2013 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2013 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Elise Chong
Title: Lenalidomide, Low-dose Dexamethasone and Rituximab Achieves Durable Responses in Rituximab-Resistant Indolent and Mantle Cell Lymphomas

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Matt Koch
Title: Inositol Phosphate Kinases and the DNA damage response

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Michael Paley
Title: Progenitior and Terminal Subsets of CD8+ T Cells Cooperate to Contain Chronic Viral Infection

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Katherine Dillon
Title: Pre-Treatment AMH Determines Rate of Post-Therapy Ovarian Reserve Recovery:  Acute Changes in Ovarian Reserve During and After Chemotherapy

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize – Sally Baxter
Title: Risk of choroidal neovascularization among the uveitides

Creskoff Prize – Rebecca May
Title: Murine natural killer immunoreceptors use distinct proximal signaling complexes to direct cell function

David B. P. Goodman Award – Zachary Rodgers
Title: High-temporal-resolution MRI Quantification of global cerebral metabolic rate of oxygen consumption in response apneic challenge

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Nehal Bansal
Title: The Effect of Colorectal Cancer Screening Mandates on Access to Care and Clinical Outcomes:  A Retrospective Study of Colorectal Surgery Patients

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Rashikh Choudhury
Title: Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass compared to aggressive diet and exercise therapy for morbidly obese patients awaiting renal transplant: A decision analysis

Emergency Medicine Prize – Austin Kilaru
Title: Evidence-based Narrative to improve Recall of Opioid Prescribing

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize – Ashwin Murthy
Title: Engineered Bivalent Neuregulin Protects Against Doxorubicin-Induced Cardiotoxicity

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize – Tanya Keenan
Title: Relation of uric acid to serum levels of high-sensitivity C-reactive protein, triglycerides and high-density lipoprotein cholesterol, and to hepatic steatosis

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Elisha Singer
Title:  Interleukin-31 Is Produced by the Malignant T-Cell Population in Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma and Mediates CTCL Pruritus

John G. Clark Prize – Ryan Moy
Title: Virus recognition by Toll-7 activates antiviral autophagy in Drosophila

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research – Christina Jacovides
Title:  Penetrating Trauma In Women: Worrying Trends Outside Our Social Radar?

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Eric Lee
Title: The FBX04 tumor suppressor functions as a barrier to BrafV600-E dependent metastatic melanoma

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Jason Wink
Title:  Sustained low-dose rhBMP-2 delivery via PLGA microspheres provides for equivalent osteogenesis and improved side-effect profile

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Ernest Gomez
Title:  Objective Assessment of Robotic Surgical Skills using Instrument contact Vibrations and Predictive Regression Models

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Nora Becker
Title: The impact of two incentive-based health interventions on Stages of Change and Patient Activation Measure scores

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Morgan Sellers
Title: Validation of New Readmission Data in the American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Jie Xu
Title: Transcriptional Pausing Controls a Rapid Antiviral Innate Immune Response in Drosophila

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Tao Zou
Title: Cutting edge: IL-2 Signals Determine the Degree of TCR Signaling Necessary To Support Regulatory T Cell Proliferation in Vivo

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Dania Daye
Title: Mammographic Parenchymal Patterns as an Imaging Marker of Endogenous Hormonal Exposure: a Preliminary Study in a High-Risk Population

Morton McCutcheon Memorial Prize – Jesse Platt
Title:  Rap1 Mediates Gene Expression and Chromatin Changes that Drive Senescence

Morton McCutcheon Memorial Prize – Nikhil Singh
Title:  Murine craniofacial development requires Hdac3-mediated repression of Msx gene expression

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Katherine Steele
Title: Early Mortality and AIDS Progression Despite High Initial Antiretroviral Therapy (ART) Adherence and Virologic Suppression in Botswana

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Chia Wu
Title: An Economic Evaluation of Surgically Managing Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis (AIS)

Pediatric Research Prize – Christina Pasick
Title: Asymmetric Crying Facies in the 22q11.2 Deletion Syndrome – Implications for Future Screening

Renal Research Prize – C. Vaughan Tuohy
Title: Sleep Disordered Breathing and Cardiovascular Risk in Older Patients Initiating Dialysis in the United States

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Andrew Stern
Title: The NorR Regulon is Critical for Vibrio cholerae Resistance to Nitric Oxide and Sustained Colonization of the Intestines

Robert M. Toll Prize – Katherine Hamilton
Title: Increased Utilization of Epilepsy Care Among Drug Resistant Epilepsy Patients with Symptoms of Anxiety or Depression

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Nathan Singh
Title: Transient expression of chimeric antigen receptors reveals differing paths to successful control of liquid versus solid tumors

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Alexander Chin
Title: Dosimetric accuracy of magnetic resonance-based treatment planning for IMRT of nasopharyngeal carcinoma

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Jin Ge
Title: Patient-Physician Communications about Complementary and Alternative Medicine in a Radiation Oncology Setting

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Stephan Kadauke
Title: Tissue-Specific Mitotic Bookmarking by Hematopoietic Transcription Factor GATA 1

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Christopher Nabel
Title: AID/APOBEC deaminases disfavor modified cytosines implicated in DNA demethylation

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Theodore Drivas
Title: Ferroxidase Hephaestin’s Cell- Autonomous Role in the Retinal Pigment Epithelium

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Omar Butt
Title: The fine-scale functional connectivity of striate cortex in the sighted and blind

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Whitney Parker
Title: Rapamycin Prevents Heterotopia and Seizures Following STRADA Depletion:  From Mouse Model to Pretzel Syndrome