Affiliate Members

A  |  B  |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O  |  P  |  Q  |  R  |  S  |  T  |  U  |  V  |  W  |  X  |  Y  |  Z


Member/Title/Institution

Email

Keywords

Allison Altman Singles, PhD
Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Mechanical Engineering
Penn State Berks
 

ara5093@psu.edu Biomechanics, gait, bone, running injury

Ugur M Ayturk
Assistant Scientist, Department of Musculoskeletal Integrity
Hospital for Special Surgery

ayturku@hss.edu Bone Biology, Osteoblasts, Orthopaedics

Sriram Balasubramanian, PhD
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health
Drexel University

sb939@drexel.edu Pediatric Orthopaedic Biomechanics

Mary Barbe, PhD
Professor, Anatomy & Cell Biology
Temple University

mbarbe@temple.edu

Repetitive strain injury, overuse injury, muscle fibrosis, bone biology, carpal tunnel syndrome

Evangelia Bellas, PhD
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Temple University

evangelia.bellas@temple.edu Adipose Tissue Engineering, Obesity, In Vitro Disease Models, Angiogenesis, Organs-on-Chip, Soft Tissue Regeneration

Pedro K. Beredjiklian, MD
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Rothman Institute

Pedro.Beredjiklian@rothmaninstitute.com

Tendon injury, scar formation, regenerative healing cytokines, collagen
 

Benjamin Binder-Markey, PhD
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
Drexel University

bb983@drexel.edu Muscle mechanics, biomechanics, muscle adaptation, stroke, cancer

Jarrett D. Cain, DPM, MSc
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation
University of Pittsburgh

cain1074@gmail.com Diabetic bone healing, foot & ankle biomechanics, diabetic tendon healing

Xu Cao, PhD
Lee Riley Professor
Orthopedic Surgery
Johns Hopkins Medical Institute
**New Member**

xcao11@jhmi.edu

Bone remodeling, Osteoarthritis

Nicole M. Cattano, MPH, ATC
Assistant Professor of Sports Medicine
West Chester University
NCattano@wcupa.edu Osteoarthritis, biomarker, knee injury, tissue trauma, meniscus, ligament, pathophysiologybiochemical, disease modifying, interventions
Pei-Yu Chen, PhD
Senior Research Scientist, Cardiovascular Research Center
Yale University
pei-yu.chen@yale.edu Cardiovascular disease, stem cell, connective tissue disease

Qing Chen, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology, Microenvironment & Metastasis Program, The Wistar Institute Cancer Center
**New Member**

qichen@wistar.org Cancer metastasis

Lesley Chow, PhD
Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering / Bioengineering
Lehigh University
**New Member**

lesley.chow@lehigh.edu Biomaterials, 3D printing, spatial organization, peptides, biodegradable polymers, functionalized polymers, self-assembly
John Collins, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Jefferson University
john.collins2@jefferson.edu Aging, osteoarthritis, sirtuins, oxidative stress, stem cell biology
Stephanie Cone, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
**New Member**
sgcone@udel.edu Tendon, ligament, biomechanics, growth, rehabilitation

Daniel H. Cortes, PhD
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Penn State University
**New Member**

dhc13@psu.edu Soft tissue biomechanics and imaging

Hannah L. Dailey, PhD
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Mechanics
Lehigh University

hlr3@lehigh.edu Orthopaedic trauma, fracture healing, computational mechanics

Uday Dasika, MD
Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery, Tower Health/ Assistant Professor, Surgery
Drexel University

uday.dasika@towerhealth.org Cardiothoracic Surgery, Sternal wire closure technique

Jing Du, PhD
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Penn State University
**New Member**

jingdu@psu.edu Mechanical behaviors of biological tissues and biomedical devices
John Eberth, PhD
Associate Professor, BIOMED
Drexel University
**New Member**
jfe28@drexel.edu Cardiovascular biomechanics and mechanobiology

John Elfar, MD
Professor, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Penn State Hersey
**New Member**

jxe263@psu.edu Mangling limb injury atrophy peripheral nerve

Reyad A. Elbarbary, PhD
Assistant Professor
Penn State College of Medicine
**New Member**

rae19@psu.edu Bone healing, obesity, Type 2 Diabetes, Osteoarthritis, non-coding RNAs, RNA-binding proteins, Retrotransposons

