Department of Psychiatry

Penn Behavioral Health

PGY2

Ewurama Sackey, MD

Ewurama Sackey

I usually wake up between 5:30 and 6 AM. My commute either driving (free parking pass) or taking the Market-Frankford subway line to Pennsylvania Hospital, takes about 15-20 minutes. At Pennsylvania Hospital, I am rotating on the Geriatric Psychiatry on 6 Spruce. I usually arrive between 7 and 7:30 AM and review overnight events, vitals, labs, and new admissions. I will then pre-round with my training team, which is usually composed of medical students, Psychology externs or interns and/or PA students. On Fridays at 8 AM, we assist our attending in performing ECT on outpatients and patients currently hospitalized on 6 Spruce.  After ECT, we round on patients and do intake interviews with new patients. Next, as the team’s resident, I lead full treatment team meetings (psychology, nursing, social work, occupational therapy) in which we collaborate to form treatment and disposition plans for each patient. After rounds, I put in orders, call consults, mediate family meetings and update patients on their treatment plans.

At noon, I try to take a break to meet up with my co-residents for lunch in the Cafeteria, hospital courtyard or in Washington Square Park, that is 2 blocks away. After lunch, I complete notes, review my medical student notes and do some teaching with medical students on topics such as antipsychotics, ECT, depression in elderly patients. I then touch base with my attending to run our list prior to signing out to the resident on call. I usually complete my work and leave the unit between 4 and 6 PM. 

In the evening, I like to spend my free time going to kickboxing, Wissahickon Park, dinner with my co-residents/friends or a concert.

 

 


Back to Top