Penn Center for Musculoskeletal Disorders

Affiliate Members


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z
 

Member/Title/Institution

Email

Keywords

Mary Barbe, Ph.D.
Professor, Anatomy & Cell Biology
Temple University

mbarbe@temple.edu

Repetitive strain injury, overuse injury, muscle fibrosis, bone biology, carpal tunnel syndrome

Evangelia Bellas, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Temple University

evangelia.bellas@temple.edu Adipose Tissue Engineering, Obesity, In Vitro Disease Models, Angiogenesis, Organs-on-Chip, Soft Tissue Regeneration

Pedro K. Beredjiklian, M.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Rothman Institute

Pedro.Beredjiklian@rothmaninstitute.com

Tendon injury, scar formation, regenerative healing cytokines, collagen
 

Jarrett D. Cain, DPM, MSc
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation
Penn State University
**New Member**

cain1074@gmail.com Diabetic bone healing, foot & ankle biomechanics, diabetic tendon healing

Xu Cao, Ph.D.
Lee Riley Professor
Orthopedic Surgery
Johns Hopkins Medical Institute
**New Member**

xcao11@jhmi.edu

Bone remodeling, Osteoarthritis

Nicole M. Cattano, M.P.H., A.T.C.
Assistant Professor of Sports Medicine
West Chester University
ncattano@wcupa.edu Osteoarthritis, biomarker, knee injury, tissue trauma, meniscus, ligament, pathophysiologybiochemical, disease modifying, interventions

Antonia Chen
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedics
Rothman Institute
**New Member**

antoniachen1@gmail.com Periprosthetic joint infection, arthrofibrosis

Lesley Chow, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering / Bioengineering
Lehigh University
**New Member**

lesley.chow@lehigh.edu Biomaterials, 3D printing, spatial organization, peptides, biodegradable polymers, functionalized polymers, self-assembly

Daniel H. Cortes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Penn State University
**New Member**

dhc13@psu.edu Soft tissue biomechanics and imaging

Jing Du, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Penn State University
**New Member**

jingdu@psu.edu Mechanical behaviors of biological tissues and biomedical devices

John, Elfar, M.D.
Professor, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Penn State Hersey
**New Member**

openelfar@gmail.com Mangling limb injury atrophy peripheral nerve

Reyad A. Elbarbary, PhD
Assistant Professor
Penn State College of Medicine
**New Member**

relbarbary@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Bone healing, obesity, Type 2 Diabetes, Osteoarthritis, non-coding RNAs, RNA-binding proteins, Retrotransposons

Dawn Elliott, PhD
Department Chair
Blue & Gold Distinguished Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
**New Member**

delliott@udel.edu Biomechanics, disc, meniscus, tendon

Motomi Enomoto-Iwamoto, DDS, Ph.D
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Maryland
**New Member**

Motomi.iwamoto@som.umaryland.edu Cartilage development, cartilage pathology, tendon injury

Edward J. Fox, M.D.
Professor, Musculoskeletal Oncology Service
Penn State University Milton S. Hershey College of Medicine
**New Member**

efox1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Musculoskeletal Oncology, Osteoporosis

Theresa Freeman, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Theresa.Freeman@jefferson.edu

Fracture healing, MicroCT and histology, image analysis and processing, osteoarthritis, tissue regeneration, plasma biology

Yury Gogotsi, DSc
Distinguished University Professor & Trustee Chair
of Materials Science & Engineering
Drexel University

Gogotsi@drexel.edu

Novel carbon-based nano materials; CNTs, carbon onions, graphene  nanodiamond;CDC; two-dimensional metal carbides, nitrides, carbonitrides(MXenes); nanocomposites.

Lin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, School of Biomedical Engineering, Science & Health System, Drexel University

lh535@drexel.edu

Osteoarthritis, atomic force microscopy, nanomechanics, meniscus, cartilage|

Li-Hsin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Mechanics
Drexel University
 

lh573@drexel.edu Cartilage Repair, Stem Cells, Tissue Engineering, Biopolymer, Scaffold, Microfabrication

Noreen J. Hickok, PhD
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Noreen.Hickok@jefferson.edu Infection, bone-biomaterial interface, joint environment, spine prosthesis

David Jamison, PhD
Visiting Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Villanova University
**New Member**

djamison@icloud.com Orthopaedics, tissue biomechanics

Jie Jiang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Maryland
**New Member**

jie.jiang@som.umaryland.edu Tendon development, regeneration and mechanotransduction

Fadia Kamal, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Penn State Hersey
**New Member**

fkamal@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Osteoarthritis, chondrocyte hypertrophy, GPCR signaling

Yibin Kang, PhD
Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor, Molecular Biology
Princeton University

ykang@princeton.edu

Breast cancer, bone metastasis, osteoclastogenesis, tumor-stromal
interactions, TGF-b, Notch

Megan Leigh Killian, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
**New Member**

killianm@udel.edu Tendon, enthesis, developmental biology, injury

Eric Klein, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biology
Rutgers University
**New Member**

eric.a.klein@rutgers.edu Microbiology, tissue stiffness, pathogenesis

Greg Lewis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Penn State Hersey

greglewis@psu.edu

Fracture fixation, Shoulder replacement biomechanics, Computer simulation, Micro-CT analysis

Christopher Li, Ph.D.
Professor of Materials Science
Drexel University

cyl24@drexel.edu Structure and morphology of polymeric and hybrid materials for energy and biomedical applications

Kang Li, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Rutgers University
**New Member**

kang.li.research@gmail.com
Musculoskeletal Biomechanics, Rehabilitation Biomechanics, Data Science, Machine Learning, and Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare, Musculoskeletal Imaging, Medical Image Analysis
 

