Recruitment of a new director for the Institute on Aging


We write to initiate the internal search for a successor to Dr. John Trojanowski as the director for the Institute on Aging (IOA) at the University of Pennsylvania.

The mission of the IOA is to improve the health of older adults by increasing the quality and quantity of clinical, basic and health services research as well as educational programs focusing on normal aging and aging-related diseases across the entire Penn campus.  The IOA is a model of collaborative science, and through its cross-cutting network of investigators, educational programs, and funding opportunities, it fosters a robust research community.  A wide variety of basic and clinical research includes innovative work on neurodegenerative diseases, frailty, longevity, and geroscience, among other areas.

The Director is responsible for establishing the goals and objectives of the IOA, including all academic, research, and operational aspects.  The Director will oversee close collaborations among scientists, researchers, and clinicians across campus, the IOA fellowship program, and the pilot grant program, with a strong focus in promoting the continuous groundbreaking aging-related research at Penn through educational programs, events, and development opportunities.

Applicants for the position must hold an MD and/or PhD degree and qualify for faculty appointment as Associate or full Professor in the Standing Faculty of the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.  Qualified candidates should have outstanding leadership attributes, embrace diversity and reflect inclusivity in the broadest sense, and demonstrate a commitment to foster the exceptional research endeavors of the IOA.  The Director will be appointed by and report to the Dean of the Perelman School of Medicine and partner closely with the Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer (EVD/CSO).  The role will include an administrative stipend.

Individuals who are interested in applying for this position should submit a CV and a brief (one-page) statement describing a programmatic vision by September 15, 2021.  Please forward all application materials directly to the Office of the Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer at

The selection committee, advisory to the Dean, will be chaired by John Dani, and will include: Nancy Bonini, Jay Gottfried, Raquel Gur, Roy Hamilton, Jason Karlawish, and Li-San Wang.

Thank you for your attention to this important institutional opportunity.

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD, Dean


Jon Epstein, MD, Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer