2017 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2017 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Ian Lamborn
Title: Dominant-activating Gαi2 mutations cause human immunodeficiency and autoimmunity by defective leukocyte migration and altered T cell activation

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Ryan Kiefer
Title: Optimization of a translational rat model of hepatocellular carcinoma and transarterial embolization

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Jonathan Kotzin
Title: The long non-coding RNA Morrbid regulates Bim and short-lived myeloid cell lifespan

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Alan Workman
Title: CALHM1-Mediated ATP Release and Ciliary Beat Frequency Modulation in Airway Epithelial Cells

John G. Clark Prize – Parth Patel
Title: Identification of Pathogenic Gene Mutations in LMNA and MYBPC3 that Alter RNA Splicing

Creskoff Prize – Elizabeth Traxler
Title: A genome-editing strategy to treat β-hemoglobinopathies that recapitulates a mutation associated with a benign genetic condition

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH,  Health Policy Research Prize – Tianyu “Tom” Liu
Title: Physician attitudes toward participating in a financial incentive program for LDL reduction are associated with patient outcomes

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize –  Sila Bal
Title: Presence of Vision Impairment and Risk of Hospitalization Among Elderly Medicare Beneficiaries

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize –  Ian Danford
Title: Characterizing the “POAGome”: a bioinformatics-driven approach to primary open-angle glaucoma

Celso-Ramon Garcia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Jacob Charny
Title: Spironolactone for the Treatment of Acne in Women, a Retrospective Study

David B. P. Goodman Award – Keith Dufendach
Title: Clinical Outcomes and Modes of Death in Timothy Syndrome in the Current Era: A Multi-Center International Study of a Rare Disorder

David B. P. Goodman Award – Shikha Saxena
Title: Invasive Fungal Disease in Pediatric Solid Organ Transplant Recipients

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize Alan Tang
Title: Cerebral cavernous malformations arise from endothelial gain of MEKK3-KLF2/4 signalling

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize Jeremy Zuckerberg
Title: Left Atrial Stiffness: A New Noninvasive Index that May Serve as a Surrogate Marker of Left Ventricular Diastolic Dysfunction in Children

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Sumeet Khetarpal
Title:  Rare variant in scavenger receptor BI raises HDL cholesterol and increases risk of coronary heart disease

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize –  Andrew Murphy
Title: Explicitly Linking Regional Activation and Function Connectivity: Community Structure of Weighted Networks with Continuous Annotation

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Peter Hadar
Title: Clinical Validation of Automated Segmentation of the Hippocampus in Temporal Lobe Epilepsy

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Justin Becker
Title: Isolation of Heterochromatin Reveals Structural Subtypes and Diverse Proteins within Repressed Chromatin Domains

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Awo Layman
Title: Ndfip1 limits mTORC1 activity in regulatory T cells to prevent loss of stability and autoinflammatory disease

The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award in Community Engagement & Health Equity Research – Joshua Franklin
Title: "This thing that I searched so hard for”: normativity and transgression in transgender children’s narratives

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Prateek Agarwal
Title: Early thromboembolic events of prothrombin complex concentrate (PCC) versus fresh frozen plasma (FFP) for warfarin reversal prior to emergency neurosurgical procedures: a retrospective propensity-matched analysis

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Steve Cho
Title: Folate Receptor Overexpression Can Be Visualized in Real Time During Pituitary Adenoma Endoscopic Transsphenoidal Surgery with Near-Infrared Imaging

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Harry Han
Title: Aberrant activin-­‐mediated BMP signaling occurs in ACVR1 mutant DIPGs, but its inhibition does not impact in vitro viability

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Daniel O’Connor
Title: Gender and Milestone Evaluations During Emergency Medicine Residency Training

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Christopher Brusalis
Title: A Dedicated Orthopaedic Trauma Operating Room Improves Efficiency at a Pediatric Center

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Jason Silvestre
Title: National Institutes of Health Funding to Departments of Orthopaedic Surgery at U.S. Medical Schools

Pediatric Research Prize – John Riley
Title: Reduced Oxygen Concentration for the Resuscitation of Infants with Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research – Christina Marcaccio
Title: Early versus Delayed Thoracic Endovascular Aortic Repair in Blunt Traumatic Aortic Injury

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Melissa Frick
Title: Survivorship after lower gastrointestinal (GI) cancers: Patient reported outcomes and planning for care

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – George Fryhofer
Title: Postinjury Biomechanics of Achilles Tendon Vary by Sex and Hormone Status

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Jacqueline Soegaard-Ballester
Title: Patient Preference for Time-Saving Telehealth Postoperative Visits after Routine Surgery in an Urban Setting

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Michael Loesche
Title: Temporal Stability in Chronic Wound Microbiota Is Associated With Poor Healing

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Miranda Rosenberg
Title: Changes in Retail Prices of Prescription Dermatologic Drugs From 2009 to 2015

Robert M. Toll Prize –  Mark Morales
Title: Measures and Predictors of Varenicline Adherence in Nicotine Dependence

Robert M. Toll Prize –  Hoameng Ung
Title: Interictal Epileptiform Activity outside the Seizure Onset Zone Impacts Cognition

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Robery Dilley
Title: Break-induced telomere synthesis underlies alternative telomere maintenance

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award –  Monica Liu
Title: Mutations along a TET2 active site scaffold stall oxidation at 5-hydroxymethylcytosine

Prizes NOT AWARDED this year:
Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize
Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize
Emergency Medicine Prize
The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award in Innovation and Implementation Research
Pulmonary Research Prize
Renal Research Prize
Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research