Dawn Elliott, PhD
Department Chair
Blue & Gold Distinguished Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
**New Member**

delliott@udel.edu Biomechanics, disc, meniscus, tendon

Motomi Enomoto-Iwamoto, DDS, PhD
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Maryland
**New Member**

Motomi.iwamoto@som.umaryland.edu Cartilage development, cartilage pathology, tendon injury
Joseph Freeman, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Rutgers University
**New Member**
joseph.freeman@rutgers.edu Musculoskeletal tissue engineering

Edward J. Fox, M.D.
Professor, Musculoskeletal Oncology Service
Penn State University Milton S. Hershey College of Medicine
**New Member**

efox1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Musculoskeletal Oncology, Osteoporosis
Joseph Freeman, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Rutgers University
**New Member**
joseph.freeman@rutgers.edu Musculoskeletal tissue engineering

Theresa Freeman, PhD 
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Theresa.Freeman@jefferson.edu

Fracture healing, MicroCT and histology, image analysis and processing, osteoarthritis, tissue regeneration, plasma biology

Tomas Gonzalez Fernandez, PhD
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Lehigh University
**New Member**
tog221@lehigh.edu Mesenchymal stromal cells, biomaterials, tissue engineering, gene therapy, bone, cartilage
Jonathan Grasman, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
New Jersey Institute of Technology
**New Member**
grasman@njit.edu Skeletal muscle tissue engineering, innervation, neurovascular interactions, neuromuscular interactions
X. Edward Guo, PhD
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Columbia University
**New Member**
exg1@columbia.edu Bone Biomechanics and Mechanobiology

Lin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, School of Biomedical Engineering, Science & Health System, Drexel University

lh535@drexel.edu

Osteoarthritis, atomic force microscopy, nanomechanics, meniscus, cartilage|

Li-Hsin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Mechanics
Drexel University

lh573@drexel.edu Cartilage Repair, Stem Cells, Tissue Engineering, Biopolymer, Scaffold, Microfabrication
Woojin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai
woojin.han@mssm.edu Skeletal muscle, biomaterials, stem cells, cell-matrix interactions, regenerative medicine
Christopher Hernandez, PhD
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Cornell University
cjh275@cornell.edu Biomechanics; bone; orthopaedics

Noreen J. Hickok, PhD
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Noreen.Hickok@jefferson.edu Infection, bone-biomaterial interface, joint environment, spine prosthesis
Dirk Hubmacher, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
**New Member**
dirk.hubmacher@mssm.edu Extracellular matrix, proteases, connective tissue disorders, short stature syndromes, disease modeling
Parsaoran Hutapea, PhD
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Temple University
**New Member**
hutapea@temple.edu Mechanics of surgical needle in tissues

Jie Jiang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Maryland
**New Member**

jie.jiang@som.umaryland.edu Tendon development, regeneration and mechanotransduction

Fadia Kamal, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Penn State Hersey

fkamal@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Osteoarthritis, chondrocyte hypertrophy, GPCR signaling

Yibin Kang, PhD
Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor, Molecular Biology
Princeton University

ykang@princeton.edu

Breast cancer, bone metastasis, osteoclastogenesis, tumor-stromal
interactions, TGF-b, Notch

Minwook Kim, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine/Molecular Biology
Rowan University
**New Member**
kimmin@rowan.edu Joint development, Cartilage biology and bioengineering

Eric Klein, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biology
Rutgers University
**New Member**

eric.a.klein@rutgers.edu Microbiology, tissue stiffness, pathogenesis

Greg Lewis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Penn State Hersey

greglewis@psu.edu

Fracture fixation, Shoulder replacement biomechanics, Computer simulation, Micro-CT analysis

Christopher Li, PhD
Professor of Materials Science
Drexel University

cyl24@drexel.edu Structure and morphology of polymeric and hybrid materials for energy and biomedical applications

Kang Li, PhD
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Rutgers University
**New Member**

kang.li.research@gmail.com

Musculoskeletal Biomechanics, Rehabilitation Biomechanics, Data Science, Machine Learning, and Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare, Musculoskeletal Imaging, Medical Image Analysis

 

Qiaoli Li, PhD
Professor, Dermatology & Cutaneous Biology
Thomas Jefferson University
qiaoli.li@jefferson.edu Bone and mineral research
Joohyun Lim, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biological Science
University of Delaware
limj@udel.edu Osteogenesis Imperfecta, temporomandibular joint, tendon, mouse genetics

David Logerstedt, PT, PhD, MPT,SCS
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy
University of the Sciences

d.logerstedt@usciences.edu

Anterior cruciate ligament injury, articular cartilage injury, sports medicine, rehabilitation, physical therapy, biomechanics, clinical outcomes, musculoskeletal

Douglas Lundy, MD
Department Chair and Adjunct Associate Professor
St. Luke's University Health and Temple University
**New Member**
douglas.lundy@sluhn.org Orthopaedic trauma

Michele Staud Marcolongo, PhD
Department Head and Professor of MSE
Drexel University

marcolms@drexel.edu Orthopaedic biomaterials
John Martin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Rush University
**New Member**
john_martin@rush.edu Spine, low back pain, imaging, machine learning, social determinants of health, exercise, cancer

Rowena McBeath, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor/Attending Surgeon
Thomas Jefferson University

rowena.mcbeath@gmail.com Tendon, mechanobiology, signaling

Patricia Miguez, DDS, MS, PhD
Assistant Professor, Adams School of Dentistry
University of North Carolina

miguezp@unc.edu

Extracellular matrix, proteoglycan, glycosaminoglycan, ECM biomodification via phytochemicals, bone homeostasis, bone regeneration

Sarah Millar, PhD
Director, Black Family Stem Cell Institute
Professor, Cell, Developmental & Regenerative Biology, and Dermatology and Oncological Sciences
Icahn Mount Sinai

sarah.millar@mssm.edu Skin, hair follicles, teeth, mammary gland, Wnt signaling, epigenetics

Clare Milner, PhD
Associate Professor, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
Drexel University

milner@drexel.edu Gait analysis, lower extremity, wearables, rehabilitation science, biomechanics

Surena Namdari, MD, MSC
Assistant Professor of Shoulder & Elbow Surgery
Rothman Institute

Surena.Namdari@rothmanortho.com

shoulder arthroplasty, periprosthetic infection, shoulder & elbow surgery,
rotator cuff repair, fracture fixation, Osteoporosis, shoulder arthritis

Michael O'Connor, MD, PhD
Professor, Biodiversity Earth and Environmental Science / Biology
Drexel University
oconnomp@drexel.edu Energetics, allometry, biophysical ecology

David Paglia, PhD
RBHS Instructor
Rutgers University

pagliada@njms.rutgers.edu Fracture Healing, Disc Degeneration
Nicola Partridge, PhD
Professor, Molecular Pathobiology
New York University College of Dentistry
**New Member**
ncp234@nyu.edu Parathyroid hormone, osteoblast gene transcription, transcription factors, coactivators, salt-inducible kinases, signal transduction

Javad Parvizi, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

javadparvizi@gmail.com

hip & knee arthroplasty, periprosthetic joint infection, femoroacetabular impingment, developmental dysplasia of the hip, primary & revision arthroplasty

Megan Phifer-Rixey
Assistant Professor, Biology
Drexel Unviersity
**New Member**
mp3754@drexel.edu Evolution, genomics

Nancy Pleshko, PhD
Professor of Bioengineering
Temple University

npleshko@temple.edu

Cartilage repair; tissue engineering, spectroscopy, imaging, bone mineralization,
Collagen structure

William Querido, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Temple University
william.querido@temple.edu Bone, Biomineralization, Infrared spectroscopy

Makarand V. Risbud, PhD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery &
Cell and Developmental Biology
Thomas Jefferson University

Makarand.Risbud@jefferson.edu

Intervertebral disc, nucleus pulposus, hypoxia, HIF proteins, osmoregulation, TonEBP, degenerative disc disease, inflammatory cytokines 

Joel Rosenbloom, MD, PhD
Department of Dermatology & Cutaneous Biology
Thomas Jefferson University