David Logerstedt, PT, PhD, MPT,SCS
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy
University of the Sciences

d.logerstedt@usciences.edu

Anterior cruciate ligament injury, articular cartilage injury, sports medicine, rehabilitation, physical therapy, biomechanics, clinical outcomes, musculoskeletal

Rich Lovering, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedics
University of Maryland
**New Member**

Rlovering@som.umaryland.edu Skeletal muscle injury; muscular dystrophy; sarcopenia; nuclear mechanostransduction; rotator cuff pathology; MRI; NMJ

Thomas Lufkin, PhD
Bayard and Virginia Clarkson Endowed Chair in Biology
Clarkson University
**New Member**

tlufkin@clarkson.edu
Intervertebral disc, spine, biomarkers, gene expression, developmental biology

Michele Staud Marcolongo, Ph.D.
Department Head and Professor of MSE
Drexel University
**New Member**

marcolms@drexel.edu Orthopaedic biomaterials

Rowena McBeath, M.D., Ph.D
Assistant Professor/Attending Surgeon
Thomas Jefferson University
**New Member**

rowena.mcbeath@gmail.com Tendon, mechanobiology, signaling

Surena Namdari, MD, MSC
Assistant Professor of Shoulder & Elbow Surgery
Rothman Institute

Surena.Namdari@rothmaninstitute.com

shoulder arthroplasty, periprosthetic infection, shoulder & elbow surgery,
rotator cuff repair, fracture fixation, Osteoporosis, shoulder arthritis

Javad Parvizi, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

parvj@aol.com

hip & knee arthroplasty, periprosthetic joint infection, femoroacetabular impingment, developmental dysplasia of the hip, primary & revision arthroplasty

Nancy Pleshko, PhD
Professor of Bioengineering
Temple University

npleshko@temple.edu

cartilage repair; tissue engineering, spectroscopy, imaging, bone mineralization,
collagen structure

Makarand V. Risbud, PhD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery &
Cell and Developmental Biology
Thomas Jefferson University

Makarand.Risbud@jefferson.edu

intervertebral disc, nucleus pulposus, hypoxia, HIF proteins, osmoregulation, TonEBP, degenerative disc disease, inflammatory cytokines 

Joel Rosenbloom, MD, PhD
Department of Dermatology & Cutaneous Biology
Thomas Jefferson University
 

Joel.Rosenbloom@jefferson.edu

Fibrosis, Fibrotic Diseases, Pulmonary Fibrosis, Keloids, Adhesions, TGF- b,
Cardiac Fibrosis, Cytokine Signaling Pathways, Deep burns

James J. Sciote DDS, MS, PhD
Professor of Orthodontics
Temple University

jjs6@dental.temple.edu

clinical orthodontics, dentofacial deformities, orthognathic surgery, skeletal muscle
biology, physiology, human genetics

Irving M. Shapiro BDS, PhD
Anthony and Gertrude DePalma
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Irving.Shapiro@jefferson.edu

cartilage, bone, intervertebral disc, osteoarthritis, apoptosis, autophagy, chondrocyte, osteoblast, nucleus, pulposus, hypoxia

Sue Shapses, PhD
Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences Acting Chair, Department of Exercise Sciences & Sports Studies
Rutgers University

shapese@AESOP.Rutgers.edu

Calcium and vitamin D metabolism, diet, endocrine and obesity.

Karin Grävare Silbernagel
Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
University of Delaware

kgsilbernagel@gmail.com

Tendon, Achilles tendinopathy, Achilles tendon rupture, clinical outcomes, rehabilitation

Marla J Steinbeck, MT(ASCP), PhD
Research Associate Professor
of Biomedical Engineering, Science
& Health Systems, Drexel University

mjs348@drexel.edu

Osteoarthritis, biomarker development, total joint replacement, wear debris characterization, periprosthetic tissue responses, pathophysiology, osteolysis, non-thermal plasma induced skeletal cell differentiation

Spencer Szczesny, PhD
Assistant Professor Biomedical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University
**New Member**

ses297@engr.psu.edu Tendon, mechanics, mechanobiology, computational modeling

Gary L. Thompson, PhD
Assistant Professor Chemical Engineering
Rowan University
**New Member**

thompsong@rowan.edu Bioelectrics, Mechanobiology, Tissue Engineering

Ryan E. Tomlinson, PhD
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University
**New Member**

ryan.tomlinson@jefferson.edu Bone mechanobiology and skeletal innervation

Ani Ural, PhD
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Villanova University

ani.ural@villanova.edu

Bone Mechanics, Computational Biomechanics, Fracture Mechanics

Sebastian L. Vega, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Rowan University
**New Member**

vegas@rowan.edu Biomaterials, Stem Cells, Musculoskeletal Tissue Engineering

Bin Wang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University

bin.wang@jefferson.edu

Parathyroid hormone, parathyroid hormone related protein, parathyroid hormone receptor,bone, cartilage, osteoporosis and osteoarthritis

David Waning, PhD
Associate Professor, Cellular & Molecular Physiology
Pennsylvania State University
**New Member**

dwaning@psu.edu Bone-muscle crosstalk, bone metastasis, oxidative stress, muscle Ca2+ dysfunction, metabolism

Zijun Zhang, PhD
Senior Investigator
MedStar Union Memorial Hospital
**New Member**

zijun.zhang@medstar.net Regenerative medicine, osteoarthritis, cartilage biology, orthopaedic pathology

© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | Site Design: PMACS Web Team.