People


Leadership

Peter Groeneveld, MD, MS

Peter Groeneveld, MD, MS

 petergro@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Director, CAVOQER Center
Professor of Medicine

Peter Groeneveld, MD, MS is the Director of the Cardiovascular Outcomes, Quality, and Evaluative Research (CAVOQER) Center.  Pete earned his S.B. in Computer, Electrical, and Systems Engineering at Harvard University in 1991, his M.D. at Tufts University in 1995, and his M.S. in Health Services Research from Stanford University in 2003.  He completed his medicine internship and residency at the University of California-San Francisco in 1998.  Pete joined Penn's faculty as an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine in 2003. He was promoted to Associate Professor of Medicine in 2012 and then to Professor of Medicine in 2018.  Pete is a nationally recognized outcomes investigator for his work on the health outcomes, comparative effectiveness, economics, and societal effects of implantable cardiovascular devices.  He has coauthored more than 75 manuscripts published in peer-reviewed journals including JAMA, JAMA Cardiology, Circulation, the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, American Heart Journal, Heart Rhythm, Health Affairs, and Medical Care.  Pete is a Fellow of both the American Heart Association and the American College of Physicians, he is Director of Research at Penn’s Leonard Davis Institute for Health Economics, and he is Chair of the Research and Development Committee at the Michael J. Crescenz (Philadelphia) Veterans Affairs’ Medical Center.

Nimesh Desai, MD, PhD

Nimesh Desai, MD, PhD

 nimesh.desai@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Director, CAVOQER Center
Assistant Professor of Surgery

Nimesh Desai is Associate Director of CAVOQER.  Nimesh received his medical degree from the Schulich School of Medicine at the University of Western Ontario and his PhD in clinical epidemiology from the University of Toronto. He completed an integrated cardiac surgery residency at the University of Toronto and an advanced surgical fellowship at Penn Medicine with an emphasis on aortic and endovascular surgery.  He. Nimesh's clinical focus is on advanced aortic surgery, both endovascular and open, percutaneous aortic valve replacement, complex valve surgery, multiple arterial grafting and hybrid surgical approaches to atrial fibrillation. Nimesh's research interests include conducting large multi-center clinical trials to assess new cardiovascular technologies and health process and outcomes evaluations to improve quality of care for cardiac patients.  He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada.

Jay Giri, MD, MPH

Jay Giri, MD, MPH

 jay.giri@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Director, CAVOQER Center
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

Jay Giri is Assoicate Director of CAVOQER.  Jay received his M.D. from Northwestern University and subsequently completed training in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, a cardiology fellowship at Penn, and an interventional cardiology fellowship at MGH.  He is director of Cardiovascular Catheterization at the Corporal Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center and the Director of Peripheral Intervention in the Cardiovascular Medicine Division at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.  His clinical interests include complex coronary artery intervention, peripheral artery disease, venous thromboembolism, and transcatheter aortic valve replacement. His clinical outcomes research is focused on emerging endovascular technologies and interventional pharmacotherapies.


Core Faculty

Benjamin Abella, MD, MPhil

Benjamin Abella, MD, MPhil

 benjamin.abella@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Associate Scholar, Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Vice Chair of Research, Department of Emergency Medicine
Director, Center for Resuscitation Science

Sri Adusumalli, MD, MSc

Sri Adusumalli, MD, MSc

 Sri.Adu@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Assistant Program Director, Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program

Joseph Bavaria, MD

Joseph Bavaria, MD

 Joseph.Bavaria@uphs.upenn.edu

Brooke Roberts/William Maul Measey Professor of Surgery
Co-Director, Transcatheter Valve Program
Director, Thoracic Aortic Surgery Program
Vice Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Surgery

Edo Birati, MD

Edo Birati, MD

 Edo.Birati@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine 
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Marisa Cevasco, MD, MPH

Marisa Cevasco, MD, MPH

 Marisa.Cevasco@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Surgery 
Division of Cardiovascular Surgery

Scott Damrauer, MD

Scott Damrauer, MD

 Scott.Damrauer@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Surgery
Division of Vascular Surgery

Rajat Deo, MD, MTR

Rajat Deo, MD, MTR

 Rajat.Deo@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Sanjay Dixit, MD

Sanjay Dixit, MD

 Sanjay.Dixit@uphs.upenn.edu

Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Director, Cardiac Electrophysiology
Philadelphia VA Medical Center

Andrew Epstein, PhD, MPP

Andrew Epstein, PhD, MPP

 andrew.epstein@medicuseconomics.com

Staff Economist
Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center

Alexander Fanaroff, MD, MHS

Alexander Fanaroff, MD, MHS

 Alexander.Fanaroff@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Paul Fiorilli, MD

Paul Fiorilli, MD

 Paul.Fiorilli@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

David Frankel, MD

David Frankel, MD

 David.Frankel@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine 
Director, Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship

Melanie Freas, DNP, CRNP

Melanie Freas, DNP, CRNP

 Melanie.Freas@uphs.upenn.edu

Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Lee Goldberg, MD, MPH

Lee Goldberg, MD, MPH

 Lee.Goldberg@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Medical Director, Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplant Program
Vice Chair for Informatics, Department of Medicine

Betsy Goldmuntz, MD

Betsy Goldmuntz, MD

 goldmuntz@email.chop.edu

Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Cardiology
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Rachel Hadler, MD

Rachel Hadler, MD

 Rachel.Hadler@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care

Howard Julien, MD, MPH

Howard Julien, MD, MPH

 Howard.Julien@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor Of Clinical Medicine

Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Genevieve Kanter, PhD

Genevieve Kanter, PhD

 gpkanter@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Assistant Professor of Medicine
Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Economist, Penn Center for Precision Medicine
Investigator, Penn Center for Pharmacoepidemiology Research and Training

Sameed Khatana, MD, MPH

Sameed Khatana, MD, MPH

 Sameed.Khatana@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Instructor, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Stephen Kimmel, MD, MSCE

Stephen Kimmel, MD, MSCE

 stevek@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Director, Center for Therapeutic Effectiveness Research

Taisei Kobayashi, MD

Taisei Kobayashi, MD

 Taisei.Kobayashi@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

Bonnie Ky, MD, MSCE

Bonnie Ky, MD, MSCE

 bonnie.ky@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology in Biostatistics and Epidemiology

Meghan Lane-Fall, MD, MSHP

Meghan Lane-Fall, MD, MSHP

 Meghan.LaneFall@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the Perelman School of Medicine
Co-Director, Penn Center for Perioperative Outcomes Research and Transformation
Assistant Director, Penn Center for Healthcare Improvement and Patient Safety

Jennifer Lewey, MD, MPH

Jennifer Lewey, MD, MPH

 Jennifer.Lewey@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Emily Mackay, DO

Emily Mackay, DO

 emily.mackay@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care

Raina Merchant, MD, MSHP

Raina Merchant, MD, MSHP

 Raina.Merchant@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Vice President and Dirctor, Center for Digital Health Penn Medicine
Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
Co-Director National Clinician Scholars Program

Mark Neuman, MD, MSc

Mark Neuman, MD, MSc

 Mark.Neuman@uphs.upenn.edu

Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Director, Penn Center for Perioperative Outcomes Research and Transformation (CPORT)
Investigator, Penn Center for Pharmacoepidemiology Research and Training

Michael O'Byrne, MD, MSCE

Michael O'Byrne, MD, MSCE

 OBYRNEM@email.chop.edu

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Perelman School of Medicine

Interventional Cardiologist, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Faculty, Center for Pediatric Clinical Effectiveness, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Associate Director, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia's Cardiac Center Research Core

Prakash Patel, MD, FASE

Photo Unavailable

 Prakash.Patel@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care

Barbara Riegel, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN

Barbara Riegel, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN

 briegel@nursing.upenn.edu

Professor at School of Nursing
Director, Biobehavioral Interest Group
Edith Clemmer Steinbright Professor of Gerontology

Joseph Rossano, MD, MS, FAAP, FACC

Joseph Rossano, MD, MS, FAAP, FACC

 rossanoj@email.chop.edu

Chief, Division of Cardiology
Co-Executive Director, the Cardiac Center
Jennifer Terker Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiology
Associate Professor of Pediatrics at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Perelman School of Medicine Medical Director

Joseph Savino, MD

Joseph Savino, MD

 savinoj@uphs.upenn.edu

Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Vice Chairman, Strategic Planning and Clinical Operations
Department of Anesthesia and Critical Car

Sandy Schwartz, MD

Photo Unavailable

 schwartz@wharton.upenn.edu

Leon Hess Professor in Internal Medicine
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Health Care Management
Professor of Economics

Eugenia South, MD, MSHP

Eugenia South, MD, MSHP

 Eugenia.South@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine

Paul Wallace, MD

Paul Wallace, MD

 Paul.Wallace@uphs.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

Grace Wang, MD

Grace Wang, MD

 wanggr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Assistant Professor of Surgery
Assistant Professor of Radiology

Robert Wilensky, MD

Robert Wilensky, MD

 Robert.Wilensky@uphs.upenn.edu

Professor of Medicine
Director, Interventional Cardiology Research
Director, Interventional Cardiology Training Program


Fellows

Chase Brown, MD

Chase Brown, MD

 Chase.Brown@uphs.upenn.edu

Resident, Cardiothoracic Surgery

Elias Dayoub, MD, MPP

Elias Dayoub, MD, MPP

 Elias.Dayoub@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Lauren Eberly, MD, MPH

Lauren Eberly, MD, MPH

 Lauren.Eberly@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Jonathan Edelson, MD

Jonathan Edelson, MD

 edelsonj@email.chop.edu

Fellow, Pediatric Cardiology

Andrew Goldstone, MD, PhD

Andrew Goldstone, MD, PhD

 Andrew.Goldstone2@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Fellow, Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Thomas Hanff, MD, MPH

Thomas Hanff, MD, MPH

 Thomas.Hanff@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Norrisa Haynes, MD, MPH

Norrisa Haynes, MD, MPH

 Norissa.Haynes@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Timothy Markman, MD

Timothy Markman, MD

 Timothy.Markman@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Jacob Martin, MD, MSCR

Jacob Martin, MD, MSCR

 Jacob.Martin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Resident, Internal Medicine

Ashwin Nathan, MD

Ashwin Nathan, MD

 Ashwin.Nathan@uphs.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

William Patrick, MD

William Patrick, MD

 William.Patrick@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Resident, Cardiothoracic Surgery 

Omar Ramadan, MD

Omar Ramadan, MD

 Omar.Ramadan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Resident, Department of Surgery

Matthew Seigerman, MD

Matthew Seigerman, MD

 Matthew.Seigerman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Mahesh Vidula, MD

Mahesh Vidula, MD

 mahesh.vidula@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Fellow, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine


Staff

Andrea Segal, MS, MPH

Andrea Segal, MS, MPH

Project Manager

Abby Kearns

Abby Kearns

Administrative Coordinator

Janell Olah

Janell Olah

Coordinator

Lin Yang, MSE

Photo Unavailable

Biostatistician