Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Penn Global Surgery Group

Past Members

Below are our incredible PGSG alumni, who previously served on the Executive Board and are now on their clinical rotations at Penn. 


Board 2020

Papa Kwadwo Morgan-Asiedu

Papa Kwadwo Morgan-Asiedu
Previous Co-Director
  papa.morgan-asiedu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Kathleen Davin

Kathleen Davin
Previous Co-Director
 kathleen.davin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Cammille Go

Cammille Go
Previous Event Coordinator
 cammille.go@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Prateek Sharma

Prateek Sharma
Previous Event Coordinator
 prateek.sharma@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Jonathan Walsh

Jonathan Walsh
Previous External Relations Coordinator
 jonathan.walsh@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


David Helfer

David Helfer
Previous Lunch Talk Coordinator
 david.helfer@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Connor Wagner

Connor Wagner
Previous Treasurer
 connor.wagner@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Michaela Hitchner

Michaela Hitchner
Previous Research Chair
 michaela.hitchner@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Zonía Moore

Zonía Moore
Previous Research Fellow
 zonia.moore@pennmedicine.upenn.edu



Board 2019

Sanjay Palat

Sanjay Palat
Previous Co-Director
  sanjay.palat@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Chris Wen

Chris Wen
Previous Co-Director
  christopher.wen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Thaddeus Woodard

Thaddeus Woodard
Previous Event Coordinator
 thaddeus.woodard@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Eleanor Layfield

Eleanor Layfield
Previous Communications and Social Media Director
 eleanor.layfield@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Thomas Sommers

Thomas Sommers
Previous Communications
 thomas.sommers@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Rotem Kimia

Rotem Kimia
Previous Research Fellow
 rotem.kimia@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Debanjan Haldar

Debanjan Haldar
Previous Research Fellow
 debanjan.haldar@pennmedicine.upenn.edu



Board 2018

Sebastian Gualy

Sebastian Gualy
Previous Co-Director
 Sebastian.Gualy@uphs.upenn.edu


Alexis Chaet

Alexis Chaet
Previous Co-Director
 Alexis.Chaet@uphs.upenn.edu


Allison Hare

Allison Hare
Previous Event Coordinator
 allison.hare@uphs.upenn.edu


Allie Sperry

Allie Sperry
Previous Communications and Social Media Director
 alexandra.sperry@uphs.upenn.edu


Hani Naga

Hani Naga
Previous Research Director
 hani.naga@uphs.upenn.edu


Kim Firn

Kim Firn
Previous Newsletter Co-Editor-in-Chief
 kim.firn@uphs.upenn.edu


Hannah Schwennesen

Hannah Schwennesen
Previous Treasurer
 hannah.schwennesen@uphs.upenn.edu


Hatem Abdallah

Hatem Abdallah
Previous Philanthropy Director
 hatem.abdallah@uphs.upenn.edu



Founders

Rosaline Zhang

Rosaline Zhang
Co-Founder

Rosaline graduated from the College at Penn with double majors in urban studies and biology. She is passionate about global surgery and the opportunity to integrate her interests in public health, education, community development and surgery. She served as a research fellow for the CHOP Plastic Surgery division while pursuing a a Masters in Translational Research. Her other interests include promoting women in medicine and student wellness. She graduated from Perelman in 2019 with an MD and MTR.


Rachel Johnson

Rachel Johnson
Co-Founder

Rachel's interest in global surgery began after learning about the disparities in access to surgical care around the world.  As a first year medical student, she realized that there was no organization on campus that was specifically dedicated to raising awareness and educating the Penn community about these issues, and started the organization along with Rosaline Zhang and James Friedman.  She graduated in 2018.