Joel.Rosenbloom@gmail.com

Fibrosis, Fibrotic Diseases, Pulmonary Fibrosis, Keloids, Adhesions, TGF- b,
Cardiac Fibrosis, Cytokine Signaling Pathways, Deep burns

Ronaldo Santana, DDS, MScD, DSc
Professor of Periodontology and Oral Implantology, Deputy Department Chair
Temple University
**New Member**
ronaldo.santana@temple.edu Oral Implantology, Bone regeneration, Bone biology

James J. Sciote DDS, MS, PhD
Professor of Orthodontics
Temple University

jjs6@dental.temple.edu

Clinical orthodontics, dentofacial deformities, orthognathic surgery, skeletal muscle
biology, physiology, human genetics

Irving M. Shapiro BDS, PhD
Anthony and Gertrude DePalma Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Irving.Shapiro@jefferson.edu

Cartilage, bone, intervertebral disc, osteoarthritis, apoptosis, autophagy, chondrocyte, osteoblast, nucleus, pulposus, hypoxia

Sue Shapses, PhD
Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences; Center Director of Nutr/Exercise Metabolism at NJ-IFNH; Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine, Rutgers-RWJ Medical School
Rutgers University

shapese@Rutgers.edu

Calcium and vitamin D metabolism, diet, endocrine and obesity and osteoporosis

Karin Grävare Silbernagel, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Therapy
University of Delaware

kgsilbernagel@gmail.com

Tendon, Achilles tendinopathy, Achilles tendon rupture, clinical outcomes, rehabilitation

Kara L. Spiller
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Drexel University

kls35@drexel.edu Biomaterials engineering, inflammation, tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, wound healing

Joseph Stains, PhD
Professor
Department of Orthopaedics
University of Maryland

jstains@som.umaryland.edu Osteoblast, Osteocyte, Signaling, Mechanotransduction, Intercellular Communication, Sclerostin

Spencer Szczesny, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University

ses297@engr.psu.edu Tendon, mechanics, mechanobiology, computational modeling
Sunil Thomas, PhD
Professor
Lankenau Institute for Medical Research
**New Member**
thomass-02@mlhs.org Cell biology

Gary L. Thompson, PhD
Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering
Rowan University

thompsong@rowan.edu Bioelectrics, Mechanobiology, Tissue Engineering

Marco Tizzano, PhD
Assistant Member, Monell Chemical Senses Center
**New Member**

mtizzano@monell.org Solitary chemosensory cells, taste receptors, immunity type 2, rhino sinusitis, periodontitis

Ryan E. Tomlinson, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University
**New Member**

ryan.tomlinson@jefferson.edu Bone mechanobiology and skeletal innervation

Ani Ural, PhD
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Villanova University

ani.ural@villanova.edu

Bone Mechanics, Computational Biomechanics, Fracture Mechanics

Sebastian L. Vega, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Rowan University
**New Member**

vegas@rowan.edu Biomaterials, Stem Cells, Musculoskeletal Tissue Engineering
Mei Wan, PhD
Frank J. Frassica Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Johns Hopkins
mwan4@jhmi.edu Bone biology, cellular senescence, aging

Bin Wang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University

bin.wang@jefferson.edu

Parathyroid hormone, parathyroid hormone related protein, parathyroid hormone receptor,bone, cartilage, osteoporosis and osteoarthritis

Liyun Wang, PhD
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Delaware

lywang@udel.edu Biomechanics, osteocyte mechanobiology, bone-cancer interactions

David Waning, PhD
Associate Professor, Cellular & Molecular Physiology
Pennsylvania State University
**New Member**

dlw83@psu.edu Bone-muscle crosstalk, bone metastasis, oxidative stress, muscle Ca2+ dysfunction, metabolism

David B. Weiner, PhD
Professor, Executive V.P. Vaccine Center
Wistar Institute

dweiner@wistar.org Vaccine; DNA; immunotherapy
Benjamin Wheatley, PhD
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineeering
Bucknell University
**New Member**
b.wheatley@bucknell.edu Musculoskeletal biomechanics, finite element analysis, tissue structure-function mechanisms, musculoskeletal modeling