2006 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2006 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Robert M. Toll Prize – Joel Stein
Title - Behavioral and neurochemical alterations in mice lacking the RNA-binding protein translin
Mentor: Dr. Ted Abel

John G. Clark Prize - Patricia Chui
Title: PPARy regulates adipocyte cholesterol metabolism via oxidized LDL receptor 1
Mentor: Dr. Mitch Lazar

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Rob Boxer
Title: Lack of sustained regression of c-MYC-induced mammary adenocarcinomas following brief or prolonged MYC inactivation
Mentor: Dr. Lewis Chodosh

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize - Andrew Intlekofer
Title: Effector and memory CD8+T cell fate coupled by T-bet and eomesodermin
Mentor: Dr. Steve Reiner

Morton McCutcheon Memorial Prize – Daria Babushok
Title: L1 integration in a mouse model
Mentor: Dr. Haig Kazazian

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Christopher Vakoc
Title: Histone H3 Lysine 9 methylation and HP1 are associated with transcription elongation through mammalian chromatin
Mentor: Dr. Gerd Blobel

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Paul Hahn
Title: Disruption of ceruloplasmin and hephaestin in mice causes retinal iron overload and retinal degeneration with features of age related macular degeneration
Mentor: Dr. Josh Dunaief

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize – Rebecca Levit
Title: Asymptomatic central venous stenosis in hemodialysis patients: First, do no harm.
Mentor: Dr. Scott Trerotola

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Farhad Abtahian
Title: Regulation of blood and lymphatic vascular separation by signaling proteins SLP-76 and Syk Mentor: Dr. Gary Koretzky

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Jennifer Wu
Title: Adhesions and degranulation promoting adapter protein (ADAP) is required for efficient thymocyte development and selection
Mentor: Dr. Gary Koretzky

James C. Saunders Research Prize – Jeffrey Bedrosian
Title: In vivo delivery of recombinant viruses to the fetal murine cochlea: transduction characteristics and longterm effects on auditory function
Mentor: Dr. Michael Gratton

Creskoff Prize – Michael Silverman
Title: Disruption of SLP-76 interaction with gads inhibits dynamic clustering of SLP-76 and FceRI signaling in mast cell
Mentor: Dr. Gary Koretzky

Endocrine Award - Jessica Dworet
Title: Interverence with cAMP response element binding protein (CRED) stimulates apoptosis through aberrant cell cycle progression and checkpoint activation
Mentor: Dr. Judy Meinkoth

Dr. David B.P. Goodman Award – Jennifer Fisher
Title: Relation of visual function to retinal nerve fiber layer thickness in multiple sclerosis
Mentor: Dr. Laura Balcer

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize – Jesse Goldstein
Title: Cost effectiveness of a medicaid based child restraint system disbursement and education system
Mentor: Dr. Flaura Winston

Stuart Mudd Award - excellence and creativity in the field of Microbiology - Adam Crystal
Mentor: Dr. Robert Doms

CCEB Prize – Cynthia Bartus
Title: Association of inflammatory skin disease and depression in the elderly: results of a mail survey
Mentor: Dr. David Margolis

Leonard Davis Institute Prize for Health Services Research – Alissa Cowden
Title: FDA surveillance of dermatology related and non dermatology related prescription medicine advertising in the USA, 2000-2003
Mentor: Dr. Kenneth Katz

Pediatric Research Prize – Neil Gupta
Title: Early introduction of water and complementary feeding and nutritional status of children in northern Senegal
Mentor: Dr. Nicholas Stetler

G.I Research Prize - Gauree Gupta
Title: Increased Risk for demyelinating diseases in patients with inflammatory bowel disease
Mentor: Dr. James Lewis

Renal Research Prize - Neil Wimmer
Title: Correlation between pulse wave velocity and other measurers of arterial stiffness in chronic kidney disease
Mentor: Dr. Raymond Townsend

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Amy Feldman
Title: Differentiation of osteogenesis imperfecta (OI) from child abuse in infants and children
Mentor: Dr. Cindy Christian

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Adam Lipworth
Title: The Waksman Campaign: Dr. Selman Waksman's struggle to preserve his heroic image through a bitter credit dispute over streptomycin
Mentor: Dr. Harvey Rubin

Celso-Ramón Garcia Award for Outstanding Women's Health Research – Gabriel Brooks
Title: Familial BRCA 1 and BRCA 2 mutations
Mentor: Dr. Susan Domchek

Jonathan Rhoades Prize for Surgical Scholarship - Jessica Kagen
Title: Risk adjustment of surgical site infections following median sternotomy in children
Mentor: Dr. Samir Shah

Emergency Medicine Research Award – Aaron Brown
Title: The addition of BNP to troponin I, CK-MK, and myoglobin increases the detection of ACS in ED patients
Mentor: Dr. Judd Hollander

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Jason Liu
Title: Magnocellular and parvocellular visual pathways have different BOLD signal time courses in human primary visual cortex
Mentor: Dr. Mark Elliott

John Glick Prize for Translational Cancer Research - Kuang-Yu Jen
Title: Identification of Novel p53 target genes in ionizing radiation response
Mentor: Dr. Vivian Cheung