2015 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2015 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Caroline Sloan
Title: Prognosis in patients with acute myeloid leukemia: The role of next-generation sequencing and mutational profiling

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Kamen Simeonov
Title: Lung cancer incidence decreases with elevation: evidence for oxygen as an inhaled carcinogen

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Ryan Jamiolkowski
Title: Increased yield of endothelial cells from peripheral blood for cell therapies and tissue engineering

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Andrew Bauder
Title: The relationship between geographic access to plastic surgeons and immediate breast reconstruction rates among women undergoing mastectomy for cancer

Creskoff Prize – Paul Hess
Title: Platelets mediate lymphovenous hemostasis to maintain bloodlymphatic separation throughout life

David B. P. Goodman Award – Simon Basseyn
Title: Pennsylvania’s Chronic Care Initiative: Associated with Reductions in Healthcare Utilization and Cost among Co-Morbid Medicaid Patients

David B. P. Goodman Award – Sneha Kannan
Title: Organ Motion in Pediatric High-Risk Neuroblastoma Patients Using 4DCT

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Yael Nobel
Title: Racial disparities in living donor liver transplantation

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize –  Mudit Gupta
Title: Genome-nuclear lamina interactions regulate progenitor cell behavior during cardiac development

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize –  Jason Han
Title: Fabrication and In Vivo Perfusion of a Vascularized PDMS Gel with Micro-Channels in a Rat Hind Limb Model

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Arka Mallela
Title:  Altered hand motor network connectivity in brain tumor patients measured with resting state fMRI

John G. Clark Prize – Robert Schwab
Title: Chimeric antigen receptors targeting glycoantigen of Muc1 exhibits broad anti9cancer application

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Oyin Aderibigbe
Title: Distinct cutaneous manifestations, autonomous and cold-induced leukocyte activation associated with PLCG2 mutations

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Bianca Bromberger
Title:  Weight Loss Interventions for Morbidly Obese Patients with Compensated Cirrhosis: A Markov Decision Analysis Model

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Jing Ren
Title: Unintended Side Effects on Laboratory Services of a Performance-Based Incentive Program for Malaria Case Management

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Aaron Richterman
Title: An Assessment of HIV Infected Patients Dying in Care for Deceased Organ Donation in a United States Urban Center

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Chris Hsiung
Title: Genome accessibility is widely preserved and locally modulated during mitosis

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Aaron Stonestrom
Title: Functions of BET proteins in erythroid gene expression

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Jessica Hightower
Title: Back to the Future: Sagittal CT in the Evaluation of COPD

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Amol Agarwal
Title: Effect of Selected Immunosuppressive Therapies on Mucinous Pancreatic Cyst Progression

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Christine Goodbody
Title: It's Not Just the Big Kids: Both High and Low BMI Impact Bracing Success for Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis

Pediatric Research Prize – Atu Agawu
Title: Sociodemographic-disparities-in-HPV vaccine initiation by males

Pulmonary Research Prize – Lisa Tom
Title:  Single center 11-year experience with bronchial artery embolization for hemoptysis: longitudinal pulmonary function, rebleeding and survival

Renal Research Prize – Matthew Allen
Title: Donor Hemodynamics as Predictor of Outcomes after Kidney Transplantation using Donors with Circulatory Determination of Death

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Steven Baldassano
Title: Topological distortion and reorganized modular structure of gut microbial co-occurrence networks in inflammatory bowel disease

Robert M. Toll Prize –  Alexander Gill
Title: Heme oxgyenase-1 deficiency accompanies neuropathogenesis of HIV-associated neurocognitive disorders

Robert M. Toll Prize –  Mara Gordon
Title: Participatory design of a patient-­‐decision aid mobile application for treatments of perinatal depression

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Nam Will Cho
Title: Interchromosomal homology searches drive directional ALT telomere movement and synapsis

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Nicolette Taku
Title: Quantification of vaginal motion associated with daily endorectal balloon placement during whole pelvis radiotherapy for gynecologic cancers of Prostate Cancer

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Rafael Winograd
Title: Induction of T cell immunity overcomes complete resistance to PD-1 and CTLA-4 blockade and improves survival in pancreatic carcinoma

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Jonathan Brestoff
Title: Group 2 innate lymphoid cells promote beiging of white adipose tissue and limit obesity

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award –  Irene Chernova
Title: Lasting Antibody Responses Are Mediated by a Combination of Newly Formed and Established Bone Marrow Plasma Cells Drawn from Clonally Distinct Precursors

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize –  Lucie Guo
Title: Iron increases APP translation and amyloid-beta production in the retina

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize –  Lova Sun
Title: Theranostic application of mixed gold and superparamagnetic iron oxide nanoparticle micelles in glioblastoma multiforme

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize –  Ray Zhang
Title: A circadian gene expression atlas in mammals: Implications for biology and medicine