2019 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2019 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Allyson Lieberman
Title: Deletion of calcineurin promotes a pro-tumorigenic fibroblast phenotype

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Taylor Linaburg
Title: Hodgkin lymphoma patients have an increased incidence of idiopathic acquired aplastic anemia

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Lin Xi
Title: Deep learning for differentiation of benign and malignant solid liver lesions on ultrasonography

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Ivy Maina
Title: Clinical Implications of Carcinoma-in-situ in Sinonasal Inverted Papilloma

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Kavitha Muralidharan
Title: CAR T-cell therapy is effective for CD19-dim B-lymphoblastic leukemia but is impacted by prior blinatumomab therapy

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Vasiliki Triantafillou
Title: Broncho-Vaxom ® (OM-85 BV) soluble components stimulate sinonasal innate immunity

John G. Clark Prize – Austin Good
Title: An ERK/hnRNPK/JUND axis regulates pancreatic β cell survival

Creskoff Prize – Ethan Mack
Title: Trib1 regulates eosinophil lineage commitment and identity by restraining the neutrophil program

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH,  Health Policy Research Prize – Olivia Bernal
Title: Patient Satisfaction and Perceived Quality of Care among Younger Medicare Beneficiaries According to Activity Limitation Stages

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH,  Health Policy Research Prize – J. Logan Brock
Title: Postoperative opioid cessation rates based on preoperative opioid use: Analysis of common orthopedic procedures

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Adeeti Aggarwal
Title: Coherence of visual-evoked gamma oscillations is disrupted by propofol but preserved under equipotent doses of isoflurane

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Makayla McCoskey
Title: Association between Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma and Cognitive Impairment as Measured by the Montreal Cognitive Assessment

Celso-Ramon Garcia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Bryan Holtzman
Title: Characterization of risk quantification differences using Female Athlete Triad Cumulative Risk Assessment and Relative Energy Deficiency in Sport Clinical Assessment Tool

David B. P. Goodman Award – Divyansh Agarwal
Title: Immune response to influenza vaccination in the elderly is altered by chronic medication use

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Lohith Kini
Title: Quantitative (18)FDG PET asymmetry features improve surgical outcome prediction in refractory epilepsy

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Michael Randazzo
Title: Spectral tilt underlies mathematical problem solving

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Samuel (Samy) Belfer
Title: A Drosophila Model of Sleep Restriction Therapy for Insomnia

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Christina Wright
Title: Down Syndrome Mouse Models have an Abnormal Enteric Nervous System

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Michael Duong
Title: Convolutional Neural Network for Automated FLAIR Lesion Segmentation on Clinical Brain MR

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Christopher Corbett
Title: Survival Benefit Persists with Delayed Initiation of Adjuvant Chemotherapy following Radical Cystectomy for Locally Advanced Bladder Cancer

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Mingen (Jason) Liu
Title: Metabolic rewiring of macrophages by CpG potentiates clearance of cancer cells and overcomes tumor-expressed CD47-mediated ‘don’t eat me signal

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Mallika Marar
Title: Acute Hospital Encounters in Cancer Patients Treated with Definitive Radiation Therapy

Gail Morrison Prize (NEW award) – Lanair Lett
Title: Declining racial and ethnic representation in clinical academic medicine: A longitudinal study of 16 US medical specialties

Gail Morrison Prize (NEW award) – Rachel Sweeney
Title: Understanding Debriefing: A Qualitative Study of Event Reconstruction at an Academic Medical Center

The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award
 in Community Engagement & Health Equity Research – James Ding
Title: A Proposed Health Systems Model to Improve the Quality of Healthcare of Transgender Patient Populations

The Masters of Science in Health Policy Research Medical Student Award
in Innovation & Implementation Research – Alexis Holmes
Title: Teledermatology consultation can optimize treatment of cutaneous disease by non-dermatologists in under-resourced clinics

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Yohannes Ghenbot
Title: Learning active sensing strategies using a sensory brain-machine interface

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Ian Caplan
Title: Analysis of post-surgical bracing interventions to develop a cost-containment strategy and improve patient quality of life

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Joshua Bram
Title: How Do Race and Insurance Status Affect the Care of Pediatric Anterior Cruciate Ligament Injuries?

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Elizabeth Card
Title: A Description of Practices and Perspectives of Traditional Bone Setters in Northern Tanzania

Pediatric Research Prize – Clare Cutri-French
Title: Comparison of core features in four Developmental Encephalopathies in the Rett Natural History Study

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Ian Berger
Title: 30-day Readmission After Radical Cystectomy: Identifying Targets for Improvement Using the Phases of Surgical Care

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Michael Randall
Title: Neuroblastoma-associated BARD1 germline mutations cause somatic defects in DNA double-strand break repair.

Pulmonary Research Prize – Nicole Curnes
Title: Lack of Growth of Small Untreated Pulmonary Arteriovenous Malformation in Patients with Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia

Renal Research Prize – Alexander Morrison
Title: Class and kinetics of weakly reactive pre-transplant donor-specific HLA antibodies predict rejection in kidney transplant recipients

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Jaclyn Mauch
Title: The Abdominal Hernia-Q: Development, Psychometric Evaluation, and Prospective Testing

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Ziyang Xu
Title: Synthetic DNA delivery by electroporation promotes robust in vivo sulfation of broadly neutralizing anti-HIV immunoadhesin eCD4-Ig

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – William Fix
Title: Melanomas of the head and neck have high local recurrence risk features and require tissue rearranging reconstruction more commonly than BCC and SCC: A comparison of indications for microscopic margin control prior to reconstruction in 13,664 tumors

Robert M. Toll Prize – Bianca Nfonoyim
Title: Disparities in Childhood ADHD Symptom Severity by Neighborhood Poverty

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Omar Khan
Title: The HMG transcription factor TOX induces a transcriptional and epigenetic program of CD8+ T cell exhaustion in chronic infection and cancer.

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Mischa Li
Title: Phosphorylation of TIP60 Suppresses 53BP1 Localization at DNA Damage Sites

Prizes NOT AWARDED this year:
Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize
Edward Raffensperger Research Prize
Emergency Medicine Prize
George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize
John Pryor Award for Trauma Research
Peterman-Arnold for Endocrinology