The members of the COAP are selected by the dean from among the full professors in the Standing Faculty. Terms of service are staggered so that on average one-third of the membership is new to the committee each year and two-thirds has at least one year of experience.

COAP Reports and Support Materials

 

 

Chair of the Perelman School of Medicine COAP

David Margolis, MD, PhD

David Margolis, MD, PhD

Professor of Dermatology
 margo@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Senior Vice-Chair

Roderic G. Eckenhoff, MD

Roderic G. Eckenhoff, MD

Austin Lamont Professor of Anesthesia and Critical Care
 roderic.eckenhoff@uphs.upenn.edu


Vice Chairs

David Mankoff, MD, PhD

David Mankoff, MD, PhD

Gerd Muehllehner Professor of Radiology
 david.mankoff@uphs.upenn.edu


Judy A. Shea, PhD

Judy A. Shea, PhD

Professor of Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
 SHEAJA@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Erica R. Thaler, MD

Erica R. Thaler, MD

Professor of Otorhinolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
 erica.thaler@uphs.upenn.edu


Chair of the Academic Advisory Committee to the PSOM COAP

James M. Callahan, MD

James M. Callahan, MD

Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
 callahanj@email.chop.edu


COAP Members

Charles Abrams, MD

Charles Abrams, MD

Francis C. Wood Professor of Medicine
 abrams@upenn.edu


Seema Bhatnagar, PhD

Seema Bhatnagar, PhD

Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
 bhatnagars@email.chop.edu


Erfei Bi, PhD

Erfei Bi, PhD

Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
 ebi@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Meryl Sahn Cohen, MD

Meryl Sahn Cohen, MD

Professor of Pediatrics at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
 cohenm@email.chop.edu


Diego Contreras, MD, PhD

Diego Contreras, MD, PhD

Professor of Neuroscience
 diegoc@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Beverly Davidson, PhD

Beverly Davidson, PhD

Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
 davidsonbl@email.chop.edu


Ramon Diaz-Arrastia, MD, PhD

Ramon Diaz-Arrastia, MD, PhD

Presidential Professor of Neurology
 ramondia@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


James P. Guevara, MD, MPH

James P. Guevara, MD, MPH

Professor of Pediatrics (CE)
 guevara@email.chop.edu


Struan Grant, PhD

Struan Grant, PhD

Professor of Pediatrics
 grants@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Scott Halpern, MD, PhD

Scott Halpern, MD, PhD

John M. Eisenberg, M.D. Professor in Medicine
 shalpern@upenn.edu


Rachel Rapaport Kelz, MD

Rachel Rapaport Kelz, MD

William Maul Measey Professor in Surgery
 rachel.kelz@uphs.upenn.edu


Ellen J. Kim, MD

Ellen J. Kim, MD

Professor of Dermatology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
 ellen.kim@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


David S. Mandell, ScD

David S. Mandell, ScD

Kenneth E. Appel Professor
 mandelld@upenn.edu


Robert L Mauck, PhD

Robert L Mauck, PhD

Mary Black Ralston Professor for Education and Research in Orthopaedic Surgery
 lemauck@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Judith G. McKenzie, MD

Judith G. McKenzie, MD

Professor of Emergency Medicine (CE)
 judith.mckenzie@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Kiran Musumuru, MD, PhD, MPH

Kiran Musumuru, MD, PhD, MPH

Professor of Medicine
 kiranmusunuru@gmail.com


Warren S. Pear, M.D., PhD

Warren S. Pear, M.D., PhD

Gaylord P. and Mary Louise Harnwell Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
 wpear@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Patrick M. Reilly, MD, FCCP, FACS

Patrick M. Reilly, MD, FCCP, FACS

C. William Schwab Professor in the Division of Traumatology, Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery
 reillyp@uphs.upenn.edu


Marylyn D Ritchie, PhD

Marylyn D Ritchie, PhD

Professor of Genetics
 marylyn@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Sindhu K. Srinivas, MD, MSCE

Sindhu K. Srinivas, MD, MSCE

Professor of Ob/Gyn (CE)
 ssrinivas@obgyn.upenn.edu


William C. Welch, MD, FACS, FICS

William C. Welch, MD, FACS, FICS

Professor of Neurosurgery
 william.welch@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Douglas J. Wiebe, PhD

Douglas J. Wiebe, PhD

Professor of Biostatistics, Epidemiology, and Informatics; Professor of Surgery
 dwiebe@upenn.edu


Robert B. Wilson, MD, PhD

Robert B. Wilson, MD, PhD

Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
 WILSONR@pennmedicine.upenn.edu