie A. Kraft, JD

 stephanie.kraft@seattlechildrens.org

Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics, Seattle Children’s Research Institute
Division of Bioethics and Palliative Care, University of Washington School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics

Benjamin J. Krohmal, JD, HEC-C

 Benjamin.J.Krohmal@medstar.net

Director, John J. Lynch, MD Center for Ethics
MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Jessica Kroll

 jessica.kroll@va.gov

VA Central IRB Administrator
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development

Abigail Lowe, MA

 abigail.lowe@unmc.edu

Assistant Professor
Department of Allied Health Professions Education, Research, and Practice
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Eric Mah, EdD, MHS

 emah@health.ucsd.edu

Associate Dean, University of California San Diego

Regulatory Program Director, UC BRAID

Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP

 marshm@email.arizona.edu

Senior Director, Research Ethics & Quality 
University of Arizona

Jan Martinez, MS, CIP, CLSSGB

 jan.martinez@umaryland.edu

IRB Manager
HRPO/IRB, University of Maryland

Tanya Matthews, PhD

 Tanya.L.Matthews@kp.org

HRPP Director/IRB Administrator
Kaiser Permanente

Adam McClintock

 amcclint@uab.edu

Director, Office of the Institutional Review Board
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Suzanne McMurphy, PhD, MSS, MSLP, MHSc

 mcmurphy@uwindsor.ca

Associate Professor, Dept. of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology
Fellow, Centre for Research in Reasoning, Argumentation & Rhetoric
University of Windsor

Christine Melton-Lopez, MS, CIP

 melton1@email.arizona.edu

Director, Human Subjects Protection Program 
University of Arizona

Michelle N. Meyer, JD, PhD

 mmeyer@geisinger.edu

Associate Director, Research Ethics
Chair, IRB Leadership Committee
Director, Research Ethics and Advice Consult Service
Geisinger Health System

James Mischler, PhD

 irb@nsula.edu

Director and Chair, Institutional Review Board
Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Chris Moore, JD

 cmoore10@umc.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board 
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Arin Neely, CIP

 arin.neely@wellstar.org

Manager QA & Regulatory Affairs
Wellstar Research Institute

Kevin Nellis, MS

 kevin.nellis@downstate.edu

Executive Director
Human Research Protections and Quality Assurance
Research Foundation for SUNY
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

Oskar Neyra, MS, CIP

 oskar.neyra@stanford.edu

Manager, Research Compliance Office
Stanford University

Stuart G. Nicholls, PhD

 snicholls@ohri.ca

Senior Clinical Research Associate & Strategy for Patient Oriented Research (SPOR) Facilitator
Clinical Epidemiology Program
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute 

Christie O'Brien

 christie.o'brien@va.gov

VA Central IRB Manager
Veterans Health Administration Office of Research and Development

Rhonda Oilepo, MS, CIP, CHRC, CHPC

 Rhonda.Oilepo@UTSouthwestern.edu

Assistant Vice President for Human Research Administration
Human Research Protection Program
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Rachel Olech

 rolech@uic.edu

Senior Regulatory Specialist
Center for Clinical and Translational Science
University of Illinois at Chicago

Courtney Olson, MS

 courtneyolson@email.arizona.edu

Manager, Process Improvement 
Human Subjects Protection Program
University of Arizona

Stacey Page, PhD

 sapage@ucalgary.ca

Chair, Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board 
Associate Professor, Dept. of Community Health Sciences 
Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary 

Sangy Panicker, PhD

 spanicker@primr.org

Director of Public Policy & Education Programs
Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R)

Gretchen Parker, PhD, RAC, CIP

 gparker@pearlpathways.com

IRB Chair, Senior Advisor
Pearl IRB & Pearl Pathways

Linda Parreco, RN, MS

 parrecol@mail.nih.gov

Nurse Consultant; Liaison to the NCI CIRB
Division of Cancer Prevention
National Cancer Institute

Stephanie Peña, MS, CIP

 spena4@umassd.edu

Director of Institutional Ethics & Compliance
Office of Research & Innovation
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Cheri Pettey

Chairperson
Advarra

Vasiliki Rahimzadeh, PhD

 Vasiliki.Rahimzadeh@bcm.edu

Assistant Professor
Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Baylor College of Medicine

