Penn Center for Musculoskeletal Disorders

Affiliate Members


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Member/Title/Institution

Email

Keywords

 

Allison Altman Singles, PhD
Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Mechanical Engineering
Penn State Berks
**New Member**

ara5093@psu.edu Biomechanics, gait, bone, running injury  

Ugur M Ayturk
Assistant Scientist, Department of Musculoskeletal Integrity
Hospital for Special Surgery
**New Member**

ayturku@hss.edu Bone Biology, Osteoblasts, Orthopaedics  

Sriram Balasubramanian, PhD
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health
Drexel University

**New Member**
 

sb939@drexel.edu Pediatric Orthopaedic Biomechanics  

Mary Barbe, PhD
Professor, Anatomy & Cell Biology
Temple University

mbarbe@temple.edu

Repetitive strain injury, overuse injury, muscle fibrosis, bone biology, carpal tunnel syndrome

 

Evangelia Bellas, PhD
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering
Temple University

evangelia.bellas@temple.edu Adipose Tissue Engineering, Obesity, In Vitro Disease Models, Angiogenesis, Organs-on-Chip, Soft Tissue Regeneration  

Pedro K. Beredjiklian, MD
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Rothman Institute

Pedro.Beredjiklian@rothmaninstitute.com

Tendon injury, scar formation, regenerative healing cytokines, collagen
 

 

Benjamin Binder-Markey, PhD
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
Drexel University
**New Member**

bb983@drexel.edu Muscle mechanics, biomechanics, muscle adaptation, stroke, cancer  

Jarrett D. Cain, DPM, MSc
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation
Penn State University
**New Member**

cain1074@gmail.com Diabetic bone healing, foot & ankle biomechanics, diabetic tendon healing  

Xu Cao, PhD
Lee Riley Professor
Orthopedic Surgery
Johns Hopkins Medical Institute
**New Member**

xcao11@jhmi.edu

Bone remodeling, Osteoarthritis

 
Nicole M. Cattano, MPH, ATC
Assistant Professor of Sports Medicine
West Chester University
NCattano@wcupa.edu Osteoarthritis, biomarker, knee injury, tissue trauma, meniscus, ligament, pathophysiologybiochemical, disease modifying, interventions  
Pei-Yu Chen, PhD
Senior Research Scientist
Yale University
**New Member**
pei-yu.chen@yale.edu Cardiovascular disease, stem cell, connective tissue disease  

Qing Chen, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Immunology, Microenvironment & Metastasis Program, The Wistar Institute Cancer Center
**New Member**

qichen@wistar.org Cancer metastasis  

Lesley Chow, PhD
Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering /Bioengineering
Lehigh University
**New Member**

lesley.chow@lehigh.edu Biomaterials, 3D printing, spatial organization, peptides, biodegradable polymers, functionalized polymers, self-assembly  
John Collins, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University
**New Member**
 
john.collins2@jefferson.edu Aging, osteoarthritis, sirtuins, oxidative stress, stem cell biology  

Daniel H. Cortes, PhD
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Penn State University
**New Member**

dhc13@psu.edu Soft tissue biomechanics and imaging  

Hannah L. Dailey, PhD
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Mechanics
Lehigh University
**New Member**

hlr3@lehigh.edu Orthopaedic trauma, fracture healing, computational mechanics  

Jing Du, PhD
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Penn State University
**New Member**

jingdu@psu.edu Mechanical behaviors of biological tissues and biomedical devices  

John Elfar, MD
Professor, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Penn State Hersey
**New Member**

jxe263@psu.edu Mangling limb injury atrophy peripheral nerve  

Reyad A. Elbarbary, PhD
Assistant Professor
Penn State College of Medicine
**New Member**

rae19@psu.edu Bone healing, obesity, Type 2 Diabetes, Osteoarthritis, non-coding RNAs, RNA-binding proteins, Retrotransposons  

Dawn Elliott, PhD
Department Chair
Blue & Gold Distinguished Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
**New Member**

delliott@udel.edu Biomechanics, disc, meniscus, tendon  

Motomi Enomoto-Iwamoto, DDS, PhD
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Maryland
**New Member**

Motomi.iwamoto@som.umaryland.edu Cartilage development, cartilage pathology, tendon injury  

Edward J. Fox, M.D.
Professor, Musculoskeletal Oncology Service
Penn State University Milton S. Hershey College of Medicine
**New Member**

efox1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Musculoskeletal Oncology, Osteoporosis  

Theresa Freeman, PhD 
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Theresa.Freeman@jefferson.edu

Fracture healing, MicroCT and histology, image analysis and processing, osteoarthritis, tissue regeneration, plasma biology

 

