Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Susztak Lab

Lab Members


Postdoctoral Researchers

XIN SHENG, Ph.D.

XIN SHENG, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Xin.Sheng@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Integration of multi-omics data to understand gene regulation mechanisms of chronic kidney disease.


Hongbo Liu, Ph.D.

Hongbo Liu, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Hongbo.Liu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Epigenetic dynamics and regulatory mechanisms in kidney development and chronic kidney disease.


Poonam Dhillon, Ph.D.

Poonam Dhillon, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Poonam.Dhillon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Linking metabolic dysfunctioning and chronic kidney disease. Understanding the role of human endogenous retrovirus in renal disease.


Tomohito Doke, M.D./PH.D.

Tomohito Doke, M.D./PH.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Tomohito.Doke@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Elucidation of the role for causative genes in CKD-eQTL analysis. Integrated interpretation of metabolites and gene expression in kidney disease.


Junnan Wu, M.D./Ph.D.

Junnan Wu, M.D./Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Junnan.Wu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Uncovering genomic alterations in chronic kidney disease.


Hailong Hu, Ph.D.

Hailong Hu, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Hailong.Hu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Gene editing technology and kidney disease.


MICHAEL S. BALZER, M.D.

MICHAEL S. BALZER, M.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 BalzerM@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Single cell RNA-seq analysis in chronic kidney disease


Amin Abedini, M.D.

Amin Abedini, M.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Amin.Abedini@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: The molecular mechanisms of chronic kidney disease, diabetic kidney disease, and renal fibrosis.


Kelly Ann Mulholland, Ph.D.

Kelly Ann Mulholland, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 KellyAnn.Mulholland@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Elucidating the role of human endogenous retroviruses in kidney disease development utilizing a multi-omics approach.


Dhanunjay.M Mukhi, PH.D.

Dhanunjay.M Mukhi, PH.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Dhanunjay.Mukhi@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Mechanistic studies of genes identified in the Genome-wide and transcriptome-wide association studies in chronic kidney disease.


Xiujie Liang, M.D., Ph.D.

Xiujie Liang, M.D., Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Xiujie.Liang@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Understanding the cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying kidney development and kidney fibrosis.


Bibek Poudel, M.S., Ph.D.

Bibek Poudel, M.S., Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
 Bibek.Poudel@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Exploring the mechanistic pathways of hypertension and kidney disease development to develop therapeutic targets.



Research Fellows

Ghazal Z. Quinn, M.D.

Ghazal Z. Quinn, M.D.
Research Fellow
 Ghazal.Quinn@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Understanding the role of immune cells in chronic kidney disease.


Katie Marie Sullivan, M.D.

Katie Marie Sullivan, M.D.
Research Fellow
 KatieMarie.Sullivan@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Elucidation of the role for causative genes in CKD-eQTL analysis.



Visiting Scholars

Tamas Aranyi, M.D./Ph.D.

Tamas Aranyi, M.D./Ph.D.
Visiting Associate Professor
 Tamas.Aranyi@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objectives: Understanding the role of epigenetic factors and chromatin structure in kidney development, maturation and disease. In particular, I'm studying the role of DNA hydroxymethylation in kidney in mice models and chromatin structure alterations in human kidney by ATAC-seq.



Students

Rupa Khanal, BS

Rupa Khanal, BS
Ph.D Student
 khanalr@sas.upenn.edu

Research Objective : Investigating the evolution of Vertebrate Kidney at the single cell level



Research Specialists

Julia Frederick, B.A.

Julia Frederick, B.A.
Research Specialist
 Julia.Frederick@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Studying kidney disease using single cell sequencing


Allison Vassalotti, B.S.

Allison Vassalotti, B.S.
Research Specialist
 ally.vassalotti@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research objective: Study kidney disease by extracting DNA and RNA from human samples.