Margaret Rankovic

 mrankovic@citiprogram.org

Director, Content and Education
CITI Program

Elisa C. Reverman

 ecr73@georgetown.edu

Georgetown University

Carlotta M. Rodriguez, MS, CIP, CHRC

 CRODRI12@virtua.org

Director, Human Research Protection
Virtua Health

Stephen Rosenfeld, MD, MBA

 srosenfeld@me.com

President
Freeport Research Systems
Board Chair, AAHRPP

Amy Rouselle, MPH, CIP

 rouselle-amy@cooperhealth.edu

Director, Human Research Protections Program (HRPP)
Cooper University Health Care

Jessica Rowe, MA, MS, CCRP

 jessica.rowe@yale.edu

Associate Director, HRPP and YCCI  
Regulatory Compliance & Quality
Yale Human Research Protection Program
Office of Research Administration  

Daniel Roysden, PhD, ThM

 daniel.roysden@va.gov

Liaison to the Emory University Institutional Review Board
Atlanta VA Health Care System

Katherine Sahan, DPhil

 kate.sahan@ethox.ox.ac.uk

Research Fellow
Ethical and Social Implications of the Clinical Use of Genomic Risk in Cancer Care
ETHOX Centre

Dalya Saleem, MSc

 dsaleem@umich.edu

PhD Student, Health Infrastructures and Learning Systems 
Department of Learning Health Sciences
University of Michigan Medical School

Alison Santiago, MSW, MJ

 aljjones@uic.edu

Senior Regulatory Specialist
University of Illinois Chicago

Cheryl Savini

 csavini@saviniconsultingllc.com

President
Savini Consulting, LLC

Toby Schonfeld, PhD

 tlschonfeld@gmail.com

Executive Director
National Center for Excellence in Health Care
Veterans Administration

Amy Schwarzhoff, MS, MBA, CIP

 schwarzhoffa@email.chop.edu

Director, Human Subjects Research
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Joel Seah, BSc

 joel.seah@u.nus.edu

PhD Candidate
Centre for Biomedical Ethics, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine
National University of Singapore

Ada Sue Selwitz, MA

 ada.selwitz@uky.edu

Executive Integrity/Compliance Officer
University of Kentucky

Kimberley Serpico, MEd, CIP

 kserpico@hsph.harvard.edu

Associate Director of IRB Operations
Office of Regulatory Affairs and Research Compliance
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Megan Singleton, JD, MBE, CIP

 msingl16@jhmi.edu

Associate Dean for Human Research Protection and HRPP Director
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 

Caroline L. Slymon, CIP

 slymonc@email.chop.edu

IRB Analyst III
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Elika Somani

 elika.somani@nih.gov

Bioethics Fellow
NIH Clinical Center Department of Bioethics

Ryan Spellecy, PhD

 rspellecy@mcw.edu

Ursula von der Ruhr Professor of Bioethics and Assistant Provost for Research
Director, Human Research Protection Program
Medical College of Wisconsin

David Strauss, MD

 dhs2@cumc.columbia.edu

Special Lecturer - Columbia University Department of Psychiatry,
Senior Advisor, Multi-Regional Clinical Trials Center of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University

Elyse I. Summers, JD

President and CEO
 esummers@aahrpp.org

AAHRPP 

Monique E. Tadeo, MS, CIP

 tadeo.monique@epa.gov

Director, Program in Human Research Ethics and Oversight
EPA Human Subject Research Review Official
Office of Research and Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Yefrenia Henriquez Tavares, MPH, MHA, CHES, CIP

 yih2102@tc.columbia.edu

Quality Assurance and Education Specialist
Teachers College, IRB
Columbia University

Ivy R. Tillman, EdD, CCRC, CIP

 itillman@primr.org

Executive Director
Public Responsibility in Medicine and Research (PRIM&R)

Emma Tumilty, PhD

Assistant Professor & Associate Director of Graduate Studies
 emtumilt@utmb.edu

Institute for Bioethics and Health Humanities
University of Texas Medical Branch

Satish Veerla, MS, PharmD

 veerlasatish25@gmail.com

Sr. Regulatory Analyst
Human Research Protection Program Office 
UT Southwestern Medical Center  

Carol Weil, JD

Consultant
 carol.weil.consulting@gmail.com

Human Research Protections and Bioethics

Madeleine Williams, MA, CIP

 mwilliams@hcg.com

Senior Consultant
Huron Consulting Group

Muhammad Zahid, MD, MPH, CIP

Associate Director, OHRS
 Muhammad_Zahid@DFCI.HARVARD.EDU

Member, Institutional Review Board
Member, Scientific Review Committee
Office for Human Research Studies
Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center