Lin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, School of Biomedical Engineering, Science & Health System, Drexel University

lh535@drexel.edu

Osteoarthritis, atomic force microscopy, nanomechanics, meniscus, cartilage|

 

Li-Hsin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Mechanics
Drexel University
 

lh573@drexel.edu Cartilage Repair, Stem Cells, Tissue Engineering, Biopolymer, Scaffold, Microfabrication  

Woojin Han, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Orthopaedics
Icahn School of Medicine, Mt. Sinai
**New Member**

woojin.han@mssm.edu Skeletal muscle, biomaterials, stem cells, cell-matrix interactions, regenerative medicine  
Christopher Hernandez, PhD
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Cornell University

**New Member**
cjh275@cornell.edu Biomechanics; bone; orthopaedics  

Noreen J. Hickok, PhD
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Noreen.Hickok@jefferson.edu Infection, bone-biomaterial interface, joint environment, spine prosthesis  

Jie Jiang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Maryland
**New Member**

jie.jiang@som.umaryland.edu Tendon development, regeneration and mechanotransduction  

Fadia Kamal, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Penn State Hersey
**New Member**

fkamal@pennstatehealth.psu.edu Osteoarthritis, chondrocyte hypertrophy, GPCR signaling  

Yibin Kang, PhD
Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor, Molecular Biology
Princeton University

ykang@princeton.edu

Breast cancer, bone metastasis, osteoclastogenesis, tumor-stromal
interactions, TGF-b, Notch

 

Eric Klein, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biology
Rutgers University
**New Member**

eric.a.klein@rutgers.edu Microbiology, tissue stiffness, pathogenesis  

Greg Lewis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation
Penn State Hersey

greglewis@psu.edu

Fracture fixation, Shoulder replacement biomechanics, Computer simulation, Micro-CT analysis

 

Christopher Li, PhD
Professor of Materials Science
Drexel University

cyl24@drexel.edu Structure and morphology of polymeric and hybrid materials for energy and biomedical applications  

Kang Li, PhD
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Rutgers University
**New Member**

kang.li.research@gmail.com
Musculoskeletal Biomechanics, Rehabilitation Biomechanics, Data Science, Machine Learning, and Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare, Musculoskeletal Imaging, Medical Image Analysis
 
 
Qiaoli Li, PhD
Professor, Department of Dermatology and Cutaneous Biology
Thomas Jefferson University

**New Member**
qiaoli.li@jefferson.edu Bone and mineral research  
Joohyun Lim, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences
University of Delaware

**New Member**
limj@udel.edu Osteogenesis Imperfecta, temporomandibular joint, tendon, mouse genetics  

David Logerstedt, PT, PhD, MPT,SCS
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy
University of the Sciences

d.logerstedt@usciences.edu

Anterior cruciate ligament injury, articular cartilage injury, sports medicine, rehabilitation, physical therapy, biomechanics, clinical outcomes, musculoskeletal

 

Michele Staud Marcolongo, PhD
Drosdick Endowed Dean of the College of Engineering
Villanova University

michele.marcolongo@villanova.edu Orthopaedic biomaterials  

Rowena McBeath, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor/Attending Surgeon
Thomas Jefferson University
**New Member**

rowena.mcbeath@gmail.com Tendon, mechanobiology, signaling  

Patricia Miguez, DDS, MS, PhD
Assistant Professor, Adams School of Dentistry
University of North Carolina
**New Member**

 

miguezp@unc.edu

Extracellular matrix, proteoglycan, glycosaminoglycan, ECM biomodification via phytochemicals, bone homeostasis, bone regeneration

 

Sarah Millar, PhD
Director, Black Family Stem Cell Institute
Professor, Cell, Developmental & Regenerative Biology, and Dermatology and Oncological Sciences
Icahn Mount Sinai

sarah.millar@mssm.edu Skin, hair follicles, teeth, mammary gland, Wnt signaling, epigenetics  

Clare Milner, PhD
Associate Professor
Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
Drexel University
**New Member**

cem362@drexel.edu Gait analysis, lower extremity, wearables, rehabilitation science, biomechanics  

Surena Namdari, MD, MSC
Assistant Professor of Shoulder & Elbow Surgery
Rothman Institute

Surena.Namdari@rothmanortho.com

shoulder arthroplasty, periprosthetic infection, shoulder & elbow surgery,
rotator cuff repair, fracture fixation, Osteoporosis, shoulder arthritis

 
Michael O'Connor, MD, PhD
Professor, Biodiversity Earth and Environmental Science / Biology
Drexel University

