2016 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2016 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Iris Lee
Title: Pain Catastrophizing and Acupuncture Use Among Breast Cancer Survivors

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Apple Long
Title: WNT10A promotes an invasive and self-renewing phenotype in esophageal
squamous cell carcinoma

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Ryan Carey
Title: Staphylococcus aureus triggers nitric oxide production in human upper airway

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Ayoosh Pareek
Title: Are Female Soccer Players At An Increased Risk of Second Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injury Compared to Their Athletic Peers?

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize - Robert Smith
Title: Patient Perspectives of Acute Pain Management in the Era of the Opioid Epidemic

Creskoff Prize – Nabil Thalji
Title: A rapid pro-hemostatic approach to overcome direct oral anticoagulants: hemostatic efficacy and unexpected mechanism of action

David B. P. Goodman Award – Kimon Ioannides
Title: Medical Students in the Emergency Department and Patient Length of Stay

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Jennifer Levy
Title: Finding and Predictive Value of Esophagography After Peroral Endoscopic Myotomy For Achalasia

Emergency Medicine Prize - Chris Gaw
Title: Emergency Department Visits for Head Trauma in the United States

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize – Julia Rood
Title: ST2 contributes to T cell hyperactivation and fatal hemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis in mice

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Derek Oldridge
Title: Genetic predisposition to neuroblastoma mediated by a LMO1 superenhancer polymorphism

John G. Clark Prize – Eric Lin
Title: The role of IL-6 in the interaction between fibroblasts and tumor cells in esophageal adenocarcinoma

John G. Clark Prize – Jerome Molleston
Title: A conserved virus-induced cytoplasmic TRAMP-like complex recruits the exosome to restrict diverse RNA viruses

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research - Emily Earl-Royal
Title: Variation of Blunt Traumatic Injury with Age in Older Adults: A Statewide Analysis from 2011-2014

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Janice Tiao
Title: Using the American College of Rheumatology and Systemic Lupus International Collaborating Clinics Criteria to Determine Diagnosis of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus in Subacute Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Junqian Zhang
Title: Factors associated with biopsy site identification, postponement of surgery, and patient confidence in a dermatologic surgery practice

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Tina Ho
Title: The Kringle-like domain facilitates post-endoplasmic reticulum changes to PMEL oligomerization and disulfide bond configuration and promotes amyloid formation

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Gregory Kennedy
Title: The Optical Biopsy: A Novel Technique for Rapid Intraoperative Diagnosis of Primary Pulmonary Adenocarcinomas

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – William Kennedy
Title: A Critical Period in Postnatal Neuroplasticity of Olfaction: A Pediatric Tracheostomy Model

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Ari Friedman
Title: Access to Unscheduled Care Across the Continental United States: Primary Care Clinics, Retail Clinics, Urgent Care Clinics, and Emergency Departments

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – James Hui
Title: LASIC: Light Activated Site-Specific Conjugation of Native IgGs

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Louis Kang
Title: Entropic forces stabilize diverse emergent structures in colloidal membranes

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Peter Schwab
Title: Limitations of Cerebral Vasoreactivity in Children with Single-Ventricle Physiology

The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award in Community Engagement & Health Equity Research – Yoonhee Ha
Title: Evaluation of a mobile health approach to tuberculosis contact tracing in Botswana

The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award in Innovation and Implementation Research – Meredith Case
Title: Accuracy of Smartphone Applications and Wearable Devices for Tracking Physical Activity Data

The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award in Innovation and Implementation Research – Lauren Sinnenberg
Title: Twitter as a Data Source for Health Research: A Systematic Review

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Keisha Dodman
Title: Ceftriaxone reverses ketamine-induced lasting EEG and astrocytealterations in juvenile mice

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Brett Dietz
Title: The Relationship Between Sepsis and Adverse Hospital Readmission Outcomes

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Mark Ferreira
Title: Spontaneous Pancreatitis Caused by Tissue-Specific Gene Ablation of Hhex in Mice

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Alex Gornitzky
Title: A Rapid Recovery Pathway for Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis that Improves Pain Control and Reduces Time to Inpatient Recovery following Posterior Spinal Fusion

Pediatric Research Prize – Brian Chang
Title: Influence of Standardized Orientation on Patient Perception of Perioperative Care Following Alveolar Cleft Repair: A Survey Based Study of Patients Treated in a Large Academic Medical Center

Pediatric Research Prize – Wen Xu
Title: Assessing Risk Factors for Hospital Based, Acute Care within 30 Days of Craniosynostosis Surgery using the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)

Pulmonary Research Prize – E. Brooks Riley
Title: Financial Analysis of an Intensive Pediatric Continuous Positive Airway Pressure Program

Renal Research Prize – Bo Qiu
Title: HIF-2α dependent lipid storage promotes endoplasmic reticulum homeostasis in clear cell renal cell carcinoma

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Sesh Sundararaman
Title: Genomes of cryptic chimpanzee Plasmodium species reveal key evolutionary events leading to human malaria

Robert M. Toll Prize – Nana Asabere
Title: Treatment history and functional status in the psychosis spectrum

Robert M. Toll Prize – Ankit Jain
Title: Antibodies from anti-GABAB receptor encephalitis patients are selective GABAB receptor antagonists

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Grace Ma
Title: Increased Risk of Additional Cancers Among Patients with Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumors: A Population-Based Study

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Olaf Rodriguez
Title: Immunostaining for High-Risk Human Papillomavirus in Condyloma Lesions in Immunocompromised Patients

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Michael Nakazawa
Title: Epigenetic Re-expression of HIF-2α Suppresses Soft Tissue Sarcoma Growth

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Paul Ginart
Title: Visualizing allele-specific expression in single cells reveals epigenetic mosaicism in an H19 loss-of-imprinting mutant

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Christopher Hergott
Title: Bacterial exploitation of phosphorylcholine mimicry suppresses inflammation to promote airway infection

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Yafeng Li
Title: Iron-induced Local Complement Component 3 (C3) Upregulation via Non-canonical Transforming Growth Factor (TGF)-β Signaling in the Retinal Pigment Epithelium

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Eva Klinman
Title: Stress-induced CDK5 activation disrupts axonal transport via Lis1/Ndel1/dynein

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Jeffrey Nirschl
Title: α-tubulin tyrosination and CLIP-170 phosphorylation regulate the initiation of dyneindriven transport in neurons

Prizes NOT AWARDED this year:
The Peterman-Arnold Medical Student Award for Endocrinology Research