2014 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2014 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Megan Fracol
Title: Response to HER-2 Pulsed DC1 Vaccines is Predicted by Both HER-2 and Estrogen Receptor Expression in DCIS

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Jessica Shay
Title: Inhibition of hypoxia-inducible factors limits tumor progression in a mouse model of colorectal cancer

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Sean Spencer
Title: Adaptation of Innate Lymphoid Cells to a Micronutrient Deficiency Promotes Type 2 Barrier Immunity

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Kenji Taylor
Title: Improving utilization of and retention in PMTCT services: Can behavioral economics help?

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize – Elizabeth Goodman
Title: Impact of Weekend Admission on Hospital Length of Stay and Rate of Organ Failure in Pediatric Leukemia Patients at Free-Standing U.S. Children’s Hospitals

Creskoff Prize – Chris Thom
Title: Trim58 degrades dynein and regulates terminal erythropoiesis

David B. P. Goodman Award – Sunny Haft
Title: Anticholinergic Use is a Major Risk Factor for Laryngitis

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Mark Attiah
Title: Durability of Roux-en-Y gastric bypass surgery: a meta-regression study

Emergency Medicine Prize – Charlotte Lawson
Title: “No Other Choice”: Reasons for Emergency Department Utilization Among Urban Adults with Acute Asthma

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize –  Shaan Khurshid
Title: Incidence and Predictors of Right Ventricular Pacing-Induced Cardiomyopathy

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize –  David Rawnsley
Title: The Transcription Factor Atonal homolog 8 Regulates Gata4 and Friend of Gata-2 during Vertebrate Development

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Casey McQuade
Title:  A multi-functional nanoplatform for imaging, radiotherapy, and the prediction of therapeutic response

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Daniel Larach
Title: A targeted sequencing approach in subjects with extremely high HDL-C identifies individuals homozygous for potentially causal mutations in 9 genes

John G. Clark Prize – Sydney Shaffer
Title: Turbo FISH: A Method for Rapid Single Molecule RNA FISH

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research – Grace Lin
Title:  Activation of beta 1 but not beta 3 integrin increases cell traction forces

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Melody Ju
Title: A Novel Approach to Detecting Melanoma-Derived Circulating Tumor Cells

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Elizabeth Sonnenberg
Title:  Wind, Water Wound, Walk – Does the Data Deliver the Dictum?

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Jon Quatromoni
Title:  Adenoviral Based Immunotherapy Provides Local Disease Control in an Orthotopic Murine Model of Esophageal Cancer

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Andrew Fisher
Title: Why Insurance Coverage Fails To Close The Access Gap To Artificial Reproductive Technology

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Lisa Korn
Title: Conventional CD4+ T cells regulate IL-22-producing intestinal innate lymphoid cells

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Rena Zheng
Title: Function of GATA factors in the adult mouse liver

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Stuart Kinsella
Title: Traumatic Shoulder Dislocation Among Adolescents: HIll-Sachs Lesion Volume and Recurrent Instability

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Ari Wes
Title: An evaluation of complications, revisions, and long-term aesthetic outcomes in nonsyndromic metopic craniosynostosis

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Catherine Auriemma
Title: An Epidemiologic Study of Decision-Making by Medical Intensivists

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Michael Milone
Title: Converting Between High- and Low- Sensitivity C-Reactive Protein in the Assessment of Periprosthetic Joint Infection

Pediatric Research Prize – Paul Shay
Title: A Comparative Cost Analysis of Cleft Lip Adhesion and Naso-alveolar Molding Prior to Formal Cleft Lip Repair

Pediatric Research Prize –  Douglas Worrall
Title: Mean Corpuscular Hemoglobin Concentration: The Strongest Predictor of Femoral Head Osteonecrosis in Children with Sickle Cell Disease

Pulmonary Research Prize – Katherine Clark
Title:  Angina Pectoris or Myocardial Infarctions, Pulmonary Arteriovenous Malformations, Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia, and Paradoxical Emboli

Renal Research Prize – Yan Yan
Title: Outcomes of Percutaneous Interventions in Transposed Hemodialysis Fistulas Compared with Nontransposed Fistulas and Grafts

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Yang Li
Title: Immune history shapes specificity of pandemic H1N1 influenza antibody responses

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Nick Parrish
Title: Phenotypic properties of transmitted founder HIV-1

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Steven Siegel
Title: Influenza promotes pneumococcal growth during co-infection by providing host sialylated substrates as a nutrient source

Robert M. Toll Prize – Brandon Shulman
Title: Sleep Disturbance Following Fracture is Related to Emotional Well Being Rather than Functional Result

Robert M. Toll Prize – Tapan Patel
Title: Single neuron NMDA receptor phenotype influences neuronal rewiring and re-integration following traumatic injury

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Daniel Abravanel
Title: Notch Promotes Recurrence of Dormant Tumour Cells Following HER2/neu Targeted Therapy

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Penny Fang
Title: Comparative Toxicity and Dosimetric Profile of Proton Versus Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy for Treatment of Prostate Cancer

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Ting Yang
Title: Mutual reinforcement between telomere capping and canonical Wnt pathway activity in the intestinal stem cell niche

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Chuka Didigu
Title: Simultaneous zinc-finger nuclease editing of the HIV coreceptors ccr5 and cxcr4 protects CD41 T cells from HIV-1 infection

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Rohan Joshi
Title: The Zeta Isoform of Diacylglycerol Kinase Plays a Predominant Role in Regulatory T cell Development and TCR-mediated Ras Signaling

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Alexander Pleet
Title: Comparison of legally blind patients to sighted patients in an African American population with primary open-angle glaucoma

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Ayan Chatterjee
Title: Lovastatin Regulates SPARC Expression in Human Trabecular Meshwork Cells

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – David Combs
Title: Tuning voltage-gated channel activity and cellular excitability with a sphingomyelinase