**New Member**
oconnomp@drexel.edu Energetics, allometry, biophysical ecology  

David Paglia, PhD
RBHS Instructor
Rutgers University
**New Member**

pagliada@njms.rutgers.edu Fracture Healing, Disc Degeneration  

Javad Parvizi, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

javadparvizi@gmail.com

hip & knee arthroplasty, periprosthetic joint infection, femoroacetabular impingment, developmental dysplasia of the hip, primary & revision arthroplasty

 

Nancy Pleshko, PhD
Professor of Bioengineering
Temple University

npleshko@temple.edu

cartilage repair; tissue engineering, spectroscopy, imaging, bone mineralization,
collagen structure

 

William Querido, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Temple University

**New Member**

william.querido@temple.edu Bone, Biomineralization, Infrared spectroscopy  

Makarand V. Risbud, PhD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery &
Cell and Developmental Biology
Thomas Jefferson University

Makarand.Risbud@jefferson.edu

intervertebral disc, nucleus pulposus, hypoxia, HIF proteins, osmoregulation, TonEBP, degenerative disc disease, inflammatory cytokines 

 

Joel Rosenbloom, MD, PhD
Department of Dermatology & Cutaneous Biology
Thomas Jefferson University
 

Joel.Rosenbloom@gmail.com

Fibrosis, Fibrotic Diseases, Pulmonary Fibrosis, Keloids, Adhesions, TGF- b,
Cardiac Fibrosis, Cytokine Signaling Pathways, Deep burns

 

James J. Sciote DDS, MS, PhD
Professor of Orthodontics
Temple University

james.sciote@temple.edu

clinical orthodontics, dentofacial deformities, orthognathic surgery, skeletal muscle
biology, physiology, human genetics

 

Irving M. Shapiro BDS, PhD
Anthony and Gertrude DePalma
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University

Irving.Shapiro@jefferson.edu

cartilage, bone, intervertebral disc, osteoarthritis, apoptosis, autophagy, chondrocyte, osteoblast, nucleus, pulposus, hypoxia

 

Sue Shapses, PhD
Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences; Center Director of Nutr/Exercise Metabolism at NJ-IFNH; Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine, Rutgers-RWJ Medical School
Rutgers University

shapese@Rutgers.edu

Calcium and vitamin D metabolism, diet, endocrine and obesity and osteoporosis

 

Karin Grävare Silbernagel, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
University of Delaware

kgsilbernagel@gmail.com

Tendon, Achilles tendinopathy, Achilles tendon rupture, clinical outcomes, rehabilitation

 

Kara L. Spiller
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Drexel University
**New Member**

kls35@drexel.edu Biomaterials engineering, inflammation, tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, wound healing  

Joseph Stains, PhD
Professor
Department of Orthopaedics
University of Maryland
**New Member**

jstains@som.umaryland.edu Osteoblast, Osteocyte, Signaling, Mechanotransduction, Intercellular Communication, Sclerostin  

Spencer Szczesny, PhD
Assistant Professor Biomedical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University
**New Member**

ses297@engr.psu.edu Tendon, mechanics, mechanobiology, computational modeling  

Gary L. Thompson, PhD
Assistant Professor Chemical Engineering
Rowan University
**New Member**

thompsong@rowan.edu Bioelectrics, Mechanobiology, Tissue Engineering  

Ryan E. Tomlinson, PhD
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas Jefferson University
**New Member**

ryan.tomlinson@jefferson.edu Bone mechanobiology and skeletal innervation  

Ani Ural, PhD
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Villanova University

ani.ural@villanova.edu

Bone Mechanics, Computational Biomechanics, Fracture Mechanics

 

Sebastian L. Vega, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Rowan University
**New Member**

vegas@rowan.edu Biomaterials, Stem Cells, Musculoskeletal Tissue Engineering  
Mei Wan, PhD
Frank J. Frassica Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Johns Hopkins University
**New Member**
mwan4@jhmi.edu Bone biology, cellular senescence, aging  

Bin Wang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University

bin.wang@jefferson.edu

Parathyroid hormone, parathyroid hormone related protein, parathyroid hormone receptor,bone, cartilage, osteoporosis and osteoarthritis

 

Liyun Wang, PhD
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Delaware
**New Member**

lywang@udel.edu Biomechanics, osteocyte mechanobiology, bone-cancer interactions  

David Waning, PhD
Associate Professor, Cellular & Molecular Physiology
Pennsylvania State University
**New Member**

dlw83@psu.edu Bone-muscle crosstalk, bone metastasis, oxidative stress, muscle Ca2+ dysfunction, metabolism  

David B. Weiner, PhD
Professor, Executive V.P. Vaccine Center
Wistar Institute

**New Member**

dweiner@wistar.org Vaccine; DNA; immunotherapy  

© The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania | Site best viewed in a supported browser. | Report Accessibility Issues and Get Help | Privacy Policy | Site Design: DART Web Team.