Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Clinical Neuroscience Training Program

Faculty Advisory Board

CNST Faculty Advisors work together to shape CNST programs, review summer research proposals, and provide mentorship to CNST students. 

Daniel Wolf, MD, PhD, Director of CNST:  Psychiatry
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Director, Laboratory for Motivation in Psychosis (LAMP)
danwolf@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Xilma R Ortiz-González, MD, PhD, Associate-Director of CNST:  Neurology
Assistant Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania
Neurogenetics Program & Center for Mitochondrial and Epigenomic Medicine
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
ortizgonzalez@email.chop.edu

H. Isaac Chen, MD: Neurosurgery
Assistant Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
Isaac.Chen@uphs.upenn.edu 

Mariella De Biasi, PhD: Basic Neuroscience
Associate Professor of Neuroscience in Psychiatry
Director, Program on Cholinergic Mechanisms in Addiction and Mental Illness
marielde@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Cesar de la Fuente, PhD; Bioengineering 
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
cfuente@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Richard L. Doty, PhD:  Otorhinolaryngology
Professor, Department of Otorhinolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery
Director, Smell and Taste Center, University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Richard.Doty@uphs.upenn.edu

Emily Falk, PhD:  Cognitive Neuroscience and Psychology 
Associate Professor of Communication, Psychology, and Marketing
Director, Communication Neuroscience Lab
emilybfalk@gmail.com

Roy Hamilton, MD:  Neurology
Associate Professor, Department of Neurology
Director, Laboratory for Cognition and Neural Stimulation (LCNS)
Assistant Dean of Diversity and Inclusion
roy.hamilton@uphs.upenn.edu

Michelle J. Johnson, PhD:  Neuro-rehabilitation
Assistant Professor Of Physical Medicine And Rehabilitation
Director, Rehabilitation Robotics Laboratory
Michelle.Johnson2@uphs.upenn.edu

Max B. Kelz, MD, PhD:  Anesthesiology
David E. Longnecker Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Chair of Admissions, Department of Neuroscience MD/PhD program
MSTP Program Advisor
Director for Research Education, Department of Anesthesiology
kelzma@uphs.upenn.edu

Edward B. Lee, MD, PhD:  Neuropathology
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Director, Translational Neuropathology Research Laboratory
edward.lee@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

J. Eric Schmitt, MD, PhD: Neuroradiology
Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology
James.Schmitt@uphs.upenn.edu

Kenneth S. Shindler, MD, PhD:  Neuro-opthalmology
Associate Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
kenneth.shindler@uphs.upenn.edu