2011 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2011"Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Ana Cristancho
Title: TCF7L1 is a Transcriptional Hub Linking Cell-Cell Contact with Cytostructural Regulation to Promote Adipogenesis

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Kelly Quinley
Title: Use of Mobile Telemedicine for Cervical Cancer Screening

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize – Nicole Seminara
Title: Validity of the Health Improvement Network (THIN) for the study of psoriasis

Creskoff Prize – Brian Raphael
Title: Clinical response rate of Sezary syndrome with immune modifying therapies: prognostic markers of response

David B. P. Goodman Award – Anne Jensen
Title: Thrombocytopenia and Retinopathy of Prematurity

Department of Neurosurgery Award – Ephraim Church
Title: Posterior Cervical Foraminotomy for Cervical Radiculopathy: Symptomatic and Functional Outcomes in 1085 Cases with Long-Term Follow-up

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Abby Olsen
Title: Fibronectin EIIIA Promotes Rodent Liver Fibrosis and Hepatic Stellate Cell Motility, not Myofibroblast Differentiation

Emergency Medicine Prize – Maria Dugan
Title: Blood Cultures in the Emergency Department Evaluation of Childhood Pneumonia

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize – Brian Finkelman
Title: Genetic Warfarin Dosing: Tables vs. Algorithms

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Emily Charlson
Title: Disordered Microbial Communities in the Upper Respiratory Tract of Cigarette Smokers

John G. Clark Prize – Hojun Li
Title: In vivo genome editing restores hemostasis in a mouse model of hemophilia

John Glick Prize for Translational Research – Debra Yeboa
Title: PSA surveillance among men with clinically localized prostate cancer who do not receive initial treatment

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research – Nicholas Beck
Title: IVC Filter Placement in Orthopaedic Trauma Patients Over a 10-year Period: Clinical Judgement or Clinical Guidelines?

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Aileen Chang
Title: Response to Antimalarials in Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Brian Baumann
Title: Risk stratification of local-regional failure in urothelial carcinoma of the bladder after radical cystectomy

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Peter Derman
Title: Paying Surgeons Less Has Cost More

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – David Hill
Title: Metagenomic analyses reveal antibiotic-induced temporal and spatial changes in intestinal microbiota with associated alterations in immune homestasis

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Craig Wilen
Title: Engineering HIV-resistant CD4+T cells with CXCR4-specific zinc-finger nucleases

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Patrick Georgoff
Title: Clinical Utility of H Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (H-MRS) for Measurement of Hepatic Steatosis

Morton McCutcheon Memorial Prize – Alex Chavez
Title: Homologous Recombination-dependent Rescue of Deficiency in the Structural Maintenance of Chromosomes (Smc) 5/6 Complex

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Alexei Polishchuk
Title: Structure and mechanism of proton transport through the transmembrane tetrameric M2 protein bundle of the influenza A virus

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Zack McCormick
Title: Is Hip Abductor Strength Asymmetry Present in Female Runners with Pre-Clinical Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome?

Pediatric Research Prize – Andrew Renuart
Title: Reference range for cerebrospinal fluid protein concentration in children and adolescents

Pulmonary Resesarch Prize – Rachel Kohn
Title: Rule of rescue or the good of the many?

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Amy Tsou
Title: Quorum sensing negatively regulates hemolysin transcriptionally and post-translationally in Vibrio cholerae

Robert M. Toll Prize – Ryan Vass
Title: Risk genotypes at TMEM106B are associated with cognitive impairment in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Scott Bresler
Title: Differential inhibitor sensitivity of anaplastic lymphoma kinase variants found in neuroblastoma

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Marta Rowh
Title: Tp53 Deletion in B Lineage Cells Predisposes Mice to Lymphomas with Oncogenic Translocations

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Matt Leboeuf
Title: Hdac1 and Hdac2 Act Redudantly to Control p63 and p53 Functions in Epidermal Progenitor Cells

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Kunal Patel
Title: Dynamin- Lipid Raft-Dependent Entry of Decay-Accelerating Factor (DAF)-Binding and Non-DAF-Binding Coxsackieviruses into Nonpolarized Cells

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Jorge Uribe
Title: Uncorrected Refractive Error in a Latino Population: Proyecto VER

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Ksenia Orlova
Title: STRADα deficiency results in aberrant mTORC1 signaling during corticogenesis in humans and mice

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Uma Sachdeva
Title: AMP regulates the circadian clock by cryptochrome phosphorylation and degradation