Measuring Constructs

Multidimensional Questionnaires

  • A set of questionnaires is used to assess each stage. Derived scores represent each individual's position on the stage dimension.
  • Three examples:
    • The University of Rhode Island Change Assessment (URICA)
      • 32 items - eight for each four stages
      • Intended for use in clinical contexts
    • The Stages of Change Readiness and Treatment Eagerness Scale (SOCRATES)
      • 20 items, originally designed for behavior change regarding problem drinking
      • Unable to show a clear distinction of stages of change
    • Readiness to Change Questionnaire (RCQ)
      • 12-item scale designed for behavior change among excessive alcohol drinkers
      • Unable to capture unique features